We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax Station, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We loved it...”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I celebrated a birthday milestone by visiting Santa Fe for the first time. The "Inn of the Governors" was recommended by a couple we met this spring in Key West, Florida. Their advice was that the Inn of the Governors was the place to stay--we are very thankful that we listened to their great advice. All the right touches were expertly done throughout our 5-day stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Keith M, Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Inn and for giving us the opportunity to host your milestone birthday visit! We very much appreciate your comments and are so pleased to hear you were recommended to us by another guest. We hope to welcome you back to the Inn and Santa Fe very soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    472
    90
    24
    12
See reviews for
330
710
69
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My first trip to Santa Fe was a year and a half ago and I stayed at the Inn of the Governors. Since that time, I have visited Santa Fe, on business, four more times trying other four star hotels. My last trip, October 31st, I returned to the Inn of the Governors. I find it to be by far the best choice for lodging in Santa Fe. The rooms are quite, clean and spacious. The staff friendly and efficient. The breakfast excellent. The parking free. And the location is perfect.
The altitude is always a problem for me when I visit Santa Fe and the comfort of the Inn is a welcomed relief. I actually look forward to my next trip because of the accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Deborah R, Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a kind review of your last stay with us. We are pleased to know everything about your stay was so exemplary! Our staff takes great pride in trying to provide a kind, warm and welcoming atmosphere. We, too, look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend in Santa Fe, where we usually stay in much more expensive hotels. On our last visit, someone recommended the Inn of the Governors, so we thought we would try it. SO GLAD we did! Perfect location, just a couple blocks off the Plaza. Our room (220), while small, was charming. No details overlooked. Immaculately clean. The afternoon sherry and cookies in the lobby gave us a chance to meet interesting people from all over the country. The full breakfast was delicious, and the $15 nightly credit at Del Charro was an entree' to one of the liveliest local watering holes (terrific burgers.) Parking was wonderfully easy.
Everyone working there was welcoming and friendly. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nene55446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Nene55446, We are each so glad you had a marvelous stay! Room cleanliness and staff friendliness is one of most important goals. Thank you so much for taking the time to reflect back on your visit and posting such positive remarks! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Inn in the near future.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights recently. I would definitely stay here again and I want to bring my husband. If you're here in the cooler months, opt for one of the rooms with a kiva fireplace. I made a fire almost every night. Even if it's cold outside, you might want to bring a swimsuit, since the pool is heated to about 85 degrees! The breakfasts are wonderful, the common areas are cozy and there is a bar/restaurant attached for casual lunch or dinner. Great location near the plaza and various restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace in the cooler months--very cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Lynn, Thank you for taking the time to post a thoughtful and positive review. Our staff and myself are so appreciative to know you enjoyed your stay. Please do return with your husband to enjoy the many activities Santa Fe has to offer! We hope to welcome you back very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have stayed many times at the Inn of the Governors and have always found it to be
clean and comfortable. The decor is traditional Santa Fe (which we love) and the rooms
are spacious and the staff very welcoming and helpful. We recently stayed in room 261 which was
nice for a quiet location/view and had a nice balcony and kiva fireplace. We prefer the interior
rooms versus those that look out onto the parking lot. The sherry/hot tea and cinnamon cookies
in the afternoon is a nice touch as is the wonderful breakfast with lots of choices. Even the
Del Charro is a good value if you are too tired to venture out to eat. Location is great and you
can walk to everything. Parking is a plus and the use of the computers/printers was very
helpful to my husband since he had to work some on our last trip.
All in all, a great place at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Book a room in the main part of the hotel and ask for a view and a fireplace if the weather is cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pcham1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear pcham1951, Thank you for taking the time to comment on all the areas of your stay! We truly enjoy knowing your stays have been consistently good. We strive to provide that continuity for guests who return often as well as first time visitors. Room 261 is very popular amongst our guests. The balcony rooms are so nice for some outdoor relaxation. We are so pleased to have you as a repeat guest and look forward to hosting your future visits.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights recently. It was my second stay there. The location is convenient and the parking is free. The wifi went out for several days while I was there, but the front desk was able to print my critical emails for me. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CassieLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear CassieLA, We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your recent stay with us! My apologies that the internet service was less than perfect, although I'm glad the staff was able to assist you in getting what you needed. Please let me know if I can offer any assistance during a future stay. We hope to have you as our guest again very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
gm@innofthegovernors.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We made a great choice to stay in this hotel and I would do it again. The location was great, quiet but easy walking distance to restaurants, the Square, and museums. Breakfasts were wonderful and the restaurant was a great value. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Liked the sherry and cookies in the afternoon and the local artifacts throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Susan A, Thank you very much for sharing your comments. Our staff is very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and you will return! Our tea & sherry hour is a wonderful time each day to relax in the lobby and chat with other guests. We hope to see you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel
Inn Of The Governors Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing