We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy and Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Santa Fe Inn
Ranked #7 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Comfy and Convenient”
Reviewed 3 December 2009

This was our first trip to Santa Fe and I booked this hotel based on other TripAdvisor reviews. We stayed in a deluxe suite with a king size bed and were very happy with our choice. One half of the suite was a very nice living room area with a gas fireplace and a small kitchenette area (microwave, mini fridge, and sink). The other half was the bedroom and bathroom area (with a walk-in closet). The free breakfast buffet, free parking, and free wifi all made the experience even better. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, being only a few blocks from the historic downtown area. Restaurants, museums, and galleries were all within walking distance, and we felt perfectly safe walking around at night. If we ever return to Santa Fe, we will definitely stay at the Old Santa Fe Inn again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scrpbkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    374
    70
    18
    10
See reviews for
243
850
83
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Woods, CA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

When we initially arrived at the hotel, before checking in, I had my doubts as it looks somewhat like a renovated old fashion "motor court." And, that is exactly what it is. HOWEVER, from the moment we registered by a truly gracious and knowledgeable front desk attendant named Jonathan to the moment we checked out, the hotel excelled and exceeded all expectations! First, the room was decorated with better than average furnishings - done very tastefully. Plus the room was immaculately clean.
Second, the breakfast offered not only eggs,bacon, home fries but a variety of juices, breads, waffles, coffees, fresh fruit, etc. in a bright, large area. PLUS, fresh baked cookies were offered in the evening - a nice treat.
Third, location, location, location. The Old Santa Fe Inn is approximately 3 blocks from the town center -- easy walking distance to all the major galleries.
We were so pleased with our stay and accommodations that we extended our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Oh, and best of all -- the price was fabulous for all the services and accommodations!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baltimore48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2009

My folks and I traveled to Santa Fe for the Thanksgiving holiday. The Old Santa Fe inn was reasonable, close to the plaza and delightful. The breakfast was tasty and the accomodations perfect for three adults. The staff were responsive and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlthunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

You've read all of the reviews, so I won't list all of the reasons why this place is so good - suffice it to say I wholeheartedly agree with them all. From the location, to the rooms, to Alex on front desk, they are all correct.

I'd even go as far to say that I can't even agreed with (or noticed while I was there) any of the things that attracted the very few poorer comments.

Go back? you bet!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveWKnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hungrytchr
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2009

We had a great stay here! Alex at the front desk was delightful and a huge help in finding local places to eat, and directions to anywhere and everywhere! She was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was great - with many choices. I appreciated the yummy wholewheat bread and selection of Tazo teas. Cookies, tea, coffee in the afternoon were a nice touch after spending the cold day walking around town. Location was stellar, we didn't drive once we checked in. We could walk everywhere. My one, and only one, negative comment was the thin walls between our room and our neighbor. But this wouldn't prohibit me from staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungrytchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

From this hotel we could walk to our conference a few blocks away in the old town; very convenient. The full breakfast was very nice, my only suggestion would be that potatoes and eggs can be fixed in different ways to provide variety. Lots of nice touches, though, including a plate of homebaked-style cookies available in the lobby in the evenings. The decor was charming, and rooms had everything I needed.

My only real complaints would be the thinnish walls (if I listened, I would have been able to make out the words in the conversation next door) and the slow wireless that connected and disconnected on its own random schedule throughout my stay.

Hotel staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, and the price was excellent for the value received. I would most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCKtraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnJSmallwood, Manager at Old Santa Fe Inn, responded to this review, 15 November 2009
Thank you for this generally positive review. We appreciate your patronage. But I feel it's important to address the wireless DSL issue you mentioned: in addition to the wireless throughout the property, all of our rooms are fitted with ethernet connections, and cables are available at the front desk. Also, we have three fast desktop computers in our business center for those who might not want to bring their laptops on vacation. Finally, we don't generally hear complaints about thin walls, but we'll check into it. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

After reading the reviews on this site I was happy that I could get reservations at the Old Santa Fe Inn. I must say I was not disappointed, we have a Kiva King room which also had a small sitting area and it was absolutely wonderful. The room was cozy and very clean. Alex at the front desk was wonderful even though I had questions for her every day. She was always friendly and helpful.

We can't wait to go back and stay there again. It was just a great place to stay and we've travelled to Asia, Europe and the U.S. The price was right and the room was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ddspan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,123 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,519 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,105 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Property: Old Santa Fe Inn
Address: 201 Montezuma Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe
Old Santa Fe Inn New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing