We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PAR EXCELLENCE!”
Review of The Madeleine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Madeleine
Ranked #11 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“PAR EXCELLENCE!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Madeleine Inn, a centrally located, beautiful old Victorian home furnished with lovely antiques, provided the PERFECT week long retreat for two stressed out vacationers. We were pampered from the moment that we walked in the door by very welcoming and knowledgeable staff who took the time to greet us and lead us to our top floor room and breakfast room. Our room had more than enough space and character for us to savour. Carolyn, Regan and other wonderful staff always made us feel special, and were more than helpful - taking the time to highlight or draw us maps and provide suggestions on how to spend our time in Santa Fe and surrounding areas. Every morning, delicious home cooked meals were provided as nourishment, along with fresh fruit and sweet treats such as loaves or freshly baked cookies. An array of treats were also left by the door to snack on at any time. My friend and I are both world travellers and received EXCELLENT treatment by the entire staff, who made our stay comfortable, relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable, and we would rate our experience as being five star in every way! We were so elated with our stay, that we are sharing our experiences with everyone we know!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    38
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
37
222
44
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Madeleine Inn is such a lovely, elegant oasis right in the center of town. Such a joy to come back to after a day of sightseeing and eating (lots of chilies) to relax in the beautiful garden or the main room with a cup of tea and homemade cookies. My room was beautiful with antiques, stained glass window and a divine bed - perfect sleeping. Carolyn, the owner, is a delightful hostess and is full of information for the best of everything. The breakfasts are amazing. The entire staff is friendly, professional and caring. I really can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I loved the Columbine room because the sun comes in the window in the morning. The Mayflower room o...
See more room tips
Green Features: I love the fact that the Madeleine is an environmentally practicing inn. We need more hotels and inns to do this.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoDell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at The Madeleine, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Glowing reviews such as this warm the cockles of my heart! Thank you for such a glowing write-up of the inn, gardens, food offerings and service. We are always aiming to provide the most comfortable and enjoyable accommodations possible, so it is gratifying to learn how pleased you were with your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Lots of positives at the Madeleine Inn. We were arriving late and we received excellent instructions for our late arrival. The Inn is well kept, quiet and convenient for walking or driving in Santa Fe. Cookies, fruit and snacks are by the front door. Our room was the Morning Glory on the 2nd floor. Our room had a radio, tv and small refrigerator. Breakfast was served next door at Hacienda Nicholas and was delicious and filling each morning. Only a few glitches in our visit. We woke up the first morning without bath towels. It was early but I called the number listed for after hours calls and received directions on where to locate fresh towels down the hall. The fireplace uses candles but there were only two matches in the box and they were of the short variety and I could not light the candles without burning myself. Long handled matches or a long match holder would be helpful. The king size bed is very high off the ground. Fortunately a step stool is provided. The room could use additional electrical outlets for recharging all of our gadgets. We solved the problem by purchasing a power strip at a local store.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at The Madeleine, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We so appreciate you writing to give us such valuable feedback, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Madeleine. Thank you very much for letting me know about the overlooked housekeeping details. We were training a new housekeeper, and clearly a couple of items were overlooked by her and the innkeeper checking up on the finished work. I have just re-stocked the matches, and am confident the missing towels situation will not be an issue in the future.

I apologize that you did not have adequate outlets to charge your phones and laptops. Due to the historic nature of the house (built in 1886) we have power strips in every room, but I have ascertained the one in Morning Glory has indeed gone missing. I am heading out shortly to get a replacement, as well as a few back-ups just in case this happens again.

Thank you again for this very helpful feedback, which helps us in our mission to be the best we can be. We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much as to give us top marks on Trip Advisor, despite the overlooked items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A beautiful inn with a very warm and welcoming host and staff. Delicious breakfasts. Carolyn and her staff were very helpful with suggestions for our activities. Highly recommend Sante Fe and the Madeleine Inn.

Green Features: We chose the inn based on their environmentally friendly practices. They are clearly committed to them!
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at The Madeleine, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for writing to let us know how much you enjoyed the inn, staff and breakfasts, as well as our eco-friendly practices. It is good to know that we were on the mark with providing useful suggestions for activities while you were in Santa Fe, and I hope you had a great day of hiking. It is ideal weather for exploring both in and around the town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We just got back from Santa Fe and had a nice stay at the Madeleine Inn. The Forsythia was the room we liked the best. Nice gas fireplace and lots of room to stretch out. The staff was very nice and we had super nice breakfasts and happy hours in the evening. The B & B is located in a very convenient location to the city and an easy walk to most of the things we wanted to do. We really enjoyed our stay here. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We liked the larger cottage rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: Wow, everything is green here. They are all about re-cycling. I like it.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at The Madeleine, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you very much for writing such a glowing review of your stay at The Madeleine. I too love the Forsythia and the Violet Rooms for their size, fireplaces and total privacy. We are lucky to be just a few blocks from the Plaza and Canyon Road, so guests are able to walk most everywhere in the downtown area. Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the food service and staff. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Carolyn took great care of us again. A couple of lights were not working in the room (we arrived late). After a call Carolyn was there in minutes to get thing squared away. She also gave us recommendations and directions to several restaurants for a late dinner (all within walking distance). Carolyn keeps lots of goodies around the inn, and our munchies were satisfied every time we returned from a hike. It was a lovely two day stay for us in Santa Fe, and we highly recommend the Madeleine Inn!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at The Madeleine, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to come back and stay at The Madeleine Inn: we are thrilled that 1/3 of our guests are repeat guests. I am sorry there was an issue with the bedside table lamps, but glad the problem was so easily rectified. As you saw, Santa Fe tends to shut down on the early side, but we do have some restaurants which are open later to accommodate later dining. Glad you liked our selection of munchies too! Hope to see you before long for yet another trip to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Had a wonderful time staying at the Madeleine Inn. The room was perfect and the location could not be beat. The breakfasts are always a treat. I particularly like the location. It is an easy walk to the plaza and all shops and restaurants. I will be back as soon as I can.

Tom

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 321mitchellt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at The Madeleine, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Tom,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a terrific review of your stay at The Madeleine. We are delighted that you so enjoyed your room, the breakfasts, and our location in historic downtown Santa Fe. It is really great to be able to walk so easily to the Plaza and Canyon Road while also being in such a quiet garden setting.

We shall look forward to your return visit.
All the best,
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,303 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,608 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,249 reviews
Downtown
El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
Downtown
El Farolito B&B Inn
El Farolito B&B Inn
#1 of 36 in Santa Fe
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madeleine

Property: The Madeleine
Address: 106 E Faithway St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 1886 Queen Anne Victorian, in a secluded garden setting near the Plaza, offers full breakfasts, delicious homemade baked goods all afternoon, and nightly wine & appetizers. Our Balinese-inspired spa, staffed with Master-level therapists, offers the ultimate in spa treatments. Spa packages are available. As members of the Green Hotel Network, we are committed to incorporating sustainable earth policies and practices in the running of our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Hotel Santa Fe
The Madeleine Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing