We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a break”
Review of Camel Rock Casino

Camel Rock Casino
Ranked #90 of 267 things to do in Santa Fe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular casino in Northern New Mexico offers a variety of table games, slot and video poker machines and one of the largest bingo halls in the state.
omaha
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“OK for a break”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

wasn't looking for a casino when we found this casino lot of slots not many people around left after 1/2 hour

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kjmk95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    9
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“I like this casino”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

We are regulars in Vegas and A.C. The Wynn and Borgata are our favorites there, respectively. That said... there's something about camel rock that I like and this is where we play when we're visiting Santa Fe. The staff here is nice. The locals are friendly. The machine choice, while not what you'd find at a big premier resort, is okay. It's small and easy to navigate. Yes there is seemingly unrestricted smoking, but I had no problem finding table seats and slot machines that were not smoke inundated.

I'm not saying that I'd visit New Mexico to come to this casino. But while vacationing here, we go to camel rock. It's ok. :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MalteseFalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“It's too smokey”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We walked in and walked out. It's really smokey and all slots. Drive down the road a bit for a bigger better casino.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank luckyr7063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“slower pace casino go in your down time”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

had a blast lots of open slots not overly crowed,if you looking to pass the time for a hour or two this is the place. it not the glitz and big wins of vegas but it great as a time passer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NEVA210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“If you like gambling in a prison atmosphere...”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Best part is the free soda machine. The slots are tight. Didn't see anyone really winning. They have a security booth that is elevated so they can see around the casino. It made us feel like we were in prison. After loosing too much money, we decide to cash out what was left. Only when we cash out were we suddenly stopped by a security guard. He asked how old we were & to see our IDs even though we told him we're leaving. He couldn't do the math to realize that we were well above the legal age & had to radio our birth years to his boss in the crows-nest watch tower! It's not like they would have given us our money back if we were underage.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PSCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camel Rock Casino also viewed

 

Been to Camel Rock Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing