We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely satisfied. First visit to Santa Fe's Old Town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extremely satisfied. First visit to Santa Fe's Old Town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Right in the heart of old town. Hotel is very conveniently located, has comfy and charming rooms, a good bar, a warm pool, varied and tasty breakfast and professional staff.
If we return to S Fe, we're staying there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Greg S,

It is a pleasure to know that your first visit to downtown Santa Fe was so satisfying.

We love knowing the rooms were comfortable, the staff professional and that you enjoyed Del Charro.

Thank you very much for your wholehearted endorsement and we look forward to your return.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    928
    468
    89
    24
    11
See reviews for
327
695
69
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
149 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is walking distance to everything in old city so if you don't want to drive, this is the place to stay. The rooms are quite large and have southwestern decor. Breakfast was included and is a standard buffet. We also had a $15 voucher to use each day and the restaurant on site is fairly good. If you have the $ to use, why not?! The place overall seems a bit dated and one would hope a renovation is on the horizon for this property. Service was fine. Nothing spectacular, nothing horrible, just an average property with a good location.

Room Tip: We had a balcony that just faced the parking lot. Not worth to pay more for this "amenity."...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avaya109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Globetrottertoday,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. We appreciated the feedback.

I am pleased to know you thought our location was convenient and walking distance to many sights.

My apologies that our service and overall ambiance did not reach it's goal. We are in initial stages of renovation planning. Hopefully, our future enhancements will make a positive impact.

If your travels bring you back to Santa Fe, we hope you stay with us again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesilla, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

As residents of southern New Mexico, we frequently visit Santa Fe and almost always stay at the Inn of the Governors. Comfortable rooms with free parking-walking distance to the plaza and Railyard Area; a full hot breakfast- the best anywhere; AND a credit to spend at the attached Del Charo restaurant/bar make each stay a bargain as well. The staff are always friendly and helpful and Krissie, bar tender extraordinaire, makes the best Cosmo on the planet.

Room Tip: Main building has a little more charm, fireplaces, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Sally W,

Thank you for your continued patronage of the Inn! We truly value our repeat guests and feel like you are part of the family.

It is such a pleasure to see Krissy mentioned for her cosmo. She is a great asset in Del Charro.

We look forward to hosting your future visits.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I just returned from a pleasant week-long stay at the Inn of the Governors. We opted for a 'traditional' room with a king size bed. Although the room was somewhat smaller than we are used to, it was adequate for our needs. It was tastefully decorated in traditional Santa Fe style, and was comfortable and very clean.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and we regularly enjoyed the sherry social hour hosted by the manager each evening in the very comfortable lobby. The breakfasts, included in the price of the room, were absolutely amazing! Each morning we were greeted with a fabulous buffet of delicious breakfast foods, including eggs, bacon, ham, sausage, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, assorted breads, the freshest pastries, and always another surprise or two (pancakes, waffles, etc.). Everything was so delicious! This is truly the best complimentary breakfast we've ever enjoyed at a hotel. We also appreciated the lovely, warm fires, blazing in the kiva fireplaces, in the breakfast rooms on cool mornings.

The location of this hotel cannot be beat for convenience. It sits in the heart of beautiful, charming Old Town Santa Fe, just a few short blocks from the Plaza, within easy walking distance to countless restaurants, art galleries, museums and shops. There are other perks that make this place a great deal - like the free parking, which is a rarity in the downtown area of Santa Fe. As we discovered on previous trips to Santa Fe, those parking fees can really add up. It was so wonderful to not have to worry about that this time.

We've stayed at five different places in previous trips to Santa Fe and, when we factor in price, convenience, value for the dollar, service, location, and miscellaneous perks, this hotel ranks at the top. We will definitely stay here again. Next time we might even opt for a deluxe room with a fireplace!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenoWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Renowriter,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review.

We are so pleased that the amenities we offer, atmosphere, staff and location resonated so deeply.

I encourage you to try the Deluxe fireplace rooms. These rooms are wonderful option year round, but can be a nice value in spring and late fall.

Of the 5 hotels you've visited in Santa Fe I am personally thrilled and grateful the Inn is at the top of the list.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here 2 nights on a New Mexico road trip in early April, with my mom. The Inn remains classy and attractive. Biscochitos in the lobby at 5 were delicious, the breakfast options were varied and appealing. The room was very nice, and the punched tin accessories made me want to go shopping. Luckily the artisan who makes them has a shop across the street! I love the green doors with blue trim, and would want to stay here again. Location was perfect for walking to the Plaza, as well as to the Railyard area for dinner and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Holly W,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughtful review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback.

I'm so glad you mention Fred at Santa Fe tinworks. He does do wonderful work!

It is a pleasure to provide the complimentary breakfast and the tea, Sherry and cookie hour. We hope you can come back to enjoy them again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
352 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a most enjoyable five days at the Inn of the Governors in Santa Fe. Our room was comfortable and the staff was particularly friendly & helpful, notably at the front desk Arielle and Alberto. We chose not to have a car in that most attractions are within walking distance, so parking was never an issue. There is a free shuttle around the town.

Room Tip: We asked and received a room on the"quiet side", i.e. not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear markmd,

I am so pleased to read that your stay was "most enjoyable". Thank you for sharing your experience.

Our staff is truly the backbone of the Inn and I genuinely appreciate you recognizing Arielle and Alberto by name.

I hope to see you back with us again the next time you travel to Santa Fe.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
169 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My friend and I arrived around noon and had no delays in getting into our room. Parking is at a premium, although the Inn is in the perfect location and we didn't move the car until we checked out two days later! The Inn offers a breakfast buffet which is hot, delicious and plentiful and included in the room price. They also offered us $15 per day at Del Charro, their diner. Food there was also delicious with large portions for a very reasonable price. Both of us had lunch and we were still under our allotment each day. They had vendors in the lobby (a nice touch for the shoppers) and they offered teriffic restaurant choices for our dinner meals. Service was very helpful, room was clean and well appointed. We did not see the housekeeping staff but when we arrived after breakfast our room had been freshened up. They offer you a "full service" or a "partial service" which allows them to conserve their valuable water by not changing out the sheets and towels daily. We were a little concerned when we saw earplugs in a container on the vanity, but we did not need them! They thought of everything and we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maruruss99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Maruruss90,

Thank you for taking time out to post such a thoughtful and thorough review of your stay at the Inn.

We are pleased to know that our service, the room and the location was perfect! It is wonderful to read that all our amenities and thoughtful staff add up to a great stay.

We hope to host you again on your next visit!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel
Inn Of The Governors Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing