We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky but a must do”

Five and Dime General Store
Ranked #81 of 555 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Level Contributor
298 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Quirky but a must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I grew up in Albuquerque, NM but never have been in the five & dime (old Woolworths) on The Plaza in Santa Fe. If your looking for quirky gifts from The Land of Enchantment this is your place, BUT!!!!! If you can handle heat you must get the Frito Pie ($5) in the small cafeteria in the back of the store. Apparently is a Diner, Drive Ins & Dives location. She cuts the top of the Frito bag open, pours the chili on top of the chips, then some cheese, onions and jalapeños are by the soda machine if your want (I recommend the onions). Then head out to The Plaza and find a bench to people watch.
So simple and so satisfying. So great.
***A must do but the chili is spicy if your a light weight ;)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HotPocket505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    77
    42
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great store - good quick food for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Loved the bargains in the general merchandise! Only $5.00 t-shirts, and lots of inventory for souvenirs from New Mexico. Quick place for water and drinks - easy simple food, good if you brought a lot of kids.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Try the Frito Pie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Right on the plaza, a $4.95 Frito Pie is a gift. As junk food goes, it's delicious. You'll eat at a counter facing a wall or a couple of tables and chairs leftover from the 50s.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmythePetSitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The only ORIGINAL Frito Pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

A must short snack stop for a taste of what the Frito pie should be.
The five and dime is filled with any souvenir item you could hope for. If you walk to the back left of the store, you find the dear lady who has been creating these Frito pies for at least 30 yrs.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryLou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Sunday visit...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I came in to get out of the very cold weather on a Sunday a little after noon. I had 45 minutes to wait, I had thought the down town library was open by noon on a Sunday but it opened at 1 PM. I am not in love with their frito pies since I tend not to eat beef and they are a little on the greasy side. I have had them though, twice over the years of living in SF. I do wish they would make one with veg. red chili, plain pinto beans, lettuce,onions, jalapeno and fritos. That I would buy. I bought a corn dog I think it was a chicken corn dog It was hot and flavorful and cooked right. the restaurant staff are nice overall.The cashiers are helpful I was directed to the toilet paper. I was out and by being able to buy just one roll it there it saved me a second stop at a chain store later in the day so i appreciated that. Also the restaurant dosen't serve hot tea just coffee,but I had a foil wrapped tea bag in my purse and they have a hot water tap. I went to give the cashier 65 cents to pay for the cup and he wouldn't take it even though I thought he should.
He was being nice and since I was freezing I appreciated the tea and the meal even more.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Magdalena052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five and Dime General Store also viewed

 

Been to Five and Dime General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing