We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning to those who don't book reservation directly with lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed 29 May 2007

Bishops Lodge is a beautiful place to visit. It is far enough from the city to feel like you have truly escaped. But it is a very short drive to the wonderful plaza and all the galleries that make Santa Fe special. I would like to give a warning all those people who book online. I booked the room through Priceline and the room that we got was certainly not what was described on line. The room was clean but it was tiny. My husband and I were constantly running into each other and we both couldn't fit into the bathroom. The walls are paper thin. Our room was in the older area of the lodge but we did have a patio, which I thought was going to be great. That was until I sat out on it and all I could smell were the horse stables which were right below our room. We had called ahead and asked for a room with a view because we were celebrating our anniversary so when we didn't get it I just figured it was the best they had so I didn't complain or request a move. Upon check out I nicely told the girl working of my concerns about the tiny room and the smell and she told me that I could have requested a move. I told her we made a request before we arrived so I didn't think it would have helped. She then looked at record and saw that we booked throught Priceline, she then basically told me that the rooms like ours were for those who booked "discount rooms". I say this to warn those who book on line and not directly throught their site. You will be booked into a room that isn't what is you expect, you will be in a two star room not a three.
All in all our stay was very nice, we had expected more but we didn't go to Santa Fe to stay in our room or sit around the lodge all day.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hollynoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
There are newer reviews for Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2007

I was so looking forward to bringing my wife to this resort. The photos on the web site looked great. We got there in early April & were booked into room 127. The room was a TOTAL nightmare & I'm not kidding!!!! The carpet was filthy at least 30 years old...the sofa was falling apart. Paint was chipping...zero landscaping...the paint job in the hallway leading up to the room was comical (half done)... I flipped the switch to the fan in the bathroom (thinking it was a light), & it squealed & sounded as if it was going to fall right out of the ceiling. Basically the place is old, run down, & digusting! I am being totally honest when I say I would not have slept in that room for a thousand bucks, let alone pay the $250 per night they wanted! Worst of all was the stench! It took us hours get rid of that smell on us & we were only in the room for a few minutes! We were shown two other rooms by the manager (who was quite nice considering)...they were a little better...but not a lot. The last room he showed us was the last straw, as it was obvious the bed was used after it was made...(a gardner & a maid perhaps?) Fortunately, after a little hassle, we got our full deposit back. We are totally puzzled as to the good reviews of this dump! Either their standards are quite low, or there must be some nice rooms buried deep in the resort that perhaps we were not worthy enough to be shown??? We did have a nice lunch however in the main lodge while waiting for the room to be done. I sure hope a manager reads this review... If you do, please take some time & walk over to that building which houses 127 & really look around & be honest with yourself. It's not fit for people's animals. It needs to be torched...burnt down & rebuilt! Obviously, I would not recommend this resort to anyone!!! ...EVER!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank southwest_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

My wife and I have stayed at the Bishop's Lodge a few times over the last 15 years. I heartily recommend staying in the new section as opposed to the old (albeit historical) section. I feel the rooms are much nicer and afford better views.
My wife and I like the Bishop's Lodge becuase it's away from everything - downtown, noise, people, etc. Of course, this means you have to drive into town and find a parking place.
We've had some good meals at the restaurant, but I don't rate it as high as some of the restaurants in town.
The spa is nice, but not great.
Great outdoor swimming pool.
Horse back riding is an added bonus.
On a cool night under the stars with the coyotes howling and the scent of juniper and sage in the air - that's what it's all about at the Bishop's Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank FlyingGeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2007

Wow - what a great place for our annual conference. Cannot wait to return for a family vacation! Thoroughly enjoyed the skeet shooting and the spa. Hospitality, and food are also tops! Thanks for a great and memorable experience! -Ogden from Austin, TX

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DOAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2007

During a recent trip to the Bishop's Lodge, everything I had read in advance about the resort was right on! From the accomodations to the cleanliness, it was perfect!
The unit I stayed in was spacious with fantastic amenities that made me feel as though I were in my home. The conference facilities were state of the art and the temperature levels remained perfect at all times. The crackling fires in the meeting room fireplace added ambiance second to none.
The meals were excellent; from the fried trout to the elk, everything was prepared to perfection and added to the overall success of the event.
Lastly and most importantly, the service was great! Not only was I greeted daily with a smile, I was greeted by name! This was quite impressive because even though I had a name tag, after the first day it was not always visible!
Cudos to the leadership team at the Bishop's Lodge! I am already looking forward to my next visit!

Stayed: February 2007
6  Thank carolinachicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2007

I attended a conference for 3 days at the hotel and it was amazing! The food was great, the service was exceptional and the hotel was beautiful! I would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to get away for either leisure or business.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mcclure4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2007

What a refreshing experience. The staff at Bishop's Lodge really knows what the meaning of service is. They are incredibly attentive to your every need. The food is fantastic. You can't beat the beautiful surroundings. I was there when there was three feet of snow on the ground, but the sky was clear and blue and the air crisp. What an amazing place.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank baileyjd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn at Vanessie
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
443 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
893 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casas de Guadalupe
#10 of 23 in Santa Fe
23 reviews
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 36 in Santa Fe
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Rd, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87506-6900
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £95 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing