We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay in Santa Fe”
Review of The Bobcat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bobcat Inn
Ranked #19 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“A great place to stay in Santa Fe”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

It is so great to have an alternate to the very pricey B&B options within a few miles of downtown Santa Fe. I have stayed at the Bobcat Inn several times and appreciate the atmosphere and spirit of customer service I have always experienced. I highly recommend it to those who do not mind being being a little removed from the Plaza area (though rather close to many of the museums). In addition to other things I loved the sunsets - which seemed to be 360 degrees - and the star-filled view of the sky. Kudos to Amy!

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    48
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
129
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The owner is proud of the "mission style" furniture, but the older wood and cloth furnishing produce a strong, unpleasant musty smell. The facility might more pleasant when the weather allows for open windows. Period furnishing often have the very obvious defects of wear like missing paint and cracked glass on picture frames, rips in leather table coverings, unsteady chair arms, etc.

The information book in the bedroom could be enhanced, especially for guests who arrive when the property is unattended. The owner did leave a note with the keys on the front door of the house stating that she would meet us at breakfast the next day.

The Kachina room is beautifully furnished with, of course, katchina dolls. It is very large and, apart from the door jam, handicap friendly. The bathroom has grab bars and a roll-in shower but needs a new floor. The very large closet has a mixture of hangers but mainly dry cleaner style wire ones. Sheets are changed once if the stay is at least 5 days.

The walking path starts on the side of the house and is loosely marked with an unpainted sign. The path may be more obvious in the summer when flowers could highlight a trellis a short way into the walk. The property is on ten acres, very little of which is available to guests.

When we called the owner to say that we were not staying although it would forfeit our payment, she did offer to have us come at a different date. However first impressions are lasting impressions and difficult to erase.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applepicker, Owner at The Bobcat Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
I find this review very troubling and not accurate. We usually close in January and take a break. Santa Fe is a very seasonal tourist destination. However, this year we decided to run some specials including a limited number of groupons. So far the people have been absolutely fabulous and have been saying they are coming back in the summer. This was the reason that we did this. The guest who purchased this groupon and wrote this review did not even stay with us. I did not run their deposit. They paid groupon. I also told them that their groupon was transferable.
Her husband called and asked me if they could check in early. I assured them that would be fine and that they could use our self check in method. I told him to please call me if they needed anything and I would be back later in the afternoon.
She did call me and must have spent hours trying to find fault with our place. Her main concern was my stuffed bobcats which add character to our establishment. They are also featured in the picture on our website. I love animals and I purchased them at an antique shop. The large charcoal drawing of the elk being attacked by wolves was done by my great grandmother and originally had a gold picture frame that I destressed and painted black. Everyone loves it and comments about it. The tables are equipale and are also distressed. The chair that she mentions is a rocking chair with a kilim pattern from Seret & Sons, a very high end rug & textile store in Santa fe. I have never had anyone complain about a musty smell. It just does not exist. The couch and table are mission style and made with real wood unlike furniture today.
The kachina room is handicapped accessible and perfect for families because of its size. The bathroom does have an oversized shower with grab bars which elderly people love. The floor in the bathroom is tile and maybe has one chip in the entire tile floor. I do need to replace the hangers in the closet and that will be done next week.
I really don't think this person would enjoy coming back to our inn. We are very old style Santa Fe and perhaps she would prefer a contemporary California style inn in Santa fe. I moved to Santa Fe 25 years ago because I love thick adobe walls, vigas, Navajo rugs, turquoise and I am so happy that Santa Fe has been kept historic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here 4 nites around the Christmas holidays. The location was convenient to downtown and the scenery fabulous. The breakfasts were always different and delicious. We appreciated Amy's hospitality and found the morning conversations with other guests at breakfast helpful in sharing touring information. We would recommend the Bobcat to others looking for "a different" experience (vs. hotel/motel stay) in "the City Different".

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed one night last year at this time and two nights this time and will come back next year as this is becoming a tradition for the day(s) after Thanksgiving. Amy took great care to make our stay comfortable and breakfasts were very well done.

Room Tip: "The Lodge" was our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33447Rocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We spent one night here this past October and hope to return when we go to NM again in the spring. The room was spacious, the house lovely and clean, and breakfast was delicious. Access to Santa Fe was easy and there was ample literature about NM available. The owner was both gracious and informative in response to our questions.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rdhazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2011

They gave me a free night for veterans' day. Great, comfy cozy room. The innkeeper was very nice and made a great breakfast. The area around the inn is very rustic and isn't far from Sante Fe Plaze. I had a great time there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misty3375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Al
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed at the Bobcat Inn for 3 nights a couple of years ago. The owner is a warm hostess and the breakfasts were fantastic. The Inn is out of the mainstream, but has beautiful views and comfortable accommdations. There's also a good restaurant close by which was featured on "Driveins, Diners and Dives" a few years ago. It's the Bobcat Bite....best hamburgers in the world. We would definitely recommend the Bobcat Inn!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Todds_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Inn At Santa Fe
#32 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Downtown
El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bobcat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bobcat Inn

Property: The Bobcat Inn
Address: 442 Old Las Vegas Hwy, Santa Fe, NM 87505-1411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bobcat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful southwest inspired bed and breakfast located in the Southeast foothills to Santa Fe, and only 15 minutes from the historic Plaza. Gourmet breakfast prepared from our farm fresh eggs and organic vegetables from our garden. Walking trails , small vineyard, koi pond and views of Rowe Mesa and the mountains. Patio dining in the courtyard with the hummingbirds in the summer and cozy dining by the fire in the winter months. Authentic Santa Fe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bobcat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bobcat Hotel Santa Fe
The Bobcat Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing