We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant, outside looks are deceiving, would go back”
Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Santa Fe Inn
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

A budget friendlier alternative to the larger, more upscale hotels near the Plaza. This was a very comfortable experience. It does look at first from the outside like an old external courtyard motel, but the rooms were very nicely decorated and functional. One can park right outside one's room door, which is good and bad if like me anybody else has an early departure time. I appreciated walking right out to my car but wondered if adjoining rooms appreciated my the sound of my car right by their room doors. Other than that, my wallet appreciated the cost as compared with some other hotels in town. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are sunnier, and as far from the lobby as possible is quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ProfessorJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,599)
There are newer reviews for Old Santa Fe Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

At first glance this establishment looks like an average motor lodge, don't be worried. We stayed here 3 nights April 4 - 6, 2012. We did book one of their best rooms, #41. It is worth the extra. Two rooms, two TVs. The living room has a fridge microwave and wet bar, plus a large balcony!
Walking distance to numerous shops, restaurants and galleries. The AAA rate was ~$214/night, and worth every penny. Fantastic breakfast, tortillas, eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, fruit, yogurt, juice...Very friendly and helpful staff. Two free internet computers, and they have coffee, tea and cookies in the afternoon. I highly recommend the Old Santa Fe Inn!

Room Tip: Book room 41, it's the best and probably the most expensive but worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ladinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was a real gem in Santa Fe. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is superb - very short walking distance from the market and other local attractions. My only quibble was the size of our room - it was slightly cramped. If it weren't for the small room, they would have received 5 out of 5. Overall, an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: If you need a little more space, ask for the larger room with the king bed.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LKelly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I adored this place. The pillow top beds, Kiva fireplace, and rustic appeal all were a welcomed retreat. I especially loved the way their lobby living room and dining room/patio were so wonderfully decorated. It felt so homey! I have similar decorating tastes but didn't know this until I stepped into the Old Santa Fe Inn! I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovestheoceanandmtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

What a nice stay we had at this inn! Michael, the night clerk, is a wealth of information and personality. Loved the King Suite since it was very roomy. Didn't like the on/off motor noise associated with room #9. Got used to it after awhile. Coffee always hot in the lobby was nice after walking around the streets. Stay away from the shops manned by middle eastern men. They're just a "50% off today" scam! The stones are most likely "Made in China" with the tags removed. The art in the round state building 2 blocks away is worth the visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fiftyfun__10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I'm not sure I can add anything to the other reviews that are here. Room was great, hotel location is just a few minutes walk from the plaza, free wifi & great staff. Michael on reception was perfect! He was extremely busy, on his own yet seemed to deal excellently with everyone, even though he had a queue of people through the door!

There is free Starbucks coffee available from 6am to 10pm in reception and free cookies at 4pm, what more could you want?
I can honestly say this hotel is almost perfect! If you're thinking of staying here then don't hesitate!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaveyBoysTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great place. Rooms were clean. Location is quiet yet right in the heart of downtown. Breakfast burrito bar was great. The staff were knowledgeable and pleasant, eager to please.

Stayed: March 2012
5  Thank Tiz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,353 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
595 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,664 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Address: 201 Montezuma Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £93 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe
Old Santa Fe Inn New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing