We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed 3 nights at the Inn of the Governors in May 2014. I called to make the reservation and after stating that I had stayed there before, they offered me a free upgrade. I experienced personalized service while there and enjoyed their restaurant, Del Charro. The free breakfast buffet was extensive. The location is perfect; walking distance to everywhere including the Railyard. Free parking.
The only drawback was that my room was apparently right above the outdoor smoking area. Rooms facing the street can be noisy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acepelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Acepelli,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay with us.

I am pleased we were able to upgrade your room and that you received personalized service. We are also very appreciative of your mention of the complimentary parking and the breakfast buffet.

My apologies that there were people smoking below your room. That certainly makes it difficult to enjoy the fresh air. I will ensure that appropriate steps are taken to rectify that.

We hope to see you again on future visits to Santa Fe.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,625)
There are newer reviews for Inn of the Governors
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a truly lovely experience we had at the Inn of the Governors! The room was clean and spacious with a lovely fireplace! The staff was very friendly and nice and the breakfast was absolutlely incredible! At 4:00 they serve tea, sherry and the "State Cookie" Biscochito's. Thank you for a truly marvelous experience! We will most certainly come back and stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and fireplace.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear jacygem,

Thank you for your "fantastic" review. We take great pride hearing that everything was lovely.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your room, the breakfast and the biscochitos!

Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We assayed there for 2 nights, May 23 and 24. We were in 232 and the accommodations a were OK. Our view was the parking lot which wasn't ideal, but the room itself was comfortable. The free buffet breakfast was average. Service was slow and the pastries weren't too fresh. The bacon was good, but I just love bacon. It was conveniently located. We try different hotels each time we come to Santa Fe, but this one is good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mldotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Mldotr,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay with us.

While I'm glad you enjoyed the bacon, I am disappointed the pastries and service were lacking. We will definitely use your comments to improve our offerings.

Unfortunately, due to our downtown location and 2 story building, the complimentary parking area as well as other downtown buildings are view able from some of our rooms.

We hope to host another visit for you in your future travels to Santa Fe.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one night in March because we were driving through NM. It is right in the heart of everything. The hotel is lovely and has a restaurant inside of the hotel. The lobby was lovely and they have daily tea and sherry for the guests at 4 p.m. The room was an adequate size and the beds were okay (not too lumpy but not super comfy either). However, we loved that the room had a fireplace in it and there was a tall wood stack by the elevator. Another plus of the rooms was that the window opened and you could look out over the pool which was so refreshing. Best part was the outdoor heated pool. So even though it was a cold night, we could enjoy the pool. Imagine our surprise when it started to snow as we swam in the pool. It made for an unforgettable night for me and my family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the pool and during the winter ask for a room with a fireplace.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear malleman,

How perfect that you were able to enjoy an evening swim in the outdoor, heated pool! The snow falling does make for a magical event.

We are so happy you loved the room you stayed in and were able to make use of the extra firewood located close by.

Your comments and feedback are very much appreciated!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Husband & I stayed 4 days in Santa Fe. The real experience is to stay within the plaza of all the shops,museums, history sights, and great restaurants. Inn a Governers is located walking to all; have their own parking lot, no additional fees or valet to tip, fabulous breakfast included,pool, daily at 4pm, sherry, tea, & cookies. Guests sit arond meeting each other at this time and discuss where everyone comes from, etc. Fair pricing, rooms are the Santa Fe flavor in decor, very comfortable, & clean. We had a small adobe fire place in room, and what fun to make a fire and enjoy a glass wine. I will remember this hotel always for a pleasant experience. I highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Balcony, facing side of hotel most are fine
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 59traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear 59 traveler2,

We are so pleased you and your husband were able to enjoy a lengthy stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your recommendation.

It's a pleasure to know you had a lovely time during tea & sherry. It is a wonderful time to converse with other guests and perhaps find something new to see.

We hope you are able to return to Santa Fe soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Inn of the Governors for five nights in April. This was our first visit to Santa Fe and we booked the hotel based on reviews. We were not disappointed. We stayed in a comfortable queen room in the main building.After nine hours of travelling, we arrived around 11 a.m. and we checked in without any delays.The delicious breakfast is included in the room rate and this is a great value. In addition, the hotel restaurant, the Del Charro was quite convenient and the food was reasonably priced. We ate there several times. Another convenience is that the Inn of the Governors is a pick-up location for the Custom Tours by Clarice trolley tour.

All of the staff were pleasant and helpful. We are looking forward to staying at the Inn of the Governors when we return to Santa Fe in a few months.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcb7th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear hcb7th,

We are so pleased you and your daughter had a wonderful stay. We very much appreciate you taking the time to review your stay.

We, too, feel that Clarice's tram tour is perfect. They pick up at the Inn four times daily during the summer months. Since the cost is so reasonable, it's a great way to see the sights easily.

We look forward to seeing you again on your upcoming trip.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We are frequent guests at this hotel and find it to be one of the best deals if you want to explore old Santa Fe. Indeed, it is not to be compared with other more "upscale hotels" in town though we have stayed at some of those and find the Inn friendlier, more comfortable and appealing than hotels twice the price. We love the complimentary sherry and cookie hour every afternoon. If you are looking for a meal the El Charro restaurant is really very good. The daily $15 voucher is a good deal as most meals are modestly priced. It is also a family oriented facility. We really enjoy this hotel. The staff are friendly and anxious to please. I became ill while staying one year and they comped us a room for an extra night so I could recuperate. What hotel does that!! It is close to all the sites in old town and a concierge is available to help you plan events or find that special restaurant to heighten your southwest experience. Lastly, we have been staying at the Inn twice a year for about 10 years. Need I say more?

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms in the main part of the hotel have fireplaces, for those romantically inclined.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schaeffer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Schaeffer O,

Thank you for taking the time to review your December stay with us.

One of the best things about my job is having a staff that consistently takes good care of our guests. It is wonderful to know that they were so helpful in assisting you in your time of need.

Our repeat guests really do feel like family and we are so glad to count you among them!

We hope to see you again very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
593 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,354 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#20 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,812 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £100 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel
Inn Of The Governors Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing