We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We were generally underwhelmed with Santa Fe. We overheard some people say that it was like Dsneyworld without the rides - true.

The hotels near the Plaza are all a little pricey for what they are. This is no exception. For over $200/night, our standard room was small. We were on a outside hallway (?old motel 6). The room was clean but had a odor. ? from outside wet and old carpet. The view fro the window was to the outside hallway with people walking by. Tiny bathroom.

Breakfast OK - small pool.Parking on site was helpful and location was just a couple of blocks from the Plaza.

Room Tip: Do not take room 218!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,626)
There are newer reviews for Inn of the Governors
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

The hotel was clean, decorated in New Mexico decor, breakfast provided, convenient to walking to all the Santa Fe Township attractions, galleries etc. Unfortunately at our arrival "Ken" the first person who greeted us made us feel like we were second class guests because we had booked via a third party and not via the Inn itself. Not a nice way to start a much anticipated holiday in a part of the world we had been wanting to travel in for many years.
We did explore the area and had a great holiday despite the sour taste we still have due to the curt, 'looking down the nose' greeting on arrival. We must say though that the wait staff at breakfast were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Thanks for that.

The room was noisy as it was on the far outside of the Inn, doors hard to close so constant bangings as guests closed their doors, street traffic especially trucks early in the mornings as they passed to get to their place of work no doubt ... was this our reward for booking with a third party? Don't the accommodation places request to be placed with the third party? Or am I wrong in thinking this?

The experience of New Mexico, Santa Fe and its surrounds was fabulous!!! Every one should come at least once!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

A lovely hotel situated within walking distance to site seeing, shopping and restaurants. We were fortunate to enjoy two nights in early March at the Inn. Our room, located on the second level had a charm of its own. Rustic furniture and decor, including a wood fireplace complimented our stay. The bed was a touch firm, however caused no problems for a good nights rest. A lovely front entry with sitting area allowed patrons to indulge in a complimentary glass of sherry in the late afternoon. The heated pool just outside the entry beckoned guests to enjoy a relaxing swim . The included buffet breakfast was delicious with a selection to please various tastes and needs. All staff at the hotel were so wonderful and kind, thanks Bee. Santa Fe is a beautiful city and wonderful place to enjoy, hope to visit soon again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Clean-well decorated.great hot breakfast and convenient location. Room was chilly but we were give a very small space heater that was adequate. Our room was noisy because of garbage pickup in early am,so ask for a quiet room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheranH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We have been to the Inn of the Governors many, many times. Every time we return it is like visiting an old friend. The place exudes southwestern charm. The staff are incredibly friendly and the rooms are very comfortable. We have never been there during cold weather but would like to try it sometime to give us an excuse to use the kiva fireplace in the room. Breakfast is included with the room and is as good as it gets. We have tried breakfasts at many of the better restaurants in town, but none compare with the breakfast at the Inn. For a quick snack or drink, del Charro is a great watering hole. Food and drinks are well prepared and the price is right. The best thing about the Inn is that you can park your car and not move it for days. There are so many things within easy walking distance that driving becomes unnecessary. For our tastes, Inn of the Governor is the perfect place to stay when visiting Santa Fe. (Try going during the Colonial Spanish Arts weekend. The town is packed, but the Inn is a peaceful retreat. Because of the location it is very easy to see all that the weekend event has to offer.)

Room Tip: Get a room with a walkout balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We have stayed here before, it is in the center of town, there is NO parking fee and the wi fi is fast. Beds are comfy, the staff is friendly and helpful. They have very little turn over so they recognize you from prior visits and greet you as an old friend. Their complementary breakfast rocks. The heated pool in the winter is a nice touch. Their bar serves these huge margaritas for $6.50 and they serve food until midnight. The Manager, Sam, is directly involved in daily operations and has a genuine knack for superior customer service. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank permachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We had to make same day reservations, due to changing plans, and the front desk staff were most accommodating. My husband is in a wheel chair, and previous hotel did not work for him.Hotel of the Governors had an accessible room available and let us check in immediately.
It was perfectly set up..king bed at a lower height, large bathroom with roll in shower, and lots of space in the room...plus large TV, Fridge, coffee maker( with real cream!)and microwave. Huge breakfast selection, and afternoon wine and cheese..nice touch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMRfsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
595 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,354 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#20 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,814 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £101 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel
Inn Of The Governors Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing