We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restorative!”
Review of Alexander's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alexander's Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My recent stay at the Cottage was superb. I went to Santa Fe with the goal of a week's long "time out" from the stresses of daily life. I wanted calm, quiet and peaceful. I was not disappointed. The Cottage is a soothing space with its cozy interior decor, a kitchen and at the top of a spiral staircase a lovely bedroom with natural light (sun and moon) pouring in through a wall of windows along one side. I spent hours reading on the patio surrounded by the quiet and well tended garden off the patio.

The Innkeeper Carolyn and her family have the gift of making one feel welcome without being overbearing. I loved my stay and am looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Meredith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our weekend getaway was harried with family issues, but Alexander's Inn was just the right counterpoint to all the drama. The Cottage was quiet and secluded, with well-kept landscaping, a shady porch for relaxing and reading, a kiva fireplace and a fun sleeping loft atop a spiral staircase. Owner/Innkeeper Carolyn and her staff were ever so helpful, and they made every effort to assure our stay was memorable. Breakfast was cooked to order, healthy (if you wanted) and delicious (special shout-out to Saturday's Mexican egg bake with chipotle salsa. Sabroso!) Perhaps best of all, our dog, Brody, had a playmate for the weekend with Brady, the family's friendly and exuberant yellow lab. More often now, I find I suffer from what Richard Bradford called 'acute Land-of-Enchantment deprivation.' The only cure is a New Mexico sky and lots of red chile. When this magical place tugs at our hearts again, you can bet we'll head south, and Alexander's Inn will be on our list.

Room Tip: Vacation rentals at Alexander's Inn are about a three-block walk from the breakfast spot at Haci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at the Pinon which is operated by the same management group that handles Madeleine's and Alexander's Inn B & Bs. The location was very close to the town center, convenient for exploring the many attractions nearby. It was spacious and clean.
When we got there in the evening, the neighbor's dogs started barking as soon as we turned the lights on. You can't use the balcony because the dogs will bark continuously. There are three dogs tied to trees and they are left outside day and night. Every time we are in the house, the dogs bark, even in the middle of the night. If only the dogs were not noisy...???

Room Tip: NOT Pinon or Juniper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank orsotnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The inn itself is very nice and within walking distance to the plaza. However, the neighborhood has barking dogs galore. there is one dog that sounds like he is right on top of the roof. very difficult to get peace and quiet. they really need to address the barking dog issue.

Room Tip: close your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pigglypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Alexander's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

I am so very sorry to read that you were disturbed by barking dogs while staying at one of our vacation rentals. Having lived in that neighborhood myself, I too experienced that problem a few times a year. Alas, we had the same issue when we moved out to the country as well. There are sometimes packs of coyotes prowling around the foothills, and they set the dogs to barking. My only option to deal with this problem is to call Animal Control when the barking is happening, which is why we have my phone number posted for guests to call in case of any nighttime problems or disturbances. Animal Control would then come and make sure the dogs are put inside their respect homes, or are picked up and brought to the shelter. I am sorry I wasn't aware of this problem, as I could have called Animal Control right away. I wish there was a permanent solution to this intermittent problem, but thankfully, it is a rare occurrence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

From the incredible breakfast (granola -- yummy! I make it to give as Christmas presents) to the unfailingly helpful staff and great accommodations, Alexander's Inn was my favorite part of my stay in Santa Fe. We rented a casita and it was perfect. Actually got pizza delivered one night (from a place recommended by the fabulous staff) and hands down it was the best pizza I have ever had. If I ever head back to Santa Fe I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Loved, loved, loved our casita though the neighbors had dog that barked -- a lot and early in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldTraveler026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

My cousin recommended that we stay here - it was even better than he described!!!!!

We arrived in Santa Fe at about 1:00PM and checked in at Madeline Inn, where we had reserved a casita a few blocks away. Great location!! It was only a few blocks walk to the Plaza. We saw lots of cars being ticketed, so it was nice to be able to leave the car behind and walk everyplace.

The Inn is adorable and the staff very friendly. When we arrived, a staff member, gave us a tour of the spa and breakfast room (since the casita wouldn’t be available for 15 minutes or so). We snacked on peanuts and M&M’s and homemade cookies (large jars always out for guests).

There are books with menus of all the local restaurants. Their website also has a fantastic itinerary that you should read even if you choose not to stay here.

We found the casita easily. It is quaint. There is a good size bathroom and a small kitchen and sitting area with TV and fireplace on the first floor. The upstairs bedroom was large and had a very comfy king size bed. The casita was exactly as pictured on the website. This was great for us as we didn't have to go to bed at the same time, one of us could stay up and read while the other slept. We had hoped to cook a few meals, but there were so many fabulous restaurants that we instead choose to eat out.

Breakfast is included - it was a few blocks walk back to the inn - a nice walk and the food so worth it!! Day #1 - we had yogurt/fruit/granola and very yummy blue corn waffles. Day # 2- another fabulous breakfast, the special was Roasted Poblano Chiles with Quinoa and Chipotle Cream Sauce. Yummy!! I noticed that the recipes are on their website - I have made day #2's breakfast twice since we have been home.

We missed afternoon happy hour as we were either hiking or shopping but we heard from the other guests at breakfast that it was really great - you bring your own wine, the inn provides an appetizer and you get to meet other travelers.

We had massages in the couples room at the Nirvana Spa (which is part of the Inn). My massage was one of the best, if not the best I ever had in my life (even better than Canyon Ranch and we have been there 7 times).

One night we returned to the hotel to take showers and found that we had no towels. We didn't want to wait for them to be delivered, so I used a robe and John used a small hand towel. When we returned from dinner there was a nice note and bath towels left by the owner of the Madeline/Alexander Inn, Caroline Lee, apologizing that she wasn’t able to get the towels to us before dinner.

A few minutes later, she knocked on the door (it was still early, we went to dinner at 5PM) and handed us a gift of candles. She profusely apologized for the earlier mix up with the towels. After she left, we headed off to bed. To our horror, we found our bath towels from earlier that day hanging in the bedroom. I felt so bad!!! I did email when I got home to let them know so that the housekeeper wasn’t blamed. Caroline sent a very nice email in return.

My husband had a bit of altitude sickness while we were there - we didn't mention this to Caroline until our last evening - she indicated that she had something that he could have taken and next time we should let them know.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adnil1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Situated on a dirt road off Palace Ave., Alexander Inn is a quite oasis away from the bustle of the city, yet within a few blocks walking distance from the vibrant plaza. It sits in a large back yard of a home on Palace Ave. We have stayed there the past two years and look forward to returning. Cooper, our very large dog, is always welcome as well. He has the backyard to romp in . The casita is well stocked with all the amenities you need as well as modern conveniences like TV and wi-fi. However, my favorite part is sitting on the porch entwined with grape vines, cold drink in hand, reading a good book and enjoying the cool, clean air of Santa Fe. I would recomment Alexander Inn to anyone who wants an authentic southwest stay in my favorite place on the earth.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,612 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,404 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Inn

Address: 529 E Palace, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Santa Fe
Price Range: £57 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander's Inn has recently evolved from a Bed & Breakfast to a unique and much smaller operation. We cater to the guest who seeks more than a vacation rental yet prefers the autonomy and privacy not found at other inns. Our traditional Santa Fe casitas, featuring New Mexican furnishings and decor, full kitchens and patios, are perfectly suited for family vacations or romantic holidays. Member: The Green Hotels Association. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander's Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing