We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn of the Governors
Nearby Hotels
Inn on the Alameda(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel St. Francis(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Inn and Spa at Loretto(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Old Santa Fe Inn(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Eldorado Hotel & Spa(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$234
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,747)
Filter reviews
1,747 results
Traveller rating
1,083
522
101
25
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,083
522
101
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdel charrofree parkingafternoon sherrycookiesfree sherrydaily credittea hourflower boxesbreakfast buffetkiva fireplaceheated poolmini suitewithin walking distancetwo blocksparking lotsouthwestern decorcharming hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
805 - 810 of 1,747 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Inn of the Governors for five nights in April. This was our first visit to Santa Fe and we booked the hotel based on reviews. We were not disappointed. We stayed in a comfortable queen room in the main building.After nine hours of travelling, we arrived around 11 a.m. and we checked in without any delays.The delicious breakfast is included in the room rate and this is a great value. In addition, the hotel restaurant, the Del Charro was quite convenient and the food was reasonably priced. We ate there several times. Another convenience is that the Inn of the Governors is a pick-up location for the Custom Tours by Clarice trolley tour.

All of the staff were pleasant and helpful. We are looking forward to staying at the Inn of the Governors when we return to Santa Fe in a few months.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcb7th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear hcb7th,

We are so pleased you and your daughter had a wonderful stay. We very much appreciate you taking the time to review your stay.

We, too, feel that Clarice's tram tour is perfect. They pick up at the Inn four times daily during the summer months. Since the cost is so reasonable, it's a great way to see the sights easily.

We look forward to seeing you again on your upcoming trip.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We are frequent guests at this hotel and find it to be one of the best deals if you want to explore old Santa Fe. Indeed, it is not to be compared with other more "upscale hotels" in town though we have stayed at some of those and find the Inn friendlier, more comfortable and appealing than hotels twice the price. We love the complimentary sherry and cookie hour every afternoon. If you are looking for a meal the El Charro restaurant is really very good. The daily $15 voucher is a good deal as most meals are modestly priced. It is also a family oriented facility. We really enjoy this hotel. The staff are friendly and anxious to please. I became ill while staying one year and they comped us a room for an extra night so I could recuperate. What hotel does that!! It is close to all the sites in old town and a concierge is available to help you plan events or find that special restaurant to heighten your southwest experience. Lastly, we have been staying at the Inn twice a year for about 10 years. Need I say more?

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms in the main part of the hotel have fireplaces, for those romantically inclined.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schaeffer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Schaeffer O,

Thank you for taking the time to review your December stay with us.

One of the best things about my job is having a staff that consistently takes good care of our guests. It is wonderful to know that they were so helpful in assisting you in your time of need.

Our repeat guests really do feel like family and we are so glad to count you among them!

We hope to see you again very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Right in the heart of old town. Hotel is very conveniently located, has comfy and charming rooms, a good bar, a warm pool, varied and tasty breakfast and professional staff.
If we return to S Fe, we're staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Greg S,

It is a pleasure to know that your first visit to downtown Santa Fe was so satisfying.

We love knowing the rooms were comfortable, the staff professional and that you enjoyed Del Charro.

Thank you very much for your wholehearted endorsement and we look forward to your return.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is walking distance to everything in old city so if you don't want to drive, this is the place to stay. The rooms are quite large and have southwestern decor. Breakfast was included and is a standard buffet. We also had a $15 voucher to use each day and the restaurant on site is fairly good. If you have the $ to use, why not?! The place overall seems a bit dated and one would hope a renovation is on the horizon for this property. Service was fine. Nothing spectacular, nothing horrible, just an average property with a good location.

Room Tip: We had a balcony that just faced the parking lot. Not worth to pay more for this "amenity."
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avaya109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Globetrottertoday,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. We appreciated the feedback.

I am pleased to know you thought our location was convenient and walking distance to many sights.

My apologies that our service and overall ambiance did not reach it's goal. We are in initial stages of renovation planning. Hopefully, our future enhancements will make a positive impact.

If your travels bring you back to Santa Fe, we hope you stay with us again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

As residents of southern New Mexico, we frequently visit Santa Fe and almost always stay at the Inn of the Governors. Comfortable rooms with free parking-walking distance to the plaza and Railyard Area; a full hot breakfast- the best anywhere; AND a credit to spend at the attached Del Charo restaurant/bar make each stay a bargain as well. The staff are always friendly and helpful and Krissie, bar tender extraordinaire, makes the best Cosmo on the planet.

Room Tip: Main building has a little more charm, fireplaces, etc.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Sally W,

Thank you for your continued patronage of the Inn! We truly value our repeat guests and feel like you are part of the family.

It is such a pleasure to see Krissy mentioned for her cosmo. She is a great asset in Del Charro.

We look forward to hosting your future visits.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews