We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Santa Fe Inn
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This charming hotel was recommended to us by friends. The place did not disappoint.

Our assigned room (#33) was a bit cramped, but the price was right. The only reason I did not rate this five stars is that our room needed a bit of freshening (paint was peeling in a few areas, cracks in the wall around the tub, a few broken baseboard tiles, and chairs in need of new upholstery). The desk area near the window was a bit chilly as the window had a slight gap in the frame. The temp for the rest of the space was generally comfortable with a well-working heater.

Although room 33 did not have a fireplace it did have an efficiency kitchen with coffee maker, fridge, sink, and microwave.

The hotel is an old motor court which adds to the funky charm. Built in a 'U' shape, most rooms open onto the parking lot (free parking).

The service at Old Santa Fe Inn is warm and friendly. We were greeted immediately, promptly checked in, and provided a map of the city.

A very good breakfast bar opens early and stays open til mid-morning. Coffee, hot tea, hot apple cider, and fresh apples are available all day. Cookies are served at 4:00.

Like I mentioned, there is free parking which is a real plus considering that the plaza is about a five minute walk from the hotel. Finding parking in the Old Town area can be a challenge. We left our car at the hotel and walked to the plaza, to Tomasitas, Loretto Chapel, and other places.

Two computers are near the lobby (i.e., business center). Free wifi in the rooms was a big plus.

In summation...if you are expecting a ritzy place to stay, keep looking. If you are looking for a clean, convenient, friendly, and charming place to stay, give the Inn a shot. This will be our "go to" place when we visit Santa Fe in the future.

Room Tip: We reserved through the hotel's website and got a better price than through booking sites. Book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InKleined2Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnJSmallwood, Manager at Old Santa Fe Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, and for the helpful observations about room 33. We will fix these items immediately. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    392
    71
    18
    13
See reviews for
257
892
84
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We have stayed here several times during past several years (most recently January 2013) and have always been impressed by comfortable rooms, (although some are small), reasonable price, pleasant staff, and attractive common areas. Breakfast is very good, served in spacious room with SW decor. The Inn is in walking distance of plaza area, Canyon Road, and the Railyard district.

Room Tip: suites are worth the extra cost--include upholstered chairs for reading and TV watching, kiva-style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cellodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room's décor was beautiful and we would highly recommend staying here because it is a quick walk to the historical plaza! we were able to shop and find dining without having to drive and park again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Easy check in- we booked directly through inn and did not use 3rd party- ie. Expedia, etc.. Staff friendly, room very ice ad clean. We had traditional twin room. Room slightly chilly and heating unit running frequently due to slight gap between door and floor. Otherwise, room and breakfast were great. Convenience to town is fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We had a 3 night visit in December. The room was great, the location great (even in mid-winter cold we walked to restaurants and shopping most of the time), the breakfast far above average for a motel and the desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scowdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Others have written in detail about the amazing attributes of this hotel, so I will only highlight the key features which set this place apart from others we have visited in Santa Fe. First, the staff is exceptional. They are friendly without being bothersome. Incredibly helpful without being intrusive. There was no detail that went unaddressed. Second, the breakfast bar puts other hotel breakfasts to shame. There was no cheap white bread or no name cereal. On the contrary, every morning brought wonderful, hearty breads, delicious eggs, beans and chili sauces, among other items. Also, the breakfast room is lovely, complete with a tile floor and ornate (working) fireplace and traditional Spanish-style tables and chairs. You won't want to leave. Third, the location is just terrific with free parking (not the norm with other Santa Fe hotels). You can easily walk to the Plaza and to great restaurants. Fourth, the room could not have been cleaner and more spacious. We paid for a junior suite and thoroughly enjoyed a lovely fireplace - all for an excellent price. Finally, the decor is traditional without being cheesy. This is not a chain or an overrun tourist trap; rather it is a high quality hotel! We will never stay anywhere else in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GeorgeB408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The first time I stayed here I was overwhelmed by the customer service. Santa Fe had their first snow of the winter and I was unprepared for the cold but the staff made sure I had cocoa and cookies which warmed my heart and soul. When I was worried about the availablity of cabs to the Railrunner the staff assured me that if the cab didn't show, they would drive me to the depot. I always stay here when in Santa Fe...its like staying with your favorite relatives!

Room Tip: If you come in the winter go ahead and splurge on the kiva...its sooo worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,271 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,592 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,635 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Property: Old Santa Fe Inn
Address: 201 Montezuma Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe
Old Santa Fe Inn New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing