We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious iced genmaicha vs poor service?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tea House

Tea House
Ranked #1 of 39 Coffee & Tea in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Historic District
Description: Exceptional teas from China, India, Japan, Sri Lanka, and Santa Fe, where we create our own flavored teas. Serving Breakfast/Brunch, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. Fresh baked breads, scones, muffins, pastries, and cookies, including a gluten-free selection.
Texas
Level Contributor
719 reviews
514 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“Delicious iced genmaicha vs poor service?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Poor service wins. Unfortunately, after pondering for one hour, I came to the conclusion that the pathetic service did, indeed, spoil my experience at the Teahouse. We ended up getting our own water and menus. We watched other tables being served, we basically had to lasso the server to get one iced tea, we watched other tables being served again, we were told by one server that she is not our server and cannot help us, we asked for the check three times, we were gone.

Despite that experience, the tea selection is one of the best I have seen in the US and A and the genmaicha iced tea was prepared to perfection. Absolutely delicious. Outdoor setting is nice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank icanhazsweetsokthx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    124
    29
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Australia
Level Contributor
294 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“So much tea to choose from!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great sleepy little cafe at the end of Canyon Road.
Extensive tea & food menu.
Sat here all afternoon enjoying the atmosphere and a rather yum Chai.

Great little place and would love to come back

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
170 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Delicious food, nice setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I ate lunch here 1 day while visiting Santa Fe. Kim, our server, was very sweet and friendly. Made us feel very welcomed. We ate outside under the shade of a tree. I ordered the chicken pot pie with a polanta crust. Best chicken pot pie I ever had! This restaurant was very reasonably priced. Located near the end of Canyon Road where the art galleries stop. Would eat here again if passing through.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My new favorite - go, you'll probably want to go back if you can!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I understood that the Teahouse had recently changed hands, and happily the new hands make great food. Extensive gluten-free menu, but since that's not a concern for me, I had the scone...and then came back another day for more. Full-time pastry cook. Scone comes with clotted cream and lemon curd. There's a gluten free one too. BUT THE DINNER FOODS ARE GREAT. We do not know many places to get that quality food at that price. I had eggplant, which was not oily, and my mate had the stew. We would eat them again and again!! Extensive tea menu, of course. Prices make it a place you can afford weekly. And the setting on Canyon Rd is pleasant and very mellow. You can't usually eat this well for this price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adventurous4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
372 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Couldn't be any better!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a wonderful, relaxing place (under a tree or umbrella in a garden) to rest your feet, drink some exotic tea (iced or hot), have fastastic panini and salads, and finish with deserts. Their paninis were most creative; and I had the wonderful kimchi, bacon and cheddar cheese panini (a combination I would not have imaged). Their tiramisu was 'out of the world' good. Folks were great and service was terrific!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JPDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tea House also viewed

 

Been to Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing