We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but crazy owner threw me out”

Chow's Contemporary Chinese
Ranked #311 of 571 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, but crazy owner threw me out”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

All I wanted was a dish without onions. The first one that was delivered to my table was loaded with onions. The waiter apologized.
The next dish that came out was not the pepper chicken I ordered, but some variation of orange chicken. Tasted pretty good though, until I bit into another onion.
The waiter scooped up my plate and I went to the cash register willing to pay for half the meal, which as $14. The waiter lamented he would have to pay for the meal if I didn't pay. I apologized to him, and asked to speak to the manager or owner.
He summoned a woman who was confrontational immediately. I actually thought it was humorous. She suggested I confused onions with water chestnuts. (Are you giggling, too?)
When I told her I would pay for half the meal, she hollered at me to get out of her restaurant.
I asked the waiter to change a $10 bill so I could give him a tip and apologized for creating a stir. This woman still was shouting at me to get out.
I obliged. Next time I will go to Yummy, down the street. You should, too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RabbiDrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    33
    20
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Darn good Chinese Food in Santa Fe”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Chow's is a darn good Chinese restaurant in Santa Fe. Four of us went for dinner and we each picked an entree. You can't go wrong with the Dragon Sesame - sweet sesame glaze with your choice of chicken, beef, shrimp or tofu - always a winner. Next we had the duck special, and I have to say it was overdone - a bit dry. Walnut shrimp was very good with an unusual cream sauce and roasted walnuts. Last entree was a ginger chicken special - a bit heavy-handed on the ginger, but pretty good. They offered Sonoma Cutrer Chardonnay by the glass (nice) and an assortment of exotic beers. Chows always has good service, and this might be Santa Fe's best Chinese restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauriegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quality chinese takeout”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent flavors and spiciness at reasonable prices...just avoid typical Chinese-bland offerings and you won't be disappointed

Helpful?
Thank gourmetscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“High quality authentic Chinese”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Chow's is the tastiest Chinese restaurant in Santa Fe. Never been disappointed in a meal here. A little pricier than others but well worth it for the quality of the meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Natsmavenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Not the quality we used to expect from Chow's. Tough and overdone duck. None of several dishes any better than so-so. No chance we'll return anytime soon.

Helpful?
3 Thank HMac_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chow's Contemporary Chinese also viewed

 

Been to Chow's Contemporary Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing