We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little casino. Nothing special. Good place to stop if you need a break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
Ranked #51 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We stopped at this little casino on our way back from Los Alamos..It is right at the junction to the main highway and we wanted to take a little break. It has a first, time sign up bonus, but we didn't realize that Buffalo Thunder and this casino were on the same card. Had we known, we would have stopped at the other one to use our free play. It is relatively small, compared to some of the others, but we did have a nice visit. They have a buffet which the customer service man told us was better and less expensive than the one at the partner casino, but we did not have a chance to try it since we had other obligations. Another casino with penny video poker, so you can make you money last for a while without going broke. We did not use the hotel facilities, so we cannot comment on that aspect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank giftedelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

While the layout inside is interesting, it's definitely dated. Down the center of the lower hallways are what is now rock "garden" with some ailing plants, while the second story is open to the lower level. The elevator rattles and is slow and a bit scary, and the housekeepers were still "cleaning" at four. The room booked online was nothing like the room we received -the "mountain view" is a joke because you can't see any mountains from this motel's location. Our view was of the rooms across the depressingly bare courtyard that no one would relax in (but was a good place for your dog to relieve itself). The air conditioning/heating unit was iffy, and the fridge didn't get cold enough to be of much benefit. Depending on who was at the front desk, the $2 breakfast was $5 or non-existent (even after showing them the reservation they denied there was any special breakfast). We even dared to go for breakfast and try that staff but without success, and the casino buffet wasn't much better the next day.
They definitely need better service and the cost was too high for what was received.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the office, they seem to be the quietest even with a view of the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CynLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

While the hotel is nice inside, they have no customer service skills at all. We had previously received coupons for discounted stays, but nothing current. Told us too bad, we booked on-line. Casino Host was no help either. Service gets worse though. Our Jeep broke down and was towed to Barth Kia (great place), had no way to get there. Would not take us in their van. Manager even spoke bad about their van service but told us it was too bad. Got a map out and showed me where the dealership was in town. Ok, we know where our car is, we cannot get there. Told us not their problem. Guess what, it is.... Poor Customer Service and food is nasty!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My wife and I, quite familiar with Santa Fe area, chose to go to the Santa Fe Opera to
see a production of Bizet's Pearl Fishers. It ends late at night, so a nearby hotel is necessary.
We prebooked on the Internet a King bedded single, and were overjoyed with the result!
For $74 total cost, all taxes and fees included, we got a quiet, clean room just a few
minutes by car from the opera house. This is a lot cheaper and far better than some of
the flea pits we had previously endured in Santa Fe itself.

One hint: eat elsewhere! Their dinner is poor, and the only edible thing on the breakfast menu
was a large plate of cut fresh fruit. Santa Fe is full of gourmet places to dine, use them!

Room Tip: Internet pre-booking gives lowest rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank c0metman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I spent the weekend in Los Alamos, NM and decided to go to Sunday breakfast at the Cities of Gold "Golden Buffet" at the Casino in Pojoaque, NM. The casino was surprisingly busy at 9:00 AM as I made my way through the smoky room to the back of the casino where the Golden Buffet was located.

I was greeted and immediately seated in a booth by the hostess. I made my way to a lack luster buffet featuring mushy pan fried potatoes, watery scrambled eggs, bacon floating in about a 1/2 of grease in a container next to sausage while ample was gray in color and ultimately rubbery in texture.

There was an omelet station where the line was 9 deep for one attendant feverishly making the egg concoctions to order. After a 10 minute wait, I opted for the watery omelets. Awful!

The red and green chile was hot and plentiful - tasted homemade. Truly the highlight of the truly awful buffet.

Come on Cities of Gold you have to work on this -- raise your prices and improve this white hot mess you call a buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tariance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My room was exceptionally large, quiet, and well furnished. Room lighting well above average. Bed very comfortable. The facility is clean, nice amenities, nice decor inside an out. Value priced. The bar/restaurant are average. Staff friendly. General Manager was there and checked me in. How often does that happen? This is a well maintained property. Really a terrific value.

Hotel is across parking lot from casino. This hotel is midway between Santa Fe and Espanola and Los Alamos, so not really near any town, just casinos. But it was located for me as my visit in Santa Fe was over and the next morning I headed north to Colorado, so it got me on my way easily the next morning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MaryRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
16.2 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Fe
Quality Inn Santa Fe
#49 of 60 in Santa Fe
333 reviews
17.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
#37 of 60 in Santa Fe
679 reviews
17.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
17.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#14 of 60 in Santa Fe
538 reviews
15.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cities of Gold Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cities of Gold Casino Hotel

Address: 10A Cities of Gold Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87506-0938
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range: £48 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cities of Gold Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel is located 15 scenic miles north of Santa Fe, New Mexico on Hwy. 84/285. 124 luxurious Guest Rooms. 1300 square feet of Conference Facilities. Breakfast and Dinner available in the Gold Dust Restaurant. Just steps away from the Cities of Gold Casino with Las Vegas style gaming action - seven days a week. Blackjack, Craps, Roulette, Slots, Bingo, Three Card Poker and the ONLY Poker Room in Northern New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cities of Gold Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cities Of Gold Hotel Santa Fe
Cities Of Gold Casino Hotel Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing