We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our trip”

Astronomy Adventures
Ranked #4 of 40 Tours in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Here in New Mexico, we still have skies that are clear and dark enough to explore the many fascinating jewels of the night. Our safe and secure observing site is an easy drive out of Santa Fe. Come spend an evening getting acquainted with some of nature’s most distant and beautiful creations. A giant telescope and our expert guide will spark your sense of wonder with close-up views of planets, nebulae, star clusters and distant galaxies.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We've experienced lots and lots of different types of adventures while traveling. I have to say that this one is now at the top of the list. Mainly because Peter is so passionate about what he does. He reminded me of a cross between DeGrassie and Steve Irwin (Crocodile Hunter). We could have spent all night listening to him and looking through his telescope. We learned so much and had a great time doing it that we were sad to leave.
If I lived in Santa Fe and had kids (okay, even without kids), I would make sure to do this on a regular basis as the night sky changes over the seasons.
What a gem Santa Fe has in Peter. He should have his own show!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank IntotheWideBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Now I've seen the rings of Saturn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were a group of 3 adults of varying scientific interest and experiences (Total group for the evening was about 12). Peter did an excellent job of making the evening understandable and interesting to all of us. We went in late May, and we had a few clouds get in the way, but not enough to cause any real problems. Just had to wait a few minutes a couple of times for a cloud to move away, and listen to a few corny astronomy jokes Peter told while we waited. Peter did an excellent job of answering questions in a way that a layman could understand.
Highly recommend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jwb-oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Peter, the owner, takes you on a tour of the universe only 40 minutes from Santa Fe. He's super-friendly, with excellent equipment and a vast knowledge of the sky.

Make sure you bring warm clothing. Even though it was a warm day in Santa Fe, it got cold very quickly in the desert. A warming hut is available, but you don't really want to miss seeing everything Peter has to show you.

(Probably not ideal for really young children, but older kids would have lots of fun and learn a lot.)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I wanted to do something special for my husband on our recent trip to Santa Fe. He loves astronomy and this was the perfect gift for him. Peter, the owner and astronomer extraordinaire, was simply amazing. He was very knowledgable, funny, personable and has a great memory--he called each of the 9 participants by name all evening. The adventure lasted 21/2 hours and was never boring for the well informed astronomy lovers or over the heads of us just learning about the night time wonders! The sight was very remote and didn't suffer from light pollution so the stars and planets were magnificent. The reflecting telescope was easy to use and with Peter as a guide it was a simply magical experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank funontherun55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Must put on your "ToDO" list while in Santa Fe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

What an amazing experience. Peter is an award winning astrophotographer, with a vast knowledge of the cosmos and its history with mankind, both in myth and fact. While there, we saw the International Space station, along with 3 satellites (thanks to Peter, I now know how to tell the difference between a satellite and a plane in the sky), 2 meteors, Jupiter (and its bands!) Saturn (and its rings along with 5 of its moons), Mars, crab nebula, a spiral nebula, new star cluster, old star cluster, Orion nebula, plus more. The night sky at the dark area was perfect for viewing. Peter provides beach type chairs with a built in pillow, perfect for reclining and looking up at the night sky. The telescope he has is no slouch - it's about 7-8 feet long, and he dials in the coordinates of the celestial object he wants to show. There is a warming hut, and a port o potty. Directions are very precise and easy to follow. I will say this - if you are not used to high desert, please remember to dress warmly in the spring and fall months - although it might be 60s or 70s during the day, it can drop as low as 30s at night - Layer, wear a hat, bring gloves. I had on a long sleeved shirt, a hooded sweatshirt, and a fleece jacket, and I was comfortable. This was in the last week of April. You can always take layers off if you need to, but frequent trips into the warming hut will take away from your night gazing of our amazing cosmos :) Well worth the price - we were there 2 1/2 hours, and loved every minute. Peter weaves a storyline into his presentation, dating from early man to the present, to where are we in the universe, and where are we going? Don't miss this!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mdmom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Astronomy Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing