We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay...As Always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn of the Governors

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay...As Always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Always love staying here. My family and I have been staying for over 30 years. It is located within a short walk of the Plaza and is priced very reasonably. The included breakfast each morning was outstanding! Highly recommend staying here!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Jim M, We truly appreciate your repeat patronage! It is our pleasure to host your stay these many years. So glad you enjoyed the complimentary daily breakfast buffet. Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review in this forum. We look forward to another visit from you and your family soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    462
    89
    24
    11
See reviews for
323
689
68
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Just a cozy little hotel in the heart of Santa Fe. Walking distance to the Plaza and shopping. Great staff. Has a charming bar with a patio area with heaters and fireplace. Great place to relax after a busy day. Most rooms have a wood burning fireplace and are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Gary S, Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a nice review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay, especially Del Charro. We do have several rooms with wood burning fireplaces. As you can imagine, they can be in high demand this time of year. So please be sure to inquire at the time of booking. We hope to host your stay again very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

As soon as we drove into Santa Fe i fell in love with the place. The Inn of the Governors was the perfect place to stay. The check in staff were very helpful and friendly to us as we turned up early. They were helpful in providing us with a map of the town (which is a very short walk) to explore and then let us check in a little early. The room was spacious and comfortable with a very New Mexico feel. We found it a very relaxing place to stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeeFirek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear LeeFirek, Thank you so much for taking the time to comment and review your recent visit. I am so pleased you found things to your liking and that our staff was able to assist by getting you checked in early. Our goal is always to go above and beyond.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The Inn of the Governors was the perfect base for an impromptu weekend of museum-hopping. Crisp fall weather, the scent of piñon burning fireplaces in select rooms, the tea and sherry hour, great margaritas and informal dining at the El Charro restaurant all came together. Our weekend getaway couldn't have been better!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgeGnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Georgegnm, We are so pleased to read your kind comments about your recent stay with us. I am glad to see that the amenities and atmosphere offered helped make your visit remarkable. We hope to see you again soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I celebrated a birthday milestone by visiting Santa Fe for the first time. The "Inn of the Governors" was recommended by a couple we met this spring in Key West, Florida. Their advice was that the Inn of the Governors was the place to stay--we are very thankful that we listened to their great advice. All the right touches were expertly done throughout our 5-day stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Keith M, Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Inn and for giving us the opportunity to host your milestone birthday visit! We very much appreciate your comments and are so pleased to hear you were recommended to us by another guest. We hope to welcome you back to the Inn and Santa Fe very soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My first trip to Santa Fe was a year and a half ago and I stayed at the Inn of the Governors. Since that time, I have visited Santa Fe, on business, four more times trying other four star hotels. My last trip, October 31st, I returned to the Inn of the Governors. I find it to be by far the best choice for lodging in Santa Fe. The rooms are quite, clean and spacious. The staff friendly and efficient. The breakfast excellent. The parking free. And the location is perfect.
The altitude is always a problem for me when I visit Santa Fe and the comfort of the Inn is a welcomed relief. I actually look forward to my next trip because of the accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Deborah R, Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a kind review of your last stay with us. We are pleased to know everything about your stay was so exemplary! Our staff takes great pride in trying to provide a kind, warm and welcoming atmosphere. We, too, look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend in Santa Fe, where we usually stay in much more expensive hotels. On our last visit, someone recommended the Inn of the Governors, so we thought we would try it. SO GLAD we did! Perfect location, just a couple blocks off the Plaza. Our room (220), while small, was charming. No details overlooked. Immaculately clean. The afternoon sherry and cookies in the lobby gave us a chance to meet interesting people from all over the country. The full breakfast was delicious, and the $15 nightly credit at Del Charro was an entree' to one of the liveliest local watering holes (terrific burgers.) Parking was wonderfully easy.
Everyone working there was welcoming and friendly. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nene55446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Nene55446, We are each so glad you had a marvelous stay! Room cleanliness and staff friendliness is one of most important goals. Thank you so much for taking the time to reflect back on your visit and posting such positive remarks! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Inn in the near future.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel
Inn Of The Governors Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing