We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient Location”
Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Santa Fe Inn
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Convenient Location”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is an older property very conveniently located only a couple of blocks from the restaurant and gallery district of Santa Fe. We parked our car when we arrived, and then walked literally everywhere we wanted to go for the rest of our stay. The rooms are small, but we were very comfortable. There is a comfortable, welcoming lobby area where we enjoyed visiting with others in our party, and the breakfast was truly outstanding. It was served in a very attractive dining room which also featured a small outdoor eating area. Perhaps the best feature of the breakfast service was that there was no television set. Just think of it, breakfast in a hotel, without Fox News! It was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomBorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    387
    71
    18
    13
See reviews for
253
882
84
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights with friends while vacationing from the East Coast. Check-in was easy and efficient. We opted for the King room with fireplace ($10 upgrade from a regular King room) and were lucky we did, because just as we finished checking in a big-time thunderstorm caused a power outage in the entire downtown Santa Fe area that lasted about 90 minutes. The fireplace was a good source of light (and also very romantic). As most of the downtown restaurants were closed due to the power outage, we relied on the desk clerk for restaurant recommendations, and he did not disappoint. Hint: Try the Tune-Up Cafe. The wait was long but the food was worth it.

Cookies are served every afternoon at 4 PM and they were delicious! Breakfast was nice, but a bit disappointing. The "Burrito Bar" as basically a plate full of tortillas with a choice of eggs, bacon, and veggies that you could fill the tortilla with. There were also waffle irons (only one on weekdays, but two on weekends) and the waffles were pretty good. The fresh fruit was nice. Surprisingly, there were no "sweet" choices at all. No danish, no muffins, nada. Expected more from a place this nice.

Location is ideal. Walking distance from all the downtown Santa Fe attractions and shopping, and we were able to leave our car and explore much of the downtown area on foot. I would definitely recommend this place if you are heading to Santa Fe.

Room Tip: No elevators here at this two-floor property, so if you don't want to carry your bags upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccsuwxman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I knew this was a very convenient location and the place looked online nice but I was really impressed with how nice and well appointed the rooms were! They also have an absolutely fantastic breakfast bar that has so many hot meal options, both New Mexican and American standards. Wonderful coffee, a great, nicely furnished dining area with a relaxing feel. The help is very conscientious about keeping everything filled and even were willing to do things for a guest with special needs.
Hot cookies and coffee/lemonade in the afternoon was a nice pick me up after a day of walking. Desk staff was very helpful in recommendation for directions and recommendations.
The room was really wonderful, with a gas kiva fireplace and reading chairs, and small patio and convenient plugins for electronics, along with a small counter to make coffee along with a microwave and fridge to keep things cold.
We stayed several places in Santa Fe this trip and this was the best of the bunch because it was so easy, very nice, had every amenity we needed and you couldn't beat the convience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NancyC-VW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Came in via Amtrak shuttle on May 9, 2014. Room very comfortable and pleasant reception at front desk. Room clean and adequate size. Charming decor. Great breakfast with homemade tamales. Fresh made cookies and tea in afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaGTonyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for one night in March and really enjoyed our stay with two adults and two small children. We really liked the decor of the place, the room was clean and tidy, and the breakfast was really good. And, finally, good coffee! The location was great for walking around and enjoying the sites of Santa Fe. This is a refurbished motel, so the rooms are very motel-like, which we thought was fun and sort of felt "Old West". The rooms are a little dark inside. But, again, they are clean, with nice furnishings and even came with little chocolates in the room. As everyone has noted, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The one downside is the bathroom was a little tight- we need to help our children in the bathroom, and that was not easy due to the small size. We would definitely stay here again and consider it for a longer trip to Santa Fe- it seems like, unfortunately, we are always just passing through. I would recommend this to others. I especially liked the decor in the dining room, the covered wagon in the parking lot, and the hanging chili peppers!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jld1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Wa
Level Contributor
199 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have been to Santa Fe several times before, but always with a group of friends. This time I was on my own, wanting a getaway to focus on some editing, broken up by puttering around a town I liked. I did not have a car, having taken a shuttle from the Albuquerque airport. I didn't need one. As others have said the location is very convenient to the Plaza, but also to the Railroad yard area to which I walked for the Saturday Market. Just a few blocks too for a visit to the State Capitol, and night trips to see an extraordinary dance performance at the Lensic Theater and a guitar concert at the San Miguel Mission Church. Innumerable eating options at all price levels were close by. Good to have a Japanese meal one night as a break from SW cuisine. The breakfast options included in the room price should satisfy everyone. On the weekend there were homemade tamales that were quite wonderful. I had a first floor room and enjoyed sitting outside on a bench on occasion, even though the view was of the parking lot. Also a block to benches along the river. The room was small but well appointed overall. There was a good sized desk to serve my needs but I would have liked a comfy chair for reading. This is not an uncommon "complaint" of mine. I do not like to read in bed. However there was a good supply of pillows so I made do. Service was excellent and friendly from the front desk to housekeeping to breakfast room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RestlessFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel was easy to find and parking is included in the stay, but the spaces are very tight and have steel rails marking the parking places. Even with care it is hard to put the car in the parking place without rolling up on the rails or rubbing the tires, that is how tight the parking places are. The hotel is walking distance from the downtown plaza, which is great. The room was good, but had problems with the remote for the HVAC. Tried several times get them working, one in the bedroom and one in the seating area. Finally had to call the night manager, who had to come back to the room with me and get the job done. He said I was not the first one to complain about the units, that most people could not figure them out. The breakfast was very good with lots of local flavors. All in all I would say it was an OK place, but a little overpriced.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room, because the floors groan when you walk on them. We were upstairs and felt sorr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bayouself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,227 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,564 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,624 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Property: Old Santa Fe Inn
Address: 201 Montezuma Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe
Old Santa Fe Inn New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing