We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Better than Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“No Better than Average”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The Lamplighter was OK, but not wonderful by any means. It’s 4-5 miles off of I-25, so the location’s not great for getting on/off the road quickly. The buildings were showing their age, but they seemed pretty well-maintained. Overall, I’m not sure why this motel comes up so high in the Tripadvisor ratings.

Upon arrival, I checked in at the front desk. Service was brisk but by no means friendly. I was told that the kitchenette room we’d reserved was located in the building across the street, which came as a surprise. This building was clearly not a part of the original motel, and there was that no way one could have guessed, from outward appearance, that it was a part of the motel now.

The room was good-sized and clean, with lots of storage space and plenty of decent towels. There were two queen beds as well as a sofa. (Not sure if that was a sleeper.) There was a very dated kitchenette, with metal cabinetry, a four-burner stove and an oven. The fridge was of a decent size, but there was a ton of frost on the freezer part, to the point that you couldn’t even open the door to it. The microwave was the tiniest I’ve ever seen, and quite underpowered. There was also a typical hotel-room coffee-maker.

We needed internet access, but the wi-fi was horribly slow. As an example of the speed, my iPad had 7 apps that needed updating; in the space of about two hours, it got less than halfway through those updates. Later on, at a McDonald’s, the update completed in a couple of minutes. So, if you are an avid internet user, this place probably isn’t for you.

The other issue I had with the kitchenette room was that it had paper-thin walls. (I have no idea what the rest of the motel rooms, off across the street, were like.) There was a caterwauling kid in the room next door; her parents had apparently not acquainted her with the term “inside voice.” Or even the simple command “stop shouting.” But even if she had used her inside voice, I think we’d have heard every word.

In the morning, I checked out the breakfast room. It was quite a jaunt, as I had to cross the street and then negotiate a surprisingly complicated maze. It was well sign-posted, but I wish I’d dropped breadcrumbs, as the route back was, naturally, not sign-posted. (In my defense, I couldn’t drop breadcrumbs on the way there, having not yet found the breakfast room.) Anyway, there was a reasonably good selection of food (weird thin bagels, English muffins, mini-muffins, hot and cold cereal, coffee, juices, and some fresh fruit), but not much in the way of protein, apart from cream cheese.

There was a rec room with a ping-pong table, a PC with an Ethernet connection, and an elliptical exercise machine. There was also an “indoor” pool (I say “indoor” because it was in a structure that resembled a greenhouse more than a building). We did not happen to use it. (Didn't even find it until the next morning, since we were over in the Weirdsville building across the street.)

Note: I did like that they provided a recycling bin in the room; this was the only motel I’ve stayed in that had one.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yobabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    150
    68
    20
    20
See reviews for
123
130
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is an older motel with some connecting rooms.We are small people but the room had hardly any room around the bed.Bed only had 2 super small pillows.got more from the front desk.Luckily we were gone most days.The small fridge & small coffee pot were most appreciated.The breakfast was adequate but the very same every day we were there..I did enjoy the pool.Currently the road is under construction to the south.This is a main road,many choices of hotels on it.
For what we paid I guess we can't complain.Don't really understand the glowing reviews unless they had different rooms.There is a grocery store to the north & a Walmart to the south.Loved the Sante Fe farmers market on Sat. morning

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunflowergals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here for my daughter's graduation present. We live in Las Vegas, NV and visit Santa Fe at least once a year. We have 5 people in our family and have a hard time finding somewhere reasonable that can accomodate all of us. We booked on-line a suite with a small kitchenette. It had 2 rooms and 4 Beds ! Yeah !! The property is beautiful and has a pool and game room. The front desk clerk was very nice and everything was clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Stayed here based on the positive reviews. What a nice place, Rooms were clean, pool area was really nice, and the free breakfast was about the best I've had at a hotel. Would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marty6080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Very friendly & well-informed receptionist who kew which was the best restaurant and micro-brew - 'The Brewery Company' !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tonyeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Let me begin by saying that the young hotel clerk, A.J., could be a hotel/restaurant manager at a resort. He was extremely polite, patient, and professional and went out of his way to direct us to places around the city – by map. Even our children noticed how exceptional he was.

I read many, many reviews before choosing this Lamplighter motel. Even then, I was still nervous when we checked in. (Reviews were at both extremes.)

I was very happy with our choice. The pool and pool area were both VERY clean and the water perfect. Our kids swam in it for hours each day.

Since the room we were to have had was beneath rooms that were being renovated, the desk clerk recommended we take a “kitchenette” room. This room was across the (small) street from the hotel, behind a restaurant, and I had serious reservations about being “off site”, behind a restaurant. (I’m a skeptic of clerks giving me the “this would be even better” spiel.) But, as it turned out, it was fine, safe, and perfect for our family. It had two nice/comfy beds, a dining table, small kitchen area, and hide-a-bed sofa. It was also nice because it had a “vanity” table attached to the bathroom and both were set off from the hotel room. It made it much easier for me to get up an hour earlier, without waking children and give them an extra hour of sleep. Our room was across the street, but still a very short walk to the pool. Several people mentioned being in the “courtyard”, which was pretty, but our room seemed more quiet being away from people visiting outdoors.

The room, appliances, and all the dishes were very clean. My only criticism would be that there were two layers of vinyl flooring that could have been tacked down at the kitchen edge, but that is a small aesthetics issue that most people might not care about.

The breakfast stood out as a really, really nice touch. They served a delicious kashi (hot breakfast cereal), juice, fresh fruit, oatmeal packets, cold milk (hard to find in a hotel/motel) herb tea, etc. The kitchen area is completely separate from the front desk, so you have feel as if you are “dining” in a restaurant, not hurrying in a hotel lobby. The adjacent bathrooms and “play room” (ping-pong table, treadmill, and computer) were VERY clean as well.

This hotel is a few miles to downtown, but I think it was nice that way. We would run to Target, Wal-mart and other grocery stores, and still hope over to downtown shops and museums.

I gave this motel four stars, because I know some will not be happy unless the room is "Comfort Inn" brand new - and this is not. Never-the-less, it is very clean, smells good and is well maintained.

Room Tip: Consider the
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KCmama5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

the hotel is situated in the suburbs of Sante Fe on a busy road .
our room was at the back of the hotel and very quiet.
the room itself had everything.it was clean and spacious for 5 people.it was nice to have the facilities to cook as the room had a mini kitchen .
breakfast was perfect.
the pool was good ( the opening hours 6.00 to late in the evening ), and it was fun to use the ping pong table available to customers.
just opposite the hotel you can find a supermarket and a few restaurants.
it was one of the cheapest hotel we found on our holiday.the service was friendly and we will highly recommended if you do not want to be in the centre of Sante Fe. (the hotel is about 10 minutes drive from the city centre)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cv36000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter2405, General Manager at Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Great review, thank you. It warms my heart to hear that you enjoyed the ping pong. It is one of our favorite games. We'll look forward to your return visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Fe
Quality Inn Santa Fe
#47 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Santa Fe Suites
The Santa Fe Suites
#46 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
2.8 mi away
Santa Fe Comfort Inn
Santa Fe Comfort Inn
#33 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe

Property: Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe
Address: 2405 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3261
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn Of Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn Of Santa Fe New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing