We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large, lovely apartment feel in a great location - plus free wifi!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zona Rosa at Las Palomas
Ranked #22 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Large, lovely apartment feel in a great location - plus free wifi!”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I originally booked at the Hotel Santa Fe as I was told it was the only property in Santa Fe owned by Native Americans. Then the winter storm knocked my business trip back a week and they had no rooms available when I called to re-book. But they very nicely offered me a room for the same rate at their "sister property" Las Palomas. When I pulled in after 10 pm, there was a note and a key saying I was not staying at Las Palomas - was now staying at Zona Rosa, about 2 blocks away.
The room I had was number 77 - and it was very large, very "apartment" feeling -- and decorated beautifully. Huge living area ( easy to entertain in - could fit 20 people for drinks if needed!) smallish but very adequate kitchen, 2 baths and 2 wonderful bedrooms. Also a small patio with a view of the neighborhood. Nice for sky watching too. Would be great if staying for a week or ten days -- especially if friends rooming or a family traveling with kids or 2 couples. It is VERY close walking distance to the Plaza and many other shops/ restaurants etc. Great, free wifi too - worked perfectly!
Did not try the breakfast that was included - as I always go to Tia Sophia which is a short walk down the same street.
My problem? No other amenities unless you walk 2 blocks back to Las Palomas. No front desk, no cabs, no room service, no vending machine, no business center, etc etc. Since I was there on business just for 2 nights and working long hours/ getting in late in the evening this was problematic. I love staying in VBRO style settings when on vacation and this one would be ideal if I was in town with my son or other companions. But sometimes I need a real hotel that can handle an executive on the fly. This is not that setting at all. Also, I did not feel secure as the place had literally no security measures. As a woman traveling alone, that is not how I generally roll. Santa Fe is a very safe city but I take no chances usually. Stayed with it as had no time to switch up. But was concerned.
If I had realized what the situation would be in advance, I would have changed or at least made room in the schedule to load up on snacks and tea etc.
While I greatly appreciate the original hotel making a place for me I think it would be best if they checked to see what the traveller's needs are before moving to alternatives that may or may not suit.
Overall I would recommend this very highly IF you know what you are getting ahead of time. I still hope I get to stay at the Hotel as originally hoped as I hear great things about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a second story room - quieter and more of a view of the surrounding neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockingRobin78704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Zona Rosa at Las Palomas, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Many thanks for staying with us and your comments and concerns are acknowledged and will certainly be acted upon.

Sorry that we were unable to take care of you at the Hotel Santa Fe, but hopefully we will do so in the future.

As an aside, please rest assured that we have not had any security issues at Las Palomas in the past several years, but your point is well taken.

Wishing you a wonderful New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    15
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
arlington, virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Zona Rosa, Sante Fe
October 28, 2013
I just spent four days in a two bedrooms condo at Zona Rosa. The location is very convenient, only a few blocks from the plaza. It is a beautiful place, built in the local adobe style. I enjoyed the calm, comfort and quiet at night. It was disappointing that the wifi did not work for my ipad and iphone. I called several times but did not receive any help. The reception is not very friendly and when there is a problem such as tv or dvd not working, we had to wait for the next day to have it fixed. I will recommend this place to my friends but warned them that they will not be connected to their families or will not be able to read their favorite newspaper on their ipad!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Zona Rosa at Las Palomas, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
I am distressed to learn that your reception was not friendly and responsive, as we normally take extra good care of all of our guests!

I am looking into that wifi problem as I am writing this responce, as we completed an expensive overhaul of our system in October. Thank you for bringing this to my attention and apologies for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Four of us shared this fabulous condo. Large living area. 3 bedrooms/2 baths with deck off one bedroom. Our kitchen was fully stocked, and we used it! Invited 6 friends for lunch and dined at the grand dining table.

The deck was a pleasant surprise, and a lovely place to gather, breathe the fresh air and watch the happenings on San Francisco street.

Breakfast was superb with large selection of fruits, juices, pastries and cooked to order eggs, waffles and specialty coffee drinks.

We arrived late, and used the after-hours phone to gain access to our keys.

Great location. Shuttle service. Short stroll up the street to shops, restaurants. Parking on property.

Definite return in our future!

Room Tip: Room facing San Francisco street had fabulous large deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janestern228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Zona Rosa at Las Palomas, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
I am delighted to learn you had such a good time with your friends at Zona Rosa. Thank you for taking the time to write to tripadvisor.com and please do come back soon. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom condo. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. The condo had plenty of room for our family
of four, and the beds were super comfortable. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was much better than typical hotel breakfasts.
However, there were basic things that they could do better to have made it stand out more. For one, it claims to have a "fully stocked kitchen", however there were 3 dessert plates and two saucer plates...no full size dinner plates. When we called and asked we were told those were the only plates they had. There were also 3 wine glasses, two small juice cups and a handful of coffee mugs, no real water or drink glasses. Most of the cupboards were empty.
Additionally, the wireless only worked on android devices, not iPhones or iPads for some reason. When we called to ask about it, they said they'd call IT and hung up but never got back to us.
Also, our second full day there house keeping didn't come until 5pm when we were showering and getting ready for dinner, so we sent them away. Not sure why they couldn't have come earlier in the day.
Overall, we'd probably stay again for the comfort and fabulous location, but I'd like to see them make a few improvements.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Zona Rosa at Las Palomas, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Your points are well taken and we need to jump on updating our inventory of china, glass, etc. Thank you for reminding us. Also, we have just upgraded in the past week our wi-fi reception which has been a problem ane hopefully now fixed!

We have indeed been very busy, but a 5pm housekeeping visit is certainly too late!

Thank you for staying with us and we promise to do better when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We shared a 3 bdrm/2 bath condo at Zona Rosa with another couple and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Very spacious, fully equipped kitchen and just a block from downtown. We never drove in town at all especially with the complimentary shuttle service to all downtown locations.
The breakfasts were fantastic with your choice of coffee drinks, omelets, waffles, all made to order.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would highly recommend staying at this wonderful inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakecanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Manager at Zona Rosa at Las Palomas, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Your recommendation is so much appreciated and thank you for taking the time to write to tripadvisor.com with your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Rented out the 3 bedroom condo to stay in Santa Fe for my sister's wedding. All 3 rooms had king size beds. Tons of space in each room and in the living room. Kitchen was a bit dated but had plenty of space. Had 2 bathrooms which also looked a bit dated but worked out. They have a great breakfast with made to order omelettes and waffles. Staff was very friendly and helpful. About a 15 minute walk to the Plaza but hotel also has a shuttle that will take you from the hotel to the plaza and vice versa. Would strongly recommend staying here if you need multiple rooms

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HabsFan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Manager at Zona Rosa at Las Palomas, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and hopefully the wedding was a great success. Many thanks for your kind recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Zona Rosa is very conveniently located and has all the basic comforts, but is a very average facility with no real charm. We stayed with another couple in a two bedroom unit (unit 74). The condo was spacious enough and the rooms were quiet and fairly clean and appointed wtih the basic necessities, but that is about as far as he comforts went. The decor was extremely dated (perhaps circa late 1980's?) and dark and lacking in any apparent effort to make a decent impression. Everything looked worn and dingy. Although there was teal southwestern furniture in the bedroom and blue tiles, the walls were painted a dull avocado green. Bathroom sink had cracks. The lighting was terrible. Each bedroom only had one bedside lamp making it impossible to read in bed. One light bulb was out in the bedroom and the front door light was out. We requested that this be fixed, but no one ever attended to the request. There is absolutely no place to sit outside to relax as far as we could tell -- we had two chairs outside our unit but they were situated such that you would not sit in them for any period of time. There was a hose rolled up in the small "garden" area outside of our unit. that we had to look at for our entire stay We could see exposed sprinkler hoses in another garden area with no plants. In fact, nothing was planted with any care or charm reducing the outdoor ambiance to zero. The best I can say about this place is that it is conveniently located to the center of town and quiet and met very basic requirements. The breakfast was fine -- you could get fresh eggs and waffles which was nice, but the rest of it was cereal and average baked goods -- nothing special at all. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Fe
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Otra Vez
#2 of 2 in Pojoaque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Luxx Hotel
Luxx Hotel
#18 of 36 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Casas de Guadalupe
#9 of 23 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Downtown
Antigua Inn
Antigua Inn
#20 of 36 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zona Rosa at Las Palomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zona Rosa at Las Palomas

Property: Zona Rosa at Las Palomas
Address: 429 San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 units of 1,2, and 3 bedroom condos. Extensive renovation completed in April. Real wood fire places, new beds, lighting packages, large flat screen TVs, full kitchens. Room to spread out and relax. Two blocks from the Plaza, shopping, restaurants, art galleries and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zona Rosa At Las Palomas Hotel Santa Fe
Zona Rosa At Las Palomas Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing