We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“special, sacred place.”

La Cieneguilla Petroglyph Site
Ranked #39 of 260 things to do in Santa Fe
Attraction details
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“special, sacred place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

please respect the land and history of this traditional site. hike carefully...there may be an unexcavated pueblo on the mesa above the petroglyphs. an amazing experience, the site goes on for almost a mile, perhaps longer. this is a record of an ancient trading and hunting route...and so much more. be sure to observe the surrounding mountain ranges and sky...a try beautiful experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank hawaiiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    20
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unfortunate vandalism, but keep looking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

There are supposedly 4,000 petroglyphs at this area - we only saw a few good areas. There is a small trail to the right, and this area, close to parking lot, is very hard climbing/rock scrambling. People have put their names, scratched their own pictures into the rocks, which is so very wrong.

The trail to the left is longer, and where most of the petroglyphs can be found. The trail is NOT marked, but it looks like BLM is working towards getting something sign-wise in place. Still, you have to look for some worn path areas and work your way up to cliff faces to see anything. Walking and climbing was much easier, but still requires you to pay attention.

Wear good shoes for this type of activity. Bring your camera. Be patient, as you have to look for each petroglyph. Sometimes these glyphs are tucked between two rocks. There are no services.

Autumn seems to be a good time to visit - cooler temperatures. Lots of grasshoppers, everywhere.

I would go back, take the left hand trail, and walk farther to see more petroglyphs. This isn't far out of town, and that makes it a worthwhile trip for those interested in searching for petroglyphs.

Directions: 3.3 miles from intersection of Airport Road and NM 599 - there is a gravel parking lot, and a small BLM sign with name of site.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank peterandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sacred cultural site for local's”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The problem with BLM officials is they have failed to properly managed this cultural site by giving it up to the urbanites of Santa Fe. In other words, many of these outsiders have trampled on the cultural site by creating their own walking trails, spraying painting the cultural site with their initials, removing the rock art from its original place, creating their own illegal shooting range, off-road vehicles, by bringing their household pets (dogs) to chit all over the place and not pick up their chit, and by throwing their human trash (i.e., water bottles, coke cans, beer bottles, etc.) and leaving it behind. So, no wonder the local's who have private property adjacent to the BLM properties are upset with these outsider's invading the area. The site where these urbanites park their cars was the site of a recent suicide and kidnapping scenario in which a white cross was placed by family members of the deceased. The best solution to these concerns is to go elsewhere for recreation and leave the area alone. The BLM officials should shut down and close the parking area they created and close the Camel Track area to the public, period!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 833Francisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Where the heck ARE the petroglyphs?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We found the parking lot which was denoted by one small sign. We followed the arrows on the trail. There was absolutely NO information on where to find the petroglyphs. After climbing through a barbed wire fence we didn't know if we were supposed to climb straight up to the top of the very rocky steep hill so we decided not to go any further. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME HERE. Very poor representation of the local Santa Fe/Indian Culture. This should be a real gem, but is not accessible at all. We would have gladly made the hike if we would have had any indication of where to go. Terrible experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
149 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Very cool, kind of treacherous rocky hiking though”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have been to the petroglyphs about 3 or 4 times now. It's very cool, one of my favorite places to go poke around when the weather is good.

Directions to get there:
From the intersection of Airport Road and NM 599, continue west on Airport Road for 3.3 miles. There is a gravel parking area on the west side of the road and a BLM sign. Follow a trail marked by arrows for about five to ten minutes to access the basalt cliffs where the petroglyphs are located.

There is a small gravel parking lot, and no facilities. Don't leave valuables in your car as it is kind of remote. Wear comfortable closed shoes because as you hike up the to the basalt cliffs, its ankle-twisting rock scrambling. I could spend hours up there looking at all the weird petroglyphs. As soon as I think I have seen them all, I go a little further and find more. Once I locate some photos I took, I will upload them on this site. It looks like there could be snakes up there, but so far I have only seen lizards.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
16 Thank dogsareup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cieneguilla Petroglyph Site also viewed

 

Been to La Cieneguilla Petroglyph Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing