We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Beautiful luxury hotel. Great location. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. However, about midnight, a bellman opened the door to our room to bring in another guest's luggage. The desk had given him our room number and a key to our room. The safety latch stopped him and he apologized. It was a mix up at the desk but a little scary. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucydog2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFDap, Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Lucydog2013,
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had an enjoyable time with us. I am sorry about the mix up that happen to you. I have looked into this and can assure you that we have taken steps to correct the mistake. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Eldorado Hotel and Spa again soon,
Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    372
    163
    65
    56
See reviews for
214
462
76
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
385 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a four night stay. This is a good hotel, but it has some issues. The positives include location and a nice Southwestern design and atmosphere. It is a short walk to the Plaza and downtown museums and sites. Most of the staff were delightful young people. John, the friendly doorman, is a real asset to the hotel. The concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful. The Agave bar has a nice vibe and reasonable prices. Our room was quite large (but you might ask because others complained.

On the negative side, we had reserved a room with a King bed and instead got a room with 2 doubles. The room had a clogged drain in the tub and it is impossible to believe that it was not noticed by housekeeping before we arrived. There was one older female desk clerk who was about the rudest person I have ever encountered and who should not be in the hospitality business. She clearly does not enjoy her job. We parked at the public lot kitty corner to the hotel, but were nonetheless charged $24 per night for parking. This seems to be hotel policy and it is outrageously dishonest. The hotel seems to be about ready for some updating. The hallway carpets seemed fairly dirty. Fitness and pool facilities are quite small.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Rahhalatun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
427 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Although staying with my brother forty-five minutes away in Placitas, we were tempted into staying over my birthday night at Eldorado Hotel, thanks to a Travel Zoo coupon that gave a substantial discount. You might think that the hotel would cut corners for cheapskates like me, but such was not the case. In fact, the receptionist reminded me the coupon comes with a $25 credit for the restaurant or spa, which I had forgotten.

We used it for breakfast the next morning. The Old House Restaurant (once rated the best in New Mexico) had obscenely huge servings, usually a pet peeve of mine as giant servings are frequently a cover for mediocre quality. Not here. The huevos rancheros and goat cheese fritata were perfectly done. Sadly, we left food on our plates. We just couldn’t eat it all. They had little jars of DIckinson’s preserves (founded in 1897) on the table, but we didn’t take them, as I’m cutting down on sugar (the first ingredient).

The hotel itself could have been a disappointment, a faded relic of former glory. But it wasn’t. It extends a city block, with a huge lobby area, and large areas at the elevator on each floor. The carpeting is colorful, southwestern in theme, and admittedly a little beat up here and there. But that was really the only indication of its age. The lobby level has many shops and walls filled with art work.

Across the street is the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum, and the Plaza is two blocks away.
Yes, we took all the Gilchrist and Soames toiletries, and the bath cap, the coffee packets, and some paper coffee cups with lids (convenient when traveling). We never used the fluffy white bathrobes, but I did use the iron and ironing board to look sharp for my birthday dinner at Geronimo (a separate review).

The concierge was helpful in giving directions. I’m sure dogs appreciated the large bowls with water for them. If I weren’t so cheap. I would gladly come back here at full price. It’s a lovely place to stay. But more likely, I’ll wait for another Travel Zoo coupon. What can be better than luxury at half the price?

I always puzzle at reviews that say the staff was terrible when I had a wonderful experience. Everyone was charming and friendly and performed their service admirably.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFDap, Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Robert F,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and rate us on your experience. I am glad to hear that you had a great experience with everybody that you met during your stay. I glad to hear that you also had a great experience in our Old House restaurant. Now that you have re-found your hotel of choice, I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not so distant future.
Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
168 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This spa hotel is the comfort and luxury you look for when you are visiting Santa Fe New Mexico.
The location is central and walkable to everything. The rooms are quiet even if you are overlooking the street. The pillow top beds were so comfortable they made it difficult to get out of bed. From arrival to departure they take care of your requests. The dinning is superb. Very well operated Hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyS181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFDap, Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Kathy S,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on the Eldorado Hotel. I am happy to hear that you truly enjoyed your experience with us. Now that you have found your hotel to stay at when visiting Santa Fe. I only hope that you can visit us again in the not so distant future.
Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Eldorado has a very nice location convenient to the plaza area shops, restaurants. The property itself is well maintained but the rooms are very small. We had a balcony room but that was very misleading, the balcony was so narrow you could barely sit comfortably and the wall was so hight that it obstructed your view.

The rooftop pool is a joke - smaller than the backyard pool most people have at home. Again, like the "balcony" it was disappointing and misleading.

Positives - we had room service several times for breakfast and dinner and the food was very good and the service very prompt.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SambaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFDap, Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear SambaJones,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Eldorado Hotel and Spa. I am glad that you found the hotel to be conveniently located for your visit to Santa Fe. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed room service as well as the staff. I am sorry that you were disappointed about the size of the pool. Unfortunately we are restricted with the space that we have.

Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location and the facilities are nice. Also, some of the staff are very nice and helpful. As others have noted, it is definitely used for a lot of conferences, which made it less attractive to me as a traveler, as I felt like we were not an important part of their business (this didn't have to be the case, but that's how it felt).
More importantly, though, was that there were several instances of terrible service that make me want to give this hotel zero stars, but I can't do that so they are getting one star.
I was traveling with my mother and kids. My mother, who is 75, was very clear about asking for a quiet room. So I was surprised when they put her in a room adjacent to where they were holding an outdoor concert until 10. She had been ready to switch hotels but decided not to when she found out the concert was over at 10.
She should have switched. That morning they had checked in a family with a 1 year old and a 3 year old next door, and she was awakened by them screaming for hours at 6:30. I know we were all kids once and all kids cry, but in a hotel of that size, is it really necessary to put a room with four people, including two young children, next to someone who has specifically requested a quiet room? I think the error here is one of omission: don't bill yourself as a nice vacation hotel if you are not going to honor simple guest requests. Don't respond that you will honor the request if you don't have any intention or ability to do so. I would expect this type of thing at a motel chain, but not at a nicer hotel.
I talked to the front desk staff, wanting to explain what happened and hopefully at least get her a credit for the night. One guy was polite but clearly unwilling to lift a finger to help. One woman was incredibly hostile, glaring, spitting out words, contradicting her co-worker. She clearly had NO PLACE in the hospitality business.
In closing, there are plenty of hotels in Santa Fe ... find one where you will be treated well.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank maggie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFDap, Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear maggie k,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review regarding the Eldorado Hotel and Spa. I apologize that you did not enjoy your experience with us. I would love to have the opportunity to speak to you further regarding your stay with us. My direct number at the hotel is 505 995-4522 My hope is that you will give us another chance so that we may provide you with the level of service that you expect from a hotel like ours.

Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
507 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Recently stayed for a couple of nights. Ideally located on San Francisco Ave. In the heart of downtown Santa Fe, NM this property is well maintained and well staffed. The king room was plenty big and recently updated. The entire staff from the front desk personnel to the parking garage attendants could not have been more friendly or helpful. Within walking distance of the Plaza, St. Francis of Assissi church, and even the galleries on Canyon Road. Roof top pool is nice. A bit small if you happen to have kids in tow. Wonderful spa with all of the essential treatments available and very easy to schedule an appointment. Overnight parking is a bit spendy, but getting in and out is speedy and efficient. The Agave Lounge has a great happy hour that is a welcome reiief after a day of exploring the city. Don't pass up the wonderful artwork from local artists adorning the walls of the main floor and lobby area. Would definitely stay again on a future visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t-bonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFDap, Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear t-bonetraveller,
Thank you taking the time to review us. I am happy to hear that you have found your hotel of choice when visiting the “City Different”. We take pride in trying to deliver the level of service that our guests demand from us. I am happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. With the hotel only 2 blocks from the plaza and near to shops and restaurants, the hotel is close to everything in downtown Santa Fe. I hope that you are planning your next visit to Santa Fe so that we can welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel & Spa

Property: El Dorado Hotel & Spa
Address: 309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Dorado Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the newly remodeled Eldorado Hotel and Spa, where award-winning service and unexpected delights set the stage for an enchanting visit. This acclaimed four-diamond hotel is located steps from the Santa Fe Plaza. Spacious rooms, many with views and some with wood burning fireplaces. Superb cuisine at the Old House Restaurant and AGAVE lounge. Experience the new CAVA bar featuring Spanish wines, food and live entertainment. Ultimate pampering at the full-service Nidah Spa. Underground, covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your El Dorado Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel And Spa
Eldorado Hotel Santa Fe
Eldorado Santa Fe
El Dorado Hotel & Spa Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing