We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong with chocolate”

Kakawa Chocolate House
Ranked #1 of 28 Dessert in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a specialty chocolate company with a passion for historic drinking chocolate elixirs and hand crafted truffles, caramels, baked goods and more! Come in daily for tastings of our warm elixirs or cold organic ice cream- Eat in or take out for the best sweet treat in Santa Fe!
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with chocolate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just a quaint little cassita turned chocolate house.
They have an amazing selection of truffles, but their real specialty is the menu of drinking chocolates. Lots of great flavors, even chile & chocolate. There are a few small tables to enjoy your indulgence there or you can take truffles with you, or both for real chocolate lovers!
Off street parking too, always a plus near the downtown area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ka8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    729
    147
    25
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
672 reviews
439 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Ranked #1 in Santa Fe by TripAdvisor, We HAD to Try it Out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were not disappointed! We had an afternoon chocolate drink! I had the chile chocolate over ice. WOW! YUM! My friends who are not so adventurous had the "regular" either hot or iced. We all enjoyed it.

Such a small cup and it goes a long way! I wasn't sure what to expect -- I guess I imagined a pot de creme -- something thick -- but the consistency was more of a hot (or iced) chocolate. It was a popular spot, and we'll go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WednesdayNightGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

About a 15 to 20 minute walk from the main square, Kakawa chocolate house is a fun artistic environment to have an afternoon drink, take a break, and buy some unique chocolate that you might not have seen before. The knowledgeable staff will help you make your selections. Use them, so you can a chocolate experience that suits you. There is some unusual stuff in the store.

The main draw are the hot chocolate drinks. They are small but rich. I was able to sample a few before deciding. I went with the a sweetened Mesoamerica elixr. It was tasty but unusual. Unsweetened was too intense for me. if you're in the mood for a comforting hot chocolate, stick to the European section of the menu.

I wanted to buy gifts so I asked for help choosing some unusual chocolate bars. I was happy with the selection of dark chocolate that I bought.

Helpful?
Thank LittleMySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon pick-me-up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

While visiting Santa Fe, I stopped by the Kakawa Chocolate Shop for an afternoon pick-me-up. The folks working there were wonderful and very helpful. They were more than willing to allow us to try several flavors of their chocolate elixirs. It was nice to sit back, relax and enjoy the large chocolate elixir and plate of exotic caramels and truffles. BTW, don't let the carmelized goat cheese truffle fool you. It is excellent!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onanoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“great spot with super friendly people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

During our recent trip to Santa Fe we stopped at Kakawa twice. The drinking chocolates are excellent and very rich-a small was plenty for me. They allow you to sample several different types so that you can decide which you prefer. I especially enjoyed the one with the ground chiles-just the right amount of spice. The owner is a great guy (despite the fact that his children are Univ of SC grads). He invited my son into the back to watch the chocolates being made where he gained some appreciation for the process. Each time we visited he was given a chocolate chip cookie and the second time we visited he was given a fantastic brownie for the plane home. No trip to Santa Fe would be complete without a visit to Kakawa!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asbillbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kakawa Chocolate House also viewed

 

Been to Kakawa Chocolate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing