We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“served spoiled food”
Review of India Palace

India Palace
Ranked #305 of 572 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: US$2 - US$250
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: India Palace located in the heart of downtown Santa Fe. Is the oldest Indian restaurant in New Mexico, serving Santa Fe since 1990. In 1997, India Palace hired a new chef by the name of Billu to be their head chef. In 1998 he left the restaurant. In the summer of 2013, Billu bought the restaurant and restored the taste and quality of the 1990's. India Palace now has the authentic taste that comes with skilled chefs from India. All spices are imported from India to give you that authentic Indian taste. Come try our food, we will be around for years to come.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“served spoiled food”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I was in New Mexico trip on 12th of July, 2014. I stopped for dinner and ordered chicken briyani. They served me spoiled food. I complained owner about it, but he tried to avoid complain blaming as chef's fault. No matter whether its chef's fault or management problem, they should not serve customers with spoiled food. I don't suggest anyone to go that restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Smit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    54
    16
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“sad but true...old owners left”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

basically the place sucks now...more India insults from political to dining fare...India needs to get their act together....a return to their supposed spiritual role modeling is basically a hypocrisy to both their current actions, as well as the crap they are serving in their resturants...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank freshycoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Look closely at the Bill”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I ate here on Saturday, 12 July, 2014. We both ordered a lamb curry dish--both priced at 13.95.The meal was OK--average. The waiter was trying to be pleasant enough. When the bill came, we were charged 15.95 for each of the lamb dishes--not the 13.95 listed on the menu. Then they tried to charge us 3.95 for a 295 side order of rice. We objected to the waiter. Someone came out and told us the menu was wrong and was "going to be changed" to reflect their higher prices. We told them we were not going to pay their higher prices--but would pay only what was listed on the menu. He then asked us if we wanted to see their bills for lamb prices! We left cash including a small tip for the meal as listed on the menu. Stay away from this place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very Good Indian Food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

You would probably miss this restaurant if you weren't absolutely looking for it. It is stuck in the corner of the downtown parking lot. If you do find it, the food is delicious and very affordable. Quite a change from all of the Mexican restaurants around.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Terrific Lunch Buffet”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We've been going to the India Palace for years for the lunch buffet. The new owners are maintaining the high quality of the previous owners, although we do enjoy some days more than others. The price has gone up a bit, but the selection is varied and very tasty. We especially enjoy the chicken or vegetarian makhani, the raita, and the wonderful hot from the tandoor garlic nan that accompanies the buffet. Service is attentive and friendly and chair is cheerfully refilled when requested. The setting is restful and calm with Indian music in the background; an outdoor patio is open during summer months and the indoor dining area has air-conditioning for hot days. Patrons can get their public parking lot ticket validated for an hour's free parking, so it's usually fairly easy to find parking.
We've been to the other Indian restaurants in Santa Fe and this is our favorite in terms of food quality, ambience, and service. It's an excellent value and always enjoyable. I can't speak to dinner as we always go to the buffet, living a distance away from Santa Fe.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmillerOaxaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to India Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing