We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny's Restaurant and Lounge” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiny's Restaurant & Lounge

Tiny's Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #286 of 556 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Steakhouse, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tiny's Restaurant and Lounge”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

I just moved to the neighborhood where Tiny's is located, so we decided to give it a try. The place has an 'old-school' neighborhood bar and restaurant feel to it. As we sat at our table (near the kitchen), we could immediately smell someone smoking a cigarette in the kitchen. We ordered a beer and what was promoted by our odd-looking, disheveled waiter as a 12 oz, house-specialty Margarita. The drinks came with some very tasty and spicy chips and salsa. The margarita was horrible and served in a 6-8 oz glass. After my wife drank it, she ordered a beer. We told the waiter that we wanted to have a few drinks before we ordered dinner, but he "bothered" us 2-3 times asking if we were ready to order, or if we wanted him to take our order and he could then alert the kitchen when we were ready to eat. After we finished our 2nd drink, the waiter told us that he was leaving and he introduced our new waitress. She was friendly. We placed our order, the famous fajitas for me, and a side salad for my wife. The salad arrived as some semi-mealy iceberg lettuce with bitter purple cabbage and a few wedges of under-ripe tomato on a small bread plate that made the salad impossible to dress, let-alone eat. The fajitas were lame, 80% grilled onions and peppers with a few nuggets of decent grilled chicken and a few small strips of tasteless steak with a side-plate of bad yellow cheese, overly pureed guac, and sour-cream. Another side-plate included a cold, beginning to get brittle on the edges flour tortilla. We picked through our food and then had a few more beers and listened to the band playing okay renditions of 60's-70's rock, mainly southern bluesy stuff like ZZ Top, Skynard, etc. When we finally asked for the check, we were shocked to find out that the beers we were ordering (Bohemia and Sam Adams in 12 oz bottles) had cost (prices of beer not on menu) $5.75 each, and the lousy Margarita was 10.50. WE WERE RIPPED OFF! To summarize, lame food, over-priced booze, unprofessional service and a strange group of folks drinking in the bar. Avoid this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff87501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Among Santa Fe's best, most charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Tiny's not only has wonderful food and beverages, but it harkens to the days of charming super clubs with carpet, romantic mood lighting and regular evening entertainment. Other than its top class Northern New Mexican cuisine (try the Chili Relleno and/ or chicken guacamole tacos) , the wait staff is experienced and friendly. Tiny's also has home baked chips and Salsa created in the kitchen to make yo momma cry for, as newspaper types say in Northwest Arkansas. Try this place for sure when you're in The City Different.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Real New Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Tiny's is an unassuming off the tourist path for the quick visitor to Santa Fe. We found it almost by accident on a off-hand recommendation that has made living here what we wanted it to be....authentic, relaxed and excellent food with a great house margarita that can be made as fancy as you like. A great night is dance night when local folks enjoy themselves to great live music and clothed in local color. The flautas are truly great as is the spicy adobo and the chiles rellenos, jalapeños filled with cream cheese and fried in a great batter. Easy to get to at a major intersection with parking that is not a hassle.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank CarloseKess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Real New Mexican Flavor with an Old School Feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

To start, the complimentary Homeade salsa and chips are the best in town! The chips are warm and crispy not greasy and cold like some other places in town.The salsa is sooo good. It taSte like someones "local" grandmother made it. I had the cheese enchiladas and my friend had the combo plate. The chile again has such a great homeade taste. The posole and beans were perfectly cooked, usually the sides are missed but these could be eaten by themselves. The sopapillas are fluffy and fresh. The drinks are strong but tasty. Our waiter (forgot his name a tall blonde guy) was really helpful and down to earth. I hadn't been there in years. It was great for the price and taste. The decor is dated and much of the knick knacks have collected dust over the years. It has character. The tables and bathroom was clean. Its a real local Santa Fe hang out for friends and family. I believe 3 to 4 nights a week you can listen to some funky good bands while you kick back and have a great drink and great bite to hit the spot .

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Out of the way - EXCELLENT FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

I have been coming tonTinys regularly for years. The food is excellent. It beats any of the busy local food places by a mile. JR the owner is usually around to greet but even if he is out service is giid and food is great. No lines, no wait, great parking. I don't know why the parking lotbisnt packed! You should get there now if you're hungry.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Howdydow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tiny's Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Tiny's Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing