We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect fit for my trip to Santa Fe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Garrett's Desert Inn was a perfect fit for my recent stay in Santa Fe. I had seen a very negative review, but decided to book a room anyway. Let me assure you, that review could not have been more wrong. The hotel is in an excellent location, just a few blocks from the Plaza and other points of interest. Although this is an older property, the rooms are large, very clean, comfortable and quite. I don't know how much they pay their front desk employees, but they all need a raise! Garrett's employees provide excellent customer service. The overall experience was excellent and I would certainly recommend Garrett's to friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

Garrett's is ideally located near the plaza in the historic heart of Santa Fe. While not fancy, rooms have everything you need.

There is plenty of free parking and a comfortable pool area. Staff is very friendly and helpful, too.

Onsite restaurant is pretty good, and you are within walking distance to all the downtown attractions, museums, restaurants and galleries.

There is so much to see and do in Santa Fe, you won't spend much time in your room, anyway, so saving money on lodging makes great sense.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honeytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Very close to the plaza. Rooms were clean and fairly large. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Very convenient location for the town centre, just a couple of minutes walk away. But unfortunately the room rate is not exactly the most competitive in town, and if you are staying at the hotel they charge extra for parking. Parking is free for people using the restaurant, but not for the hotel! Breakfast is a significant extra charge, too.

Add to that that the rooms have thin walls, we could clearly hear the conversations from the rooms either side of ours (Room 103), we would say that this should not be your first choice in Santa Fe.

The room was clean and tidy, but the noise was too much, so we stayed just the one night.

Room Tip: Noise problems from thin walls in our room, 103. Watch out for rooms with adjoining doors to the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Avery-Little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

You can't beat Garrett's Desert Inn for value for a motel near the plaza. Santa Fe is terribly expensive near the center and Garrett's offers a good balance of price - location - value. Rooms are simple but clean and you can walk everywhere in the historic district.

Room Tip: rooms toward the back, away from the street will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjkupiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

first impessions not as good as the reality. very dated decor. average bathroom. no bar fridge. ice machine a 14-mile hike.

check-in staff very friendly.

great location walk to everwhere. wonderful restaurant right next door.

would stay again, altho' if possible would pay more for somewhere a little better.

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed about the same. we would have preffered a King-bed room, but not available on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cubacubaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My folks recommended this hotel. Maybe Mom dies know best! Great location which really is the reason we states there. Friendly staff.

This location is two floors. I don't do stairs and the staff was great in ensuring a first floor room.

Our room was basic but clean! Again you stay here due to the location which is fabulous!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inf0hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
897 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,092 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,611 reviews
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#35 of 60 in Santa Fe
922 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2707
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range: £65 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe
Garrett's Desert Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing