We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient with lots of attention to the details that make a room comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We enjoyed a 3 day stay during February. I didn't think the price difference ($60 per day) to upgrade to a room with a fireplace was worth it. Our room did have authentic Southwestern decorative elements, comfortable chairs for reading, a large flat screen TV, table lamps on both sides of our king size bed (great for reading in bed), and a night light so that if you had to get up during the evening you wouldn't break a toe! There were two benches for use to conveniently position your luggage. The bed itself was comfortable with plenty of pillows but our room was too close to Alameda Street and the traffic noise was irritating. If they would weatherstrip the door it would be more energy efficient and quieter. Breakfast was really tasty with numerous choices. The scrambled eggs with chiles and onions/tomatoes were particularly good. We ate once at Del Charro but were disappointed that there weren't some good Southwestern choices included - would've loved a green chile cheeseburger. Their margaritas were excellent though. The easy walk around Santa Fe from here makes it a great choice- leave your car at the hotel and explore!

Room Tip: Stay as far from Alameda street as possible - noise interrupts your sleep if you are a light sleeper...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PassportTherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear PassportTherapy,

My sincere apologies that your room was not as quiet as you would've liked! I will ask our engineering department to have a look at the balcony doors for possible improvement.

It is nice to see that the room was comfortable and functional for your needs. We are happy you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and Del Charro's Margaritas.

Please let me know if I can offer any assistance during a future stay.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,626)
There are newer reviews for Inn of the Governors
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

There are fancier hotels in Santa Fe, but The Inn is beautifully located-just two blocks from the Plaza, and is clean, friendly, and a great deal, with a daily free hot breakfast and sherry hour. Many rooms have kiva fireplaces, which are cleaned and re-set daily. If you need more space the suites are large and handsome. The decor is traditional southwestern, and the Inn is well known for its abundant and colorful plantings.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Gwen B,

We are so pleased to count you as one of our repeat guests! Thank you for your continued patronage.

Thank you also for taking the time to post your comments about your stays with us. We, too, feel our decor can contribute to the overall enjoyment of Santa Fe visits.

It is great to know you are fond of the hot breakfast buffet and tea & sherry hour.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

From the minute we walked into the lobby we knew we had selected the right place. After traveling all day, starting off in a snow storm, we immediately felt relaxed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean and the decor reflects the area. We could walk everywhere from museums to great restaurants and shopping. Tea and sherry at 4 pm was so relaxing and a chance to meet others and share places to see. Cannot say enough about the excellent breakfast buffet. The restaurant next door was not only handy but very good. The only negative was having to leave. A great place for a getaway with friends or family.

Room Tip: No fitness center or spa.....cannot rate...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sebastian22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Sebastian22013,

Thank you for the lovely review!

We are so pleased you found us and enjoyed everything from the staff to the tea & sherry hour. We hope your travels bring you to Santa Fe again very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at the Inn of Governors over President’s Day weekend. It was a great visit and I would definitely return the next time I’m in Santa Fe.

We had a King Room with kiva fireplace (Room 222). The room was large, comfortable and super clean. The room was nicely decorated in a southwestern theme. The fireplace was great and they provide starter pack and wood (with more available just down the hall). It was so nice to have a fire before turning in each evening. The bathroom was a bit small but fully functional with great water pressure and toiletries. Housekeeping did a fine job.

The hotel offers a free breakfast that was easily one of the best hotel breakfasts I’ve every received. Eggs, meats (bacon, sausage and ham), potatoes, and waffles. In addition, there was fruit, breads, oatmeal and yogurt. They offered a sherry hour each evening in the lobby that offered three types of sherry and cookies. The server was knowledgable and very helpful. This was a nice touch.

Other amenities included free parking (a little tight but we didn’t have trouble getting a spot), free wifi, heated pool and a really nice bar/restaurant (Del Charro). Margs were big and a great deal at $6.50.

In addition to all of the above, the hotel’s location can’t be beat. Just a couple blocks to the Plaza, the State Capital, Palace of the Governors, St. Fransis and all of the other great sights to experience in Santa Fe.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay at the Inn of the Governors and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelRevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear TravelRevue,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a thoughtful review of your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. It is wonderful to know you enjoyed the room, breakfast and margaritas!

We agree that our location is perfect for seeing Santa Fe's sights.

I hope you plan to visit us again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We wanted a place where we could walk to the attractions, museums, etc., and this was perfect. We had the Goya Package, stayed in a Deluxe Room for five nights, were treated like royalty the entire time, and I totally understood why when I met the manager and later read about the employees stock in ownership. Buffet breakfasts were the same every day but always good; service was kind and attentive, and Del Charro, the onsite bar/grill was perfect for drinks before dinner or for dinner itself if you aren't looking for a feast. Locals frequent this place, and we totally understand why. A nice touch are the fireplaces in many of the rooms plus the cantina. Our room was kept spotlessly clean, the pool was hot and gorgeous mid-winter, and to top it off, we were served tea and sherry in the lobby 4-5 every day. Do NOT miss the house margaritas.........have one and you will know why!

Room Tip: Cannot imagine a bad one in this hotel...............
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Charlene A,

Thank you so much for the thoughtful review and recommendation. We are so pleased you were able to enjoy the Goya package and all the amenities the Inn has to offer.

We hope to see you again soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel twice last year, when traveling between Colorado and Arizona. It is a very welcoming place, especially when the weather is freezing outside. There are fireplaces inside keeping the lobby and cantina warm and cozy. We stayed in what they call a Superior room, which was comfortable, warm, and quiet. The decor is slightly on the rustic side, which seems common in Santa Fe, but quite nice nonetheless.
The cantina downstairs was very convenient, as you could get food without braving the cold. If you book direct with the hotel, you can get a $15/night food credit in addition to the free breakfast. If you're okay with casual meals, it was nice, and the food was good. There are numerous fancier places to eat nearby, if that's what you're looking for.
The hotel is in a part of town that is fun to wander around in. The staff was very welcoming and attentive to our needs. We're going back again next week.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Strider2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Strider2357,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Inn.

It's nice to know you were able to utilize the $15 food credit in Del Charro. It is a fun spot that can be easily enjoyed without breaking the bank.

I hope your second stay with us was as pleasant as the first.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Back at the inn for a leisurely weekend! This is a charming, beautiful hotel on the historic plaza. Gorgeous rooms with kiva fireplace, amazing location walking distance from attractions and restaurants. Delicious very rich breakfast buffet included in the room price. Cookies and sherry at 4 pm.... Love it! Enjoy!

Room Tip: The governors wing has the best rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Atllasoftheworld123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Professor Idriss,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We very much appreciate your repeat business! Guests such as yourself who return year after year help us to create that comfortable, family environment we strive for.

Hope to see you again very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
595 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,353 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#20 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,813 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £101 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel
Inn Of The Governors Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing