We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence within walking distance of Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently staid here for three nights and our stay was wonderful from walking in the front door to our breakfast the next morning. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with all of our needs as to restaurants and directions and what to see in this lovely town. The breakfast they serve is the best so far of any hotel we have ever staid in for it is a full course meal that is served and is complimentary. They also serve sherry and snacks in the afternoon. The hotel room was clean and quite in the evening which made for a wonderful night of sleep and rest. There are fantastic restaurants that are within a short walking distance so leave your car parked when you get there.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear PeterB,

Thank you for sharing such a positive, all-encompassing review of your recent stay.

We are so pleased to have had the opportunity to host your visit to the City Different.

Looking forward to see you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Wonderful hotel in walking distance to downtown Santa Fe with all the amenities one could want. Charmingly decorated in the old-world Santa Fe style, clean and comfortable room with free wi-fi, close to town, restaurant with complete breakfast, tea time yummies, bar and dinner restaurant next door, pool and reasonable pricing. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Ruth H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are so pleased you were able to enjoy all of our amenities and our convenient location.

We genuinely appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you back again very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This place is so cool. Really if you want some Santa Fe charm without the razzmatazz then check out the Inn of the Governors. I almost don't want to write such a good review because I don't want to destroy the cool factor.
The awesome extra is the del charro dining . If you crave Northern New Mexico cuisine at a reasonable price in a casual setting with mostly locals then this place is for you? The Poole is to die for and the quesedeas with the extra little bowl of red. wow!!
Great rooms, friendly staff, free parking and wifi all in the center of Santa Fe. This is da place!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite with a balcony. Take a day to drive up Santa Fe Baldy. Kick back and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaCosette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear CaliforniaCosette,

Thank you for such a flattering review!

We are so pleased you discovered the local's secret - Del Charro. A fun atmosphere with good food at low prices.

It's delightful to know you enjoyed your room and were able to take the beautiful drive up the mountain.

I hope to welcome you back to the Inn very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed while in Santa Fe on a business trip. Its been several years since I stayed at the Inn (always booked up when I would visit). The staff at check inwas fast and courteous. They provided information on local resturants and shopping.

Room was clean and comfortable. WiFi connection was strong. Parking is cramped if you have a larger vehicle.

At checkout staff was to busy on personal calls to be of much help. Hopefully this isn't the nirm.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank TheAverageTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear TheAverageTraveler,

We very much appreciate the comments and feedback you've shared regarding your recent stay. My sincerest apologies that the checkout staff was less than helpful. I can assure you that this is not the norm and that we have discussed your comments with our personnel.

It's nice to know that you were able to return to stay with us after several years. While its great that we are sometimes full, we lament that there's not always enough room for everyone.

Thank you for commenting that the room was comfortable and clean and the wi-fi strong.

Our staff and myself hope to see you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My sister and I stayed two nights at the Inn of the Governors during May, we were thrilled at the location which is very near the centre of town and close to several good restaurants. We were a bit dubious about the room which despite nice modern decor seemed very dark and close to the car park however our fears were not realised. The room was quiet and we enjoyed a good nights sleep.

The breakfast buffet was extensive and the service was friendly and helpful. We particularly liked the free tea, sherry and home made biscuits available in the afternoon.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for good value and thoughtful touches for the guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cordelia2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear cordelia2512,

It is such a pleasure to read your thoughtful review. Thank you!

It is wonderful to know your fears were not realized and that you and your sister enjoyed a good night's sleep. We also appreciate your nice comments about our complimentary buffet breakfast and tea & sherry hour.

We do hope your travels bring you back to Santa Fe and when they do, you will stay with us again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Front desk staff friendly .Free parking. Fun southwestern decor in rooms. Rooms clean and spacey. Breakfast had a nice variety and yummy. Breakfast staff pleasant. Pool looked inviting but did not use it. Enjoyed that there was a local artist in the lobby. We did the easy walk to the plaza to eat and shop. So great location

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnut00750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear travelnut00750,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am so glad to know that our staff was friendly and pleasant, the breakfast was yummy and the rooms clean and comfortable.

We look forward to the chance to welcome you back again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. The standard rooms were comfortable and quiet, though a bit like staying at a motel - many of these rooms are directly off of the parking lot. Tasty free breakfast each morning, and the sherry and cookies at 4pm was also nice. Friendly service here and in the attached bar. Free wireless worked fine. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear JimBCalgary,

Thank you for sharing the experience you had during your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your comments.

I am pleased to know the staff was friendly, the wireless worked well and the breakfast was tasty! While we do have some rooms that are a few steps above the parking area, we do offer a variety of rooms in other locations. Many with wood burning fireplaces.

We hope you can enjoy one of those rooms on your next visit.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 62 in Santa Fe
2,528 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 62 in Santa Fe
708 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 62 in Santa Fe
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#14 of 62 in Santa Fe
1,717 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £99 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel
Inn Of The Governors Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing