We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chicken pot pie, I beg to differ..”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hidden Chicken Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hidden Chicken Cafe
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best chicken pot pie, I beg to differ..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The chicken pot pie is just a huge crust of bread with a few pieces of chicken swimming in awful gravy. The service sucks for the amount of people that were in there at the time. The chicken was dry and seemed to be hanging out for a while. If you really want to try some good pollo asado go to the little truck that is parked on Cerrillos Rd on the side of that Salvadorean Restaurant now that is some awesome, tasty chicken!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

This restaurant is named appropriately, for we had to search our food to find any chicken. Service was not good, either. We won't be going back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
245 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Best chicken pot pie ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Quaint casual atmosphere, seriously huge food, but home cooked delicousness. The pot pie is a must have--just order it, trust me.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 2esmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Hidden Chicken is my (work) neighborhood go-to place for lunch. I have eaten here at least once or twice a week for the last 6 years and during that time I have always had consistently great food and friendly service. Quesadillas, sanwiches, soups, salads. Lots of variety and while the prices have gone up a bit over the years, I still find this place to be a bargain compared to a lot of the other fare in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hide from the Hidden Chicken Cafe”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Hidden Chicken Cafe is truly hidden at the back of a mall. The decor is 1960s motel, but there are lots of chickens scattered around. Service was slow and there were only three people, including my party of two, in the restaurant. Unfortunately, my chicken was not freshly cooked. I should have known better than to order a chicken, green chile, and cheese sandwich on rye bread. The rye bread in Santa Fe was the tell. You'd have to pay me money to eat there again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JMac020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hidden Chicken Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing