We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge Menu, Lots of Fresh baked goods, Definitely Go Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Fe Baking Company - CLOSED

Santa Fe Baking Company
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Huge Menu, Lots of Fresh baked goods, Definitely Go Here”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have been frequenting this place since I was in high school in the late 1990's. They have a regular menu that you grab once you walk in and then other selections hand-written on chalk boards as you approach the cash registers. Staff here is friendly, and you can tell they like their jobs. There is often a coupon in the reporter for this place. Bring family, go solo, come do some work with their free WiFi. Food is delicious and portions are ample. This place is a Santa Fe staple. Go there and get a seat where you can watch people come in... stay for a while and you will get to see some Santa Fe weirdos.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dreeksmonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    50
    28
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing from an old standby”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

I was excited to hear that they're considering offering some gluten free menu items at the register today and was looking forward to a good breakfast.

My omelette was pretty good, with fresh ingredients. The pinto beans tasted burned and otherwise bland. And both the red and green chile sauces had little flavor and too much flour. This was disappointing both to my dining partner and me.

The self-serve coffee was empty and even though we alerted staff immediately, we waited through almost our entire meal before they refilled it.

The women's room was also completely out of soap (a little distressing in a restaurant).

Offering their same normally generous portions is so appreciated. I hope this was just an off day and not where this once great restaurant is heading!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bendbound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Still quintessential Santa Fe”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Want breakfast with locals and not tourists. Well, this is your place! Stand in line to order, change it to include the great looking pastries you have to pass by, keep refilling your cup with 4 different coffee brews available. Don't go daily, you'll wind up grossly overweight.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank MisterPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Something for everyone...”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Santa Fe Baking Company has something for everyone. Three meals a day they open their door and invite you to come in with your tablet or laptop, use the WiFi and enjoy anything from coffees and baked goods to traditional and untraditional Santa Fe fare. All foods are comfort food style, nothing fancy, just good filling food that is priced moderately. Bugers, both regular and veggie, wraps, bowls, salads etc...all done just the way you like them.

This is a place that is frequented by locals, young and old alike. They have entertainment on occasional days and there is always an interesting conversation to be had.

They may make my favorite peanut butter cookies, better have yet to be found.

Bring your family, sit inside or outside, the patio is dog friendly and enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank gourmandSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We came here on the way to the airport as the bed and breakfast we were leaving didn't serve food until later. Walking in here, it was exactly the kind of restaurant and breakfast place I like to find, everything is made in-house. You order at a counter and next to the register is the pastry case filled with delicious-looking scones and pastries (they look as good as what I make at home). I ordered the blue corn pancakes and a side of home fries and my husband got one of the burritos. The coffee was delicious, smooth and tasty. I think the blue corn pancakes were better than the ones at the Range Cafe because these had a wonderful golden crust on them. My husband enjoyed his burrito and we had a great breakfast as our last meal in Santa Fe. I highly recommend coming here, the vibe was of a local and daily food joint, the police were eating here and you could tell the place is full of regulars.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank traveltime2426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Fe Baking Company also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing