We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Menu is great”

315 Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
315 Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #107 of 565 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: US$30 - US$31
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between West Alameda and Paseo De Peralta
Description: 315 Restaurant & Wine Bar has been home to Chef Louis Moskow since 1995. First as partner, and four years later as Executive Chef and Owner, Moskow was determined to offer native Santa Feans and savvy visitors a truly French experience in a city overflowing with Southwestern cuisine. 315 Is an elegant, intimate restaurant serving classically prepared French cuisine complemented by Moskow's seasonally-driven global wine list. Weather your looking for a casual evening with bar snacks or a full on tasting menu with wine pairings for each course or anything in between.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bar Menu is great”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We've been to dinner here quite a few times over the years - it's one of our top 3 restaurants in Santa Fe. But we love the bar the most. Fantastic wines by the glass, and reasonably priced bar plates which are always fun and delicious. Last time we visited we had the Oysters - which were fresh and hit the spot. It's not easy finding good fresh seafood in the desert, but 315 manages to bring in treats regularly. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank LorettoChapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    88
    51
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
312 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Time to celebrate !!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

One of the more intimate restaurants in Santa Fe. With the feeling of a true French Bistro, 315 has it down pat. Small, quiet intimate rooms, with small tables covered with the ever traditional white "butcher's paper", elegant crystal wine glasses and a large wine selection make this a cozy place to celebrate with that someone special.
We happened to attend one of their many special wine dinners recently and found everything very enjoyable and the food and service excellent.
Chef Louis Moskow had the evenings event under full control. Doing a five course dinner is not always easy and the timing is very important if the food is to arrive at the table at the right temperature, beautifully presented and with a friendly smile. His recent Cakebread Wine Dinner was a perfect example of how it should be done.
The Yellowtail tuna crudo with avocado citrus mousse was outstanding with the Chardonnay.
The duck soup with wild mushroom consomme and crispy noodles, pared well with the Pinot Noir.
The grilled filet mignon in red wine-braised short rib sauce was over the top and served with a delightful caramelized onion flan that melted in your mouth accompanied by a very smooth Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon.
The fourth course was a very unusual Roasted Beef Marrow Bone with a tasty blackberry compote topped by an outstanding Cabernet Sauvignon from Dancing Bear Vineyards.
Ending with a generous portion of raspberry sorbet for dessert.
From first to last, a first class dinner, beautifully presented and served with precision by a friendly and well trained staff.
Every restaurant has it's off nights as we all know, but this clearly was not one of those evenings.
Congratulations !
We will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
312 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Wine dinner excellence”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We went to the Cakebread wine dinner and were extremely pleased, it had been quite a while since we had been to dinner at this restaurant. It has been remodeled and expanded and the rooms and atmosphere are quite lovely. The food that Chef Moskow prepares is well thought out and prepared, and for the wine dinner, the pairings were excellent for his cuisine. 5 courses can be overwhelming when prepared by many chefs, too much, too rich, but Louis prepares a meal where you enjoy wonderful flavors and textures in the food and still look forward to the next course and not hope for the end of the meal.
We started with a yellowtail crudo with avacado citrus mousse, fennel and blood orange reduction. A wonderful balance of flavors and textures. Next a light duck soup, just the essence of duck long simmered to extract all of the flavors. The third course was a small grilled filet mignon with black garlic potato croquettes and a fantastic caramelized onion flan, what a wonderful plate! Fourth, beef marrow bone with a blackberry gastrique, something you do not see very often on a menu. Dessert was an intense raspberry sorbet, just right as the finish of a wonderful meal.
Go to this restaurant for a leisurely evening with excellent food, well prepared. Do not go if you are looking for southwest chili, there are many places in Santa Fe for that. The food is classically inspired and worth the price which is really not excessive for the quality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing Evening”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The restaurant itself is charming. There are a number of small, attractive dining rooms which give an intimate feel to the restaurant. They also have a large selection of wines to choose from. We were disappointed in the entrees. The three of us chose three different things Although my mussels were good, my husband's lamb stew was mediocre and my mother's steak was tough. The entrees were just that. Sides were not offered by the wait staff but were on the menu. We did enjoy a crème brulee for desert which was excellent. The most disappointing part of the evening was the service. Wait staff, were aloof, not friendly and not very helpful. This can make such a tremendous difference in the enjoyment of an evening out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank FLtraveler049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia US
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Over the top”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Good food, but not up to the price. Prix Fixe at Xmas eve. Cost was over the top for a high end steak house. It might a Texan's idea of a Bistro. Mediocre Risotto. Very good service

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jiminvirginia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 315 Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to 315 Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing