We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to shop”
Review of Keshi

Keshi
Ranked #16 of 268 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
865 reviews
381 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to shop”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The have fetishes, pottery, and jewelry. But the reason I keep going back are for the beautifully carved animal fetishes. If you don't know much about them the staff is very willing to share information with you. The store prides itself on supporting Zuni artisans. I highly recommend a visit when you're in Santa Fe

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alec D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    24
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Authentic - Museum Quality at a reasonable - affordable price”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Once you walk into Keshi... you feel transported back to the Zuni Pubelo... The artists that are represented are of various levels of skill, but each one is a Master. Fetishes can be found from the very simple to the extraordinary. The store representatives are all very knowledgable of each artist represented. You can find museum quality at afforadable prices. Each fetish is packed in a lovey gift box with the artist name and some "corn meal and turquoise" to nourish both your spirit and the spirit of the fetish. There is no better in all of Santa Fe.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank friarfsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, OR.
Level Contributor
206 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Amazing selection of Zuni art”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have been collecting Zuni fetishes for more than 30 years, have been to Zuni pueblo, met carvers there, spent time at the trading post, and have NEVER seen so many authentic Zuni fetishes in one place at one time. The history of the store is available on their website and it is an admirable undertaking. There are fetishes in a wide range of prices from very inexpensive to very expensive and everything in between. If you are looking for some to add to your collection, you will surely find something to your liking. They have the work of beginning carvers as well as the long established families such as Quandelacy, Cheama, Hustito, Him, Tsethelekai, Quam, and most of the others as well. Even if you have no idea what a Zuni fetish is, it would be worth your time to stop in for a visit and a look around. The people working there are kind, gracious, and willing to help anyone learn about Zuni art. There is other art work and craft work as well, but fetishes dominate. It's a fantastic little store! We are so glad we found it and will visit again when we are back in town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RUCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nags Head, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“I read the reviews...had to visit....wow!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Great staff...best of service and knowledgeable staff! They had some much information to share. I purchase a fetish for each if my family....so many to choose from...any price range...but beware they are addicting... I am a collector now!!! Love this shop...find it..visit it while in Santa fe.

Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cd'A, Id.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Doing Zuni proud.......”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I have seriously collected Zuni Fetishes for roughly 20 years. I have actually met a couple of the Zuni carvers at their home on the Zuni Reservation. So, when I discovered Keshi, about 6 years ago, I really couldn't believe my eyes. The owners of Keshi have lived with the Zuni people and actually know these carvers and their families. These owners want nothing more than to allow the Native carver a fair and equitable means to deliver their carvings to the general public. There are literally thousands of the fetishes on display for sale inside this store. There is also some pottery and some jewelry for purchasing. This shop also has several live artist exhibitions during the year. Too cool. I love why this shop exists, and I wish them and the carvers success. If you come to this store, prepare yourself for visual overload.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keshi also viewed

 

Been to Keshi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing