We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
hacienda heights
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quaint Inn”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

There really isn't anything to complain about at this place except for the small bathroom. I'm of average height but I could see anyone tall and large having a problem. This is an older motel but very well maintained and clean. I really liked the Native American decor in the rooms. Really felt like you were in Santa Fe. Really easy to get around town without a car. Almost everything is within walking distance. Enjoyed a nite at the opera. Walked to one of the bigger hotels to catch the shuttle to the opera. Then was dropped off afterwards at the Inn. Didn't have to worry about walking the streets of Santa Fe at 11:00 at nite. Agree with other reviews about breakfast. We were there for 6 days and were weary of the same fare every morning. Although they did offer pancakes, waffles, etc. $25 credit at the Del Charro Saloon really helped defray eating out costs. Good burgers and such. Basically bar food. Seems like everything is doused with green chili so, if you're not a fan, tell your waiter to scale back on it. All in all, not a bad stay but if I do return I will try another hotel just for the experience.

Room Tip: Stayed in the main bulding, second floor. Much more convenient for breakfast. Also, the rooms are bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripper1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    472
    90
    24
    12
See reviews for
330
707
69
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Great Location
semi quick check in
Delicious Breakfast
Small Pool
Very Nice Staff
Small Parking Lot
Would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilldoberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We lucked out to find this hotel available for our one night stay. Wish we could have stayed longer. The front desk staff went beyond helpful.....we wanted to see the pianst, Doug Montgomery....they not only found out he was playing at Vanessi's, but gave us discount restaurant coupons for a place nearby. The sherry & tea hour at the Inn was well attended and we made friends w/several other guests. Our room was nicely refurbished (this is an older hotel) and well maintained. The discount (25.00) for lunch at their restaurant was a bonus....great margueritas and pulled pork sandwiches were our choice.

Room Tip: 2nd floor (top floor) corner room--very quiet....good view of Alameda Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obuoy4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn of the Governors. The room was excellent with some lovely touches in terms of decor and features. The location is ideal just a few minutes walk from the plaza and the inn has easy to access parking.
The staff were very helpful. The breakfasts had a good range of options and we also enjoyed some nice evening meals in Del Charro, the restuarant attached to the Inn. Our package included a $25 dollar voucher each night towards the cost of food at Del Charro, which made it excellent value.
We spent the mornings sight seeing in Sante Fe, then walked back to the hotel for relaxation by the pool and as well as the sherry hour in the afternoon. Sante Fe is a great place to visit and the Inn of the Governors is a really relaxing and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJBWorcester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Perfect location for Santa Fe. Stayed for two days and didn't drive a single time. The property is older but is in good general repair. The parking lot is small and spaces very tight. The only bad thing was the room air conditioner did not work very well. We complained after the first night and a maintenance guy was dispatched but no improvement.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbski4it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Inn of the Governors over the years. I have not been able to return to Santa Fe for 6 yrs., and I must say, it is still the same wonderful hotel in the heart of Santa Fe. The staff is so wonderful and helpful and the location truly is in the heart of Santa Fe, you are able to walk everywhere. A hint for anyone is going in the fall or winter, book a room with a fireplace, the piñon wood perfumes the air and room. I love this place......

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

From check in to check out everything was great. Comfortable room, refreshing pool, fun sherry hour, delicious pool side lunch and all less than a 5 minute stroll to the plaza. Why would you stay anywhere else. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel
Inn Of The Governors Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing