We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Rescue, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Inn of the Governors has comfy beds, super great breakfast with lots of choices and a fun bar.
The location is perfect to explore Santa Fe. Loved the new decor especially the wrilly-kigs in front.
There are greats shops and restraurants just across the street. It's also within walking distance to the train station.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    489
    96
    27
    13
See reviews for
355
733
70
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We returned to the Inn of the Governors last month - this was our fourth or fifth stay. The hotel has had a recent make-over and is more comfortable than ever.
We chose a superior king - plenty of room, quiet, well appointed.
The room has a fridge, coffee maker and plenty of storage space. Bathroom is large with an ample and comfortable shower.
One of the highlights is the breakfast - many choices, regular filling of offerings, substantial space for any size of guests. There's also a sherry and tea hour in the afternoon.
Staff is gracious, helpful to a fault.
It's well located, within a couple blocks of the plaza. Very reasonably priced - excellent value.
Only issues: (1) no in-room safe; (2) no recycling.
Overall, a 99/A+ rating.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an interior corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tejo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Spent five nights here and was very pleased. Although I had the smaller "traditional" room (#210, with an outside corridor) it was fine. Staff were very helpful, the breakfast was good and plentiful, and the location cannot be beat! One caveat is that my friend had a room right near West Alameda and there was some construction/traffic noise. So if that's a problem for you request one that's further away. Next time I'm in town I will definitely be back here!
p.s. Thanks to Ken for the great restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugene, OR
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Great location. We stayed in a suite with fireplace and balcony which was comfortable, large and charming. Heated outdoor pool was nice and enjoyed thoroughly by our kids. The bar has great margaritas and good food. The included breakfast was above average. Staff was accommodating and helpful with the exception of Bea who was rude, a real B in fact. Kenny was fantastic.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We were generally underwhelmed with Santa Fe. We overheard some people say that it was like Dsneyworld without the rides - true.

The hotels near the Plaza are all a little pricey for what they are. This is no exception. For over $200/night, our standard room was small. We were on a outside hallway (?old motel 6). The room was clean but had a odor. ? from outside wet and old carpet. The view fro the window was to the outside hallway with people walking by. Tiny bathroom.

Breakfast OK - small pool.Parking on site was helpful and location was just a couple of blocks from the Plaza.

Room Tip: Do not take room 218!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The hotel was clean, decorated in New Mexico decor, breakfast provided, convenient to walking to all the Santa Fe Township attractions, galleries etc. Unfortunately at our arrival "Ken" the first person who greeted us made us feel like we were second class guests because we had booked via a third party and not via the Inn itself. Not a nice way to start a much anticipated holiday in a part of the world we had been wanting to travel in for many years.
We did explore the area and had a great holiday despite the sour taste we still have due to the curt, 'looking down the nose' greeting on arrival. We must say though that the wait staff at breakfast were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Thanks for that.

The room was noisy as it was on the far outside of the Inn, doors hard to close so constant bangings as guests closed their doors, street traffic especially trucks early in the mornings as they passed to get to their place of work no doubt ... was this our reward for booking with a third party? Don't the accommodation places request to be placed with the third party? Or am I wrong in thinking this?

The experience of New Mexico, Santa Fe and its surrounds was fabulous!!! Every one should come at least once!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bragg Creek, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

A lovely hotel situated within walking distance to site seeing, shopping and restaurants. We were fortunate to enjoy two nights in early March at the Inn. Our room, located on the second level had a charm of its own. Rustic furniture and decor, including a wood fireplace complimented our stay. The bed was a touch firm, however caused no problems for a good nights rest. A lovely front entry with sitting area allowed patrons to indulge in a complimentary glass of sherry in the late afternoon. The heated pool just outside the entry beckoned guests to enjoy a relaxing swim . The included buffet breakfast was delicious with a selection to please various tastes and needs. All staff at the hotel were so wonderful and kind, thanks Bee. Santa Fe is a beautiful city and wonderful place to enjoy, hope to visit soon again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,299 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,248 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,803 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel
Inn Of The Governors Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing