We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Meson

El Meson
Reserve with OpenTable
El Meson is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 555 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical evening”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our first time to dine here. We chose it because our favorite flamenco guitarist was playing and we had not heard him in a couple of years. The tapas we chose were nothing short of spectacular with the exception of the scallops which were only so-so. The wine list was very good but, as you might expect, focused on Spanish labels and varietals-something at which I have a sad disadvantage. But the wait staff was helpful in giving us advise. Service was great. Ambiance was near perfect. It would have been a perfect night except an elderly lady was too tanked-up to recognize she was louder than the amplified guitarist. Another patron had to go over to her table and ask her to dial it back in a very stern and cool way. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    171
    58
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyable”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Agree with most others that the food here is excellent. And a pretty good value for a classy place although the wine list was not inexpensive. We went with various tapas dishes and all were very fine. A good location not far from the Plaza.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Our family had dinner at El Meson on Tuesday. We enjoyed a table in the bar area, listening to the flamenco guitarist. Our tapas selections were delicious, especially the cheese stuffed artichoke hearts and the pork loin. The bread is delicious, we had several refills! I enjoyed a glass of sangria, and my flan dessert was outstanding. Our daughter loved the special cheesecake. I would like to go back and try selections from the full dinner menu.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Grove
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“move over valencia”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just finished the Paella Valencia, superb..! Service was 10+, Tapas, wine, and main course were all quite nice This is a good way to finish up a fantastic week in Santa Fe. Go early cause many others go along with my attitude this is top rate, Any old Spainish gent would be proud to take his senorita.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buddybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
421 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Try It”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The food was amazing, we had great Service it was very good and helpful, which was important for choosing among the many menu items as she told us her fav..Good selection of dishes, well presented and prepared. This is very clean, fresh and a nice place to have a meal

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DD19351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Meson also viewed

 

Been to El Meson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing