We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad, bad, bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Santa Fe Central
Ranked #55 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Mission Viejo
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Bad, bad, bad”
Reviewed 18 August 2008

I know it is a budget hotel. We have stayed at many budget hotels. This by far is the worst one. The rooms were depressing and dirty. The decor was old, The wallpaper was peeling. It was very difficult to spend time in the room. Our friends stayed in a smoking room, as they always do. The smell coming from that room was more than just smoke. It had an odor which we could not identify. We were quite worried about our stay at another Econ Lodge(Pueblo Colorado) and we almost cancelled. But when we arrived in Pueblo, we were relieved to find the standards 100 times better than the hotel in Santa Fe. This Econo Lodge needs a lot of improving!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — dpressing and dirty rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mcbabci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    20
    25
    20
    37
See reviews for
37
18
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2008

First off, keep in mind that this is a BUDGET HOTEL. Don't be like so many other reviewers and review these budget hotels from a luxury hotel perspective.

We were reasonably happy with the accomodations: Decent bed, clean, good TV reception, pool, hottub. We had trouble getting good wireless internet reception in our room. The main problem we had is that there were two large groups of jr. and high school kids staying there on the night we did. Had we known this (we booked online...lesson learned: will call next time), we would never have stayed here. They were LOUD...their parents/guardians/teachers evidently never taught them basic travel manners: when you are a guest ANYWHERE, you don't run down the hallways, let the doors slam, talk loudly, pound on doors, etc.

We didn't try the standard budget breakfast (waffles, cereal) because it was overrun with the kids for about 2 hours, so we gave up and went to the Pantry Restaurant 2.75 mi. up Cerrillos Rd, and were VERY glad we did.

So, lesson learned: Budget people stay in budget hotels. Budget people are often loud and obnoxious. Call and make sure no groups will be staying at any budget hotels under consideration.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank PickyTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2007

We brought a group of students to experience the culture of Santa Fe, NM. Our stay was almost acceptable. Our problems began after we checked out. It started when I called about some clothes one of the students left behind. I provided an address in which the clothes were to be returned as well as a contact phone number. The manager was suppose to call me, but guess what -- he couldn't be bothered. I called back 3 times giving the same information and again was told the manager would return our calls. Almost a week after we left, 3 charges appeared on our credit card. When I called to find out what the charges were for & to see when the clothes were shipped, I was told the clothes were still there & no one knew what the charges were for. I was also told the employees of the hotel didn't know who the clothes belonged to. I then called Choice Hotels to file a complaint. What a joke that was!!!!! I was put off & told to wait for the manager of Econo Lodge in Santa Fe, NM, to decide whether or not to repond. At this time, a week later, we still do not have the clothes, no explanations for the credit card charges, & no call from the manager.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NotHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

kansascity
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

We stopped here for two days here during a seven day motorcycle trip. I had located this place on the internet and stayed here because of the price and the breakfast. The room was clean and we had no problems during our stay. These beds were the most comfortable of our trip. The staff was very nice and helped us with directions around town and suggested a few sites to check out. The breakfast included hot eggs, sausage, biscuits, and a waffle maker. Another plus to this place was that it is directly across from the Harley Davidson Dealership. Neither my wife nor I speak Spanish and had no trouble understanding anyone here as others have had in there reviews. I would recommend this place to anyone one looking for a good, clean and affordable place to stay.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Heritage_Softail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2007

We stayed here for two nights while we took in the sights near Santa Fe. The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast was good. The staff was very friendly. The desk clerk recommended a Mexican restaurant across the street. It was wonderful. Would stay here again.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — No room was a bit far from the stairs.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SaxyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2007

I am ashamed that I stayed all five nights of our time in Santa Fe at this hotel. Let me see if I can explain:

Saturday, June 30, 2007 (Arrived at about 6:00pm)
*Both ice machines don't work, both soda machine don't work
*Back "Security Access" glass (full door size) broken; easy access without door key; no "Security"

Sunday, July 01, 2007
*Sheets won't stay on bed
*Breakfast: eggs are ice cold, milk smells sour
*No coffee or cups left in room
*No cups for water left in room
*No towels...had to ask housekeeping; none speak English
*Both ice machines don't work, both soda machine don't work

Monday, July 02, 2007
***Alarms goes off at 5am with Hispanic music blasting at high volume
*No coffee or cups left in room
*No cups for water left in room
*Sheets not staying on bed
***Room not cleaned; had to load up everything and move to another room (Bad Front Desk Help)
*No towels...had to chase down Housekeepiing (no speak English)
*Both ice machines don't work, both soda machine don't work
*Front "Security Access" door broken; door opens without room key

Tuesday, July 03, 2007
*Sheets not staying on bed
*No coffee or cups left left in room
*No cups for water left in room
*Both ice machines don't work, both soda machine don't work
***CD case left in old room. Housekeeper "finds" in drawer adjacent to breakfast area. One CD missing..."found" in the CD player in room adjacent to breakfast area.

Wednesday, July 04, 2007
*Sheets not staying on bed
*Both ice machines don't work, both soda machine don't work
*No coffee or cups left left in room
*No cups for water left in room

This place needs to either be revamped as far as its staff and physically brought back into acceptable condition...or be bulldozed!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Incompetent staff & lack of security
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank edlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2007

A very good budget hotel deal. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was excellent for the price: HOT eggs, sausage, biscuits, waffles, etc.

The hotel is a ways from the Plaza area, but it's an easy drive, and is surrounded by all necessary services, including an "art gallery" of sorts right next door that has things similar to those on the plaza at a fraction of the cost.

  • Liked — price and breakfast
  • Disliked — noisy air conditioner
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dhphllps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Fe
Quality Inn Santa Fe
#47 of 60 in Santa Fe
325 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
#37 of 60 in Santa Fe
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Fe 646 Cerrillios Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Fe
Motel 6 Santa Fe
#53 of 60 in Santa Fe
53 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Santa Fe New Mexico
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Santa Fe Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Santa Fe Central

Property: Motel 6 Santa Fe Central
Address: 3470 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507-2905 (Formerly Econo Lodge Santa Fe)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Santa Fe Central 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Santa Fe Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Econolodge Santa Fe
Santa Fe Econo Lodge
Motel 6 Santa Fe Central New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing