We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay”
Review of The Bobcat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bobcat Inn
Ranked #19 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We just got back from Santa Fe and our stay at the Bobcat Inn using a Groupon. My husband and I will DEFINITELY return here and bring friends. We stayed in the Cowboy Room and could look out and see snow two mornings while there. Hiking down the road was a nice excursion, too. Amy is a fabulous cook and hostess. The other guests we met there were so interesting and a pleasure to have breakfast with. I cannot say enough great comments about our stay there!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasHookem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    48
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
129
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I am a very busy mom and a full time student, and my husband works in law. Needless to say, our lives are very hectic and about every 3 months, we take some time away from the "grind" to recharge our batteries. This time, my husband purchased a Groupon for The Bobcat Inn, as a Christmas gift for me. We have been wanting to visit Santa Fe for quite some time, and it is a reasonable 4 to 5 hour drive from Denver. So, on MLK weekend, we sent the kids to their dad's house and we were off!

Amy was there to greet us when we checked in, and was so helpful. As she was walking us around the main house (which is furnished with lovely pieces and is very charming), I asked if she had any water bottles in the rooms, as I am known for being thirsty ALL OF THE TIME - she immediately stopped and offered me a glass of ice water. We saw the main room (as mentioned), the beautiful modern kitchen, and then Amy walked us out of the back door and towards our room.

The room that we had booked was the Kachina II, which is outside of the main house, in what I would call a Casita. The king sized bed was SUPER comfortable - even more so than my cozy comfy bed at home, and there were plenty of pillows, which is a plus for me, as I am a pillow hog :) The sheets were very, very soft and comfortable, as well. It was cold outside, but plenty warm in the room. In addition to the bed, the room was furnished with two nightstands, lamps, and a bureau for clothes (the TV sits on the bureau) - and many fun touches of Kachina dolls throughout.

The bathroom has some really fun & funky blue/yellow tiles and was supplied with plenty of soft towels. I really like to use a lot of towels, and when I asked Amy for a couple more, she very graciously brought them to me immediately. The bathroom also comes stocked with some nice toiletries, such as soap, shampoo and lotion The closet is very spacious and includes an additional 2 large pillows, and a huge down comforter. It was not cold enough for us to use the comforter (and the heater works very well), but on frigid, snowy nights, I am sure it would be most welcomed.

Finally, there is a large porch with a table and two chairs. It was too cool for us to sit outside during our stay, but I could definitely see this as a prime place to sit outside for a glass of wine, to watch the scenery, during warmer months.

The food that Amy prepared was plentiful, and delicious. Each day she offered coffee, tea, juice, fruit, yogurt and granola. The main selection at our first breakfast was stuffed french toast with Apricot sauce - delicious, and bacon!! The second day, we were treated to a spinach/mushroom frittata - also very yummy. Amy serves the food buffet style, and there is plenty to go around. She also checked with us a couple of times during our meal to make sure that we had enough to eat, and offered to make more when we were still just a bit hungry.

Amy was also helpful to us in two additional ways. First, she suggested an amazing restaurant for our dinner - Maria's. The place is somewhat of a hole in the wall but the food is OUTSTANDING and the margaritas deadly. We look forward to going back!!

Secondly, when we left, we made incredible mistake of leaving the laptop that I use for school behind!! By the time Amy called us, we were 2.5 hours into our 5 hour journey home, and just couldn't turn back to get it. Amy did us the favor of taking my computer to the local FedEx store and having it very securely packed, and sent back to me. It arrived 2 days later in perfect condition, and I feel like I owe her big time for that!!

Our stay at The Bobcat Inn was warm, comfortable and luxurious. I am happy to recommend it, and it's lovely owner Amy, to anyone :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHutchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Beautiful warm rooms--we stayed in the Cowboy Room with it's personal fire place. We were cozy under the covers on the big bed! Free cookies, candies, wine and roses on our arrival. Gourmet breakfasts were wonderfully prepared and more than we expected. We didn't even need lunch. The owner had a ton of information regarding Santa Fe. She pointed us to the best Mexican food in town at Maria's. I love this place and I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I'm in the area.

Also, we were there when it was snowing and the place was absolutely beautiful covered in a dusting of snow. And I have no idea what Curious MsM was referring to in her comment about a musty smell. The place smells perfectly fine. I didn't experience any of what he/she experienced.

Room Tip: Cowboy Room has a private fireplace, opens to the courtyard and next to the kitchen. Very handy ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2012

It is so great to have an alternate to the very pricey B&B options within a few miles of downtown Santa Fe. I have stayed at the Bobcat Inn several times and appreciate the atmosphere and spirit of customer service I have always experienced. I highly recommend it to those who do not mind being being a little removed from the Plaza area (though rather close to many of the museums). In addition to other things I loved the sunsets - which seemed to be 360 degrees - and the star-filled view of the sky. Kudos to Amy!

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The owner is proud of the "mission style" furniture, but the older wood and cloth furnishing produce a strong, unpleasant musty smell. The facility might more pleasant when the weather allows for open windows. Period furnishing often have the very obvious defects of wear like missing paint and cracked glass on picture frames, rips in leather table coverings, unsteady chair arms, etc.

The information book in the bedroom could be enhanced, especially for guests who arrive when the property is unattended. The owner did leave a note with the keys on the front door of the house stating that she would meet us at breakfast the next day.

The Kachina room is beautifully furnished with, of course, katchina dolls. It is very large and, apart from the door jam, handicap friendly. The bathroom has grab bars and a roll-in shower but needs a new floor. The very large closet has a mixture of hangers but mainly dry cleaner style wire ones. Sheets are changed once if the stay is at least 5 days.

The walking path starts on the side of the house and is loosely marked with an unpainted sign. The path may be more obvious in the summer when flowers could highlight a trellis a short way into the walk. The property is on ten acres, very little of which is available to guests.

When we called the owner to say that we were not staying although it would forfeit our payment, she did offer to have us come at a different date. However first impressions are lasting impressions and difficult to erase.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applepicker, Owner at The Bobcat Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
I find this review very troubling and not accurate. We usually close in January and take a break. Santa Fe is a very seasonal tourist destination. However, this year we decided to run some specials including a limited number of groupons. So far the people have been absolutely fabulous and have been saying they are coming back in the summer. This was the reason that we did this. The guest who purchased this groupon and wrote this review did not even stay with us. I did not run their deposit. They paid groupon. I also told them that their groupon was transferable.
Her husband called and asked me if they could check in early. I assured them that would be fine and that they could use our self check in method. I told him to please call me if they needed anything and I would be back later in the afternoon.
She did call me and must have spent hours trying to find fault with our place. Her main concern was my stuffed bobcats which add character to our establishment. They are also featured in the picture on our website. I love animals and I purchased them at an antique shop. The large charcoal drawing of the elk being attacked by wolves was done by my great grandmother and originally had a gold picture frame that I destressed and painted black. Everyone loves it and comments about it. The tables are equipale and are also distressed. The chair that she mentions is a rocking chair with a kilim pattern from Seret & Sons, a very high end rug & textile store in Santa fe. I have never had anyone complain about a musty smell. It just does not exist. The couch and table are mission style and made with real wood unlike furniture today.
The kachina room is handicapped accessible and perfect for families because of its size. The bathroom does have an oversized shower with grab bars which elderly people love. The floor in the bathroom is tile and maybe has one chip in the entire tile floor. I do need to replace the hangers in the closet and that will be done next week.
I really don't think this person would enjoy coming back to our inn. We are very old style Santa Fe and perhaps she would prefer a contemporary California style inn in Santa fe. I moved to Santa Fe 25 years ago because I love thick adobe walls, vigas, Navajo rugs, turquoise and I am so happy that Santa Fe has been kept historic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here 4 nites around the Christmas holidays. The location was convenient to downtown and the scenery fabulous. The breakfasts were always different and delicious. We appreciated Amy's hospitality and found the morning conversations with other guests at breakfast helpful in sharing touring information. We would recommend the Bobcat to others looking for "a different" experience (vs. hotel/motel stay) in "the City Different".

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed one night last year at this time and two nights this time and will come back next year as this is becoming a tradition for the day(s) after Thanksgiving. Amy took great care to make our stay comfortable and breakfasts were very well done.

Room Tip: "The Lodge" was our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33447Rocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Inn At Santa Fe
#32 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Downtown
El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bobcat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bobcat Inn

Property: The Bobcat Inn
Address: 442 Old Las Vegas Hwy, Santa Fe, NM 87505-1411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bobcat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful southwest inspired bed and breakfast located in the Southeast foothills to Santa Fe, and only 15 minutes from the historic Plaza. Gourmet breakfast prepared from our farm fresh eggs and organic vegetables from our garden. Walking trails , small vineyard, koi pond and views of Rowe Mesa and the mountains. Patio dining in the courtyard with the hummingbirds in the summer and cozy dining by the fire in the winter months. Authentic Santa Fe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bobcat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bobcat Hotel Santa Fe
The Bobcat Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing