We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I read mixed reviews about this hotel but was pleasantly surprised during our stay. Friendly & helpful staff, nice pool, clean rooms & fabulous location. It's not fancy but compared to the other hotels nearby, this is more than a fair price. It's a quiet location yet only blocks to the tourist areas downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilliann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is a four star hotel for the price and location... it is NOT a four star hotel for the decor and amenities. The room was clean and comfortable. The location is 2 1/2 blocks from the plaza and 2 blocks from the start of Canyon Road with all the art galleries. The price was better than some locations out on Cerrillos road. However, if you want to relax in lap of luxury this is NOT the place for you. If you want a great location and a great price, this place can't be beat!

Room Tip: There are no views, this is 60's/70's era motor lodge with two floors and all door opening t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuxTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We were pleasantly surprised after reading some unfavorable reviews. I admit this is not one of those amazing hotel experiences, as it is really simple. But was just fine and very inexpensive. Better yet, it literally took 3 minutes to walk to the Plaza. The rooms were small and basic, not fashionable, but very clean and they suited us fine for stashing our bags, sleeping and showering. This is the least expensive place to stay in very close proximity to the Plaza. If you don't want to pay two or three or four times as much nearby for fancy digs, this place fits the bill. We slept fine and didn't find the bed uncomfortable. The swimming area is nice, and the staff were all really friendly. Truly, no complaints here. With the money we saved over pricier options, we had plenty in the bank for dining, shopping and cold drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Stayed here a few years ago and liked the location, the price, and thought the room was fine--though very basic "motel." Decided to try it again but had to cancel because a friend's father died. Because he died only 24 hours before my trip rather than 48, Garretts Desert Inn refused to refund my money, even though I told them I planned to reschedule. I understand that there are rules, but I also understand that there are extenuating circumstances. There are lots of conveniently located, reasonably priced, nicer motels in Santa Fe. I'll definitely be choosing one of the OTHER ones when I go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
15  Thank Meredith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I arrived late at night and when I opened the door to my second floor, outside entry room (after schlepping my luggage up a flight of stairs due to no elevator, nor help) ... I opened the door and said, "Are you kidding me?" This is NOT what the photos nor the promotion looks like on their website. They show wonderful bedrooms that have been upgraded with fluffy covers and great lighting. Well, here is how it really is ... the sheets and bedding seem to be new - but the mattresses are flat, hard and "crunchy". Half the pool chairs are broken - and the weight room is a joke! The hand weights exist of a 5 lb and a 20 lb weight. The exercise bike is wobbly and the others are equally as poor. The reception desk is what surprised me the most in that I can only see the eyes of the person waiting on me. Why is it so high? And the lobby - well, the whole area is just tired. The carpet worn, the grounds need sweeping up. Also, there is no elevator, so if you are on the second floor - you pack and carry you own bags.

But, for the money and location for Santa Fe - it cannot be beat. Other places are well into the $250 - $400 range.

It is clean, neat, though tired, and the staff are friendly - but come on, Garrett's ... either do what you say has been done or change your website !!!

klh
p.s. Oh, and they don't tell you about the $8/day parking fee in their rates.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank klhdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The best I can say about the Desert Inn is that it is very close to the Santa Fe plaza and Canyon Road tourist areas. However, our room was really old, beat-up, dirty and in need of complete renovation. It looked like it hadn't been touched since the 1980s. At night we were kept awake by the sounds of mice in the walls and ceilings. For what the hotel charges (plus $8/night parking) you could get a really nice room at one of the other nearby hotels, such as the Inn on the Alameda. The wi-fi is free but slow, so I mostly used my ipad's data plan for Internet access. The bed was uncomfortable with a hard, thin pillow. The attached restaurant had adequate but unremarkable food (and was a bit dirty), but it also has a bakery that makes good croissants for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank ultrarunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I stayed with a friend at Garretts Desert Inn and I would recommend this hotel for value and location. It was clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful. Great for families and within walking distance to the city centre. There is plenty of parking but the hotel charges $8 per night.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrixieBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
2.5 mi away
El Rey Court
El Rey Court
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
805 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,365 reviews
5.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Santa Fe
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#34 of 60 in Santa Fe
933 reviews
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
#35 of 60 in Santa Fe
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Fe Plaza-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2707
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range: £61 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe
Garrett's Desert Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing