We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, Charm, and a Friendly Staff in the Heart of Santa Fe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2014

When one pulls into the driveway of the Inn of the Governors in Santa Fe, one's first impression is that this is just a glorified motel, and the lobby too looks simple enough. However, the very warm, friendly reception from the parking attendant to personnel at the front desk, and indeed from everyone on the staff, quickly dispels the notion that this is just a motel. And the rooms -- at least those in the Governor's Wing (one of the three buildings of the complex -- also dispel the initial impression upon entering the parking lot. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and attractively decorated in the Southwestern style and had a working kiva fireplace with plenty of wood and kindling for the cool nights. The room, like apparently all the others in this building, had a small balcony with table and chairs. Since the Governors Wing is at the back of the complex and is not along Alameda Street, a main artery with a lot of traffic, it is very quite and peaceful. The hotel a very nice, albeit small swimming pool in walled garden. Our package, included a plentiful breakfast buffet in the covered garden of the El Charro Bar and Restaurant belonging to the hotel. We never ate dinner there, but could not help but notice that it was filled with crowds of people clearly enjoying themselves every night.

One of the great plusses of the Inn of the Governors is its central location in the heart of Santa Fe. It is just a few minutes walk from the Plaza, the Cathedral, and most of the finest shops, restaurants, nights spots, and cultural offerings in the city. It is also in walking distance from Canyon Road and most of the major art galleries.

We have stayed in both elegant hotels and more modest accommodations on previous visits to Santa Fe, but nowhere else were we made to feel as welcome as we were here. And to top it all off, the price was extremely reasonable, and indeed considerably less than a number of the nearby hotels.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room in the Governors Wing which is off the main street and appears to be the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noamahser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear noamahser,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a thoughtful review.

What strikes me most is your mention of how welcomed you felt by the staff. Although your other comments are also wonderful to see, without a great staff we just aren't doing our job.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Well, it's the location. Easy to walk pretty much anywhere, but you know, I liked this place. The staff were great, the room 'roomy' and comfortable, the common parts clean and well furnished, the IT kit in the foyer actually worked so I could print my boarding pass, it's a good hotel. Can't say I was that taken by the restaurant which was noisy to say the least but the food it served was good, if basic. Breakfast OK too. If I were in Santa Fe again, I'd choose to room here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Evan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Evan J,

It's a pleasure to know we were able to provide a little southwestern hospitality.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the staff, the room, the location and the food.

We do hope you are able to visit the Inn and Santa Fe again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Even though a friend had recommended another hotel we chose this for it's location and the fact that it had a restaurant/bar attached!! That really was a wonderful bonus for us--having a late night drink in the bar before heading up to our room! Friendly staff and good breakfast was a plus!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank racecar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear racecar53,

We are delighted to know you had a great stay and that you are happy you chose to stay with us rather than another recommended hotel.

It is also great to know you enjoyed a late night drink in Del Charro, our complimentary buffet breakfast and found the staff friendly.

Thanks for sharing!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

As other reviews say, the location can't be best - it's convenient to all especially if you want to walk around the area vs driving. Rooms are average - nothing special, but comfortable. Candidly at first I was disappointed but the beds turned out to be fine and the rooms were clean - what more do you really need? The in house bar is a great option especially since lots of Santa Fe closes down early.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitschy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear kitschy,

Thank you for sharing your experiences.

We are pleased you found the rooms comfortable and clean, enjoyed Del Charro and our location.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Honestly cannot fault this Hotel - amazing location close to Plaza yet quiet, free parking ,friendly ambiance and great bar .
We had a huge room with living area and a dinky balcony.
Breakfast buffet was adequate and plentiful.
Owners have added character to what was originally a basic motel.
Certainly be my first choice in Santa Fe

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear P H,

We are grateful for your endorsement!

It is wonderful to know you enjoyed our location, buffet breakfast and character.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The location is great, a walking distance from the history plaza, breakfast is included (nothing out of the ordinary), staff was helpful and pleasant... They just have small rooms and they are not too fancy.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sarai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Sarai K,

Thank you for your recent review of the Inn.

While I'm sorry our complimentary buffet breakfast didn't wow you, I'm pleased you enjoyed our location and found the staff pleasant and helpful.

I hope you will visit us again in the future.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed here for 1 night visiting friends in Santa Fe. The hotel was immaculately maintained and in an interesting local style. The staff were extremely helpful when my rental car didn't start the next morning and let me back in to my bedroom even though I had checked out. They even waived the cost of some phone calls I had to make.

Room Tip: If you don't want any noise at all ask for a room not overlooking the pool. I wasn't bothere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JamesGlover64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear JamesGlover64,

Thank you very much for your review of the Inn of the Governors.

I am thrilled to know our staff was extremely helpful during your car mishap.

We hope you can return again soon and stay longer.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
622 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,403 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £102 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel
Inn Of The Governors Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing