We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colorful, Cozy, and Good!”
Review of Pantry Restaurant

Pantry Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 567 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Description: The Pantry Restaurant has been a Santa Fe landmark since 1948. We offer a unique take on a diner, where the cuisine of Northern New Mexico meets traditional American food. We have been serving quality fresh from scratch comfort food for over sixty years. You will be pleased with our fast and friendly service while enjoying the best chile in Santa Fe. As a family owned business we pride ourselves on serving the freshest and most quality ingredients to all of our guests and we promise to treat you like part of the family.
Upland, CA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Colorful, Cozy, and Good!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We picked the closest high-rated restaurant from our hotel. We had two kids with us, so we had to find something we all would enjoy. The menu has something for everyone. We kept to New Mexican food items, and the kids had basic good American classics. Everything we had was fresh, well seasoned, and good. We were pleased with the service and the friendliness of the staff. Certainly a place we will return to next time we are in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkippyJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Pantry Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
I know how hard it is to travel with kids and to find a restaurant with options for the whole family, so I'm happy to hear everyone enjoyed their meals! I really appreciate you taking the time to spread the good word about us, and I do hope we'll see you the next time you're in town.

All the best,
Michael Singley, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,035
    431
    88
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Keep driving. Nothing special.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

There are better options in Santa Fe. This is a popular breakfast location but the food is just okay. If you're looking for a trendy breakfast spot, I would recommend driving a few more miles into town - even Weck's on Cerrillos Road is a better choice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelvendor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Pantry Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
I'm disappointed to hear we weren't able to wow you with our food and that we didn't live up to expectations. If there was something in particular we could have done to improve your experience or your meal, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Thanks,
Michael Singley, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“tried them twice”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We got sandwiches (hamburger and a club) and they were very good. Then we tried Mexican a few days later (burrito and enchiladas) and was very good again. You can't go wrong here because all the food looks good and service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Pantry Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed everything from our sandwiches to our New Mexican specialties, Richard -- it really says a lot that you'd come in twice! Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you the next time you're in town.

Best,
Michael Singley, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek AZ
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the El Rey Inn and they recommended the Pantry...walking distance from the Inn.....a very casual atmosphere, very friendly staff and great food at reasonable prices. Nothing fancy, just very good food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twooldfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Pantry Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Good food is what we're all about so I'm thrilled we could give you a great meal that lived up to expectations.Thanks for the fantastic review and for continuing to spread the good word about us!

Cheers,
Michael Singley, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Solpaipilla”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stopped by for a later lunch and was not disappointed. I had a chicken solpaipilla that was spiced and flavored just right. Green sauce was great and a huge helping. A really nice neighborhood place. Price was right and the service was terrific. Pies looked great but I just had no room. Next time I am in the area I will stop by again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Pantry Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Good sopapillas, flavorful chile, and friendly service? That's really all a restaurant in Santa Fe can hope to be known for! I'm so glad you enjoyed your meal and that you plan to return for more the next time you're in Santa Fe. Hope it's not long before we see you again, Bill.

All the best,
Michael Singley, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pantry Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pantry Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing