We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Working Winery”

Estrella Del Norte Vineyard & Tasting Room
Ranked #23 of 260 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: OPEN MON-SAT: 10a-5p and Sun 12p-5p! Love wine & wine tasting? Estrella Del Norte Vineyard is Santa Fe's #1 vineyard / winery destination! Located just 15 minutes north of Santa Fe on US84/285 and then east less than a mile on the High Road to Taos (NM503). This beautiful pinot noir vineyard estate is the authentic Santa Fe experience visitors are seeking and the gateway to an array of award-winning northern New Mexico wines. Beautiful sculpture gardens, wind chimes in the breeze, a fun rustic tasting room converted from a former hay barn with a knowledgeable, friendly staff make Estrella Del Norte Vineyard a great place to spend an afternoon or to enjoy a fun winery event. Preview their list of summer cooking classes, vineyard dinners with Santa Fe's top chefs, and other fun events. Looking to enjoy a weekend getaway? Ask about their vineyard casitas. Play, Stay and Wine! We are dog-friendly! Salud!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
214 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“An Excellent Working Winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The folks at Estrella Del Norte found an abandoned vineyard some years ago and happily the vines
were still alive. They revived them and their wines display the kind of character and body which
older vines impart. They know viticulture well and have produced some fines wines. In addition, they are friendly and engaging. It's well worth stopping off for a tasting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thoughful-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen R, Owner at Estrella Del Norte Vineyard & Tasting Room, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi "Thoughful Traveler"! Thank you so much for visiting our vineyard/winery and for your kind review. We are happy you made us part of your stay in Santa Fe and look forward to seeing you again. Salud amigos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    48
    8
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Friendly fun winery! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This is a great winery. The people who work there are very nice and knowledgeable. The wines are yummy too! Definitely a good stop on a family vacation!

Helpful?
Thank Jessbacswoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen R, Owner at Estrella Del Norte Vineyard & Tasting Room, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Jess, thanks for visiting our winery! We are glad you enjoyed your wine tasting and visiting with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Salud amigos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Vineyard, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Estrella del Norte is a wonderful stop to make while visiting Santa Fe. The grounds are beautiful, the wine is great, and the staff is friendly and helpful. They offer fun events, like cooking and art classes. Definitely would recommend stopping by on the way to dinner at Rancho de Chimayo!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen R, Owner at Estrella Del Norte Vineyard & Tasting Room, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so much for stopping by to see us and for your very kind review. Please stop by and see us again next time you're up this way. Salud amigos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Most beautiful vineyard and Casita in New Mexico.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights in the casita at the vineyard. The castia was spacious, clean , comfortable and felt like home. The owners of the Vineyard, Eileen and Rich were so friendly and welcoming and made our stay so enjoyable and memorable. The wine was exquisite and every taste was pleasurable to the palate.We left with several bottles that we fell in love with. Visit this amazeing place and you will not regret it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NikoDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen R, Owner at Estrella Del Norte Vineyard & Tasting Room, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Niko, many thanks to you and Aaron for visiting Estrella Del Norte Vineyard and staying at our casita. We are glad you enjoyed the accommodations and the wine and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you so much for your very kind review! Salud amigos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ambience, Great Hosts, Good Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

About the ambience, I'm biased because I lived on this property, long before it was a vineyard/winery. But, it's northern New Mexico at its best, with huge, old cottonwood trees, spacious grounds, adobe and old frame buildings, and crisp, dry air.

As a vineyard goes, it's smallish--several acres planted to Pinot Noir grapes. The owners also have two other nearby vineyards, with plans to eventually have all their wines estate-bottled.

Other than Pinot Noir, the wine they produce is made from grapes grown in southern New Mexico. Grapes from Deming, NM, don't compete with those from the California or Washington appellations, sorry, but the wine is reasonably good. They also sell wines from other local wineries, so there's a decently large selection available for tasting and purchasing. Join their wine club and save 20%.

The tasting room, which was a barn/stable when I lived there, is a fun space, with plenty of room for visitors, and includes a gift area that features regional offerings of salsa, spices and keepsakes.

For the tasting, the offering is six tastes for six dollars. We ran through nearly all of the available wines, and settled on the estate-bottled 2010 Pinot as our favorite. So, we purchased a glass of that, and sat outside under an arbor, enjoying the surroundings and reminiscing about life there some fifty years ago.

Estrella del Norte is on our list of places we plan to return to whenever we're in the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen R, Owner at Estrella Del Norte Vineyard & Tasting Room, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Tom, it was a special treat meeting you, your beautiful wife and wonderful children and grandchildren. Thank you so much for stopping by to meet us, trying our wines and for your very kind review. I loved hearing the stories from when you lived here and learning more about the property and community. We look forward to seeing you again. Salud!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Estrella Del Norte Vineyard & Tasting Room also viewed

 

Been to Estrella Del Norte Vineyard & Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing