We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Ok hotel. Could use some updating. Very convenient to downtown. Overall excellent value for what you pay. Some condition issues. Skip the restaurant on the premises. Short walk to plaza and square. Short walk to outstanding restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llmesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

Most reviewers say the same old thing. Old, dated, etc. I totally agree. However, female staff member was a delight. She was so accommodating and genuine. After the ice-cold reception at La Fonda, it was refreshing to be treated like a human again.
The price is what gets this motel 3/5, otherwise it would be 1. I sympathise with the fact that current hard times are blamed for its shabbiness, but I don't think the owners are thinking of guests.
The $8 fee for parking is plain wrong. The car park was empty and we are not the first to mention that anyone can park in the parking lot without penalty. Use the money to buy towels. The towels and linen are by far the worst I have ever experienced. It is the first time I have pulled back a bed and thought, "who slept here last night". I wasn't convinced that the sheets were changed. I say this only for the condition of the sheets. I am sure they do not really multi use sheets. The Towels are well beyond normal use and grey in colour. The house staff clearly are not doing their job as one towel had a bright yellow stain and clearly visible when staff placed it on the rack. The pillows are a little scary. Another first for me.
In my opinion they should charge a little more as other hotels were around $180 while this one charged $80 or so. Get new linen, up the rate, don't charge guests for parking. Boost your profile. Santa Fe is a busy town. This motel is located close to all the action and could easily do better.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ACEPMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Booked this hotel as a last minute conference trip. Yes the hotel is somewhat dated, but it has great ambiance and certain nostalgia in the context of the City. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are basic but very clean.
You can walk to anywhere in the City from this hotel. Being Santa Fe it is a reasonable choice as many Hotels are over priced.

Room Tip: There is no elevator you might want to stay on the ground floor if it is difficult for you to carry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedidoctx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I agree with previous reviews. This hotel is very old and dated but our room was clean. The staff was courteous and helpful. We stayed 4 nights and ate breakfast one morning in the adjoining restaurant. The breakfast was good and less expensive than other restaurants in the area. They had great pastries. Parking was $8 per day which was a lot less than other hotels were charging in the area. The room rates are about half of what other hotels are charging around the plaza. You are within walking distance to the plaza and also Canyon road.

Room Tip: Bottom floor, no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OKTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed here and didn't expect the place to be so outdated, def needs a update rooms kinda grimy, bathtub wouldn't drain out , disgusting to be standing in water as I showered. Then there was a big circus at checkout with the staff being all rude and overcharging my card and having a song and dance about no owner on primise so no refund on THiER mistake in charges! We will not stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank mollypotpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The hotel is within easy walking distance to the Plaza. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and spacious. There is ample parking and no need to drive during your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebekah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Good location, clean, good value but you have to be able to sleep on a mattress that drastically needs replacing. I can usually sleep anywhere but even I had backache for 4 nights--then we moved! Ok if you're only there overnight. Carpet also could be replaced. But had a good shower, old TV, no comfortable chairs. It's a motel but outside was taken very good care of and did have a pool that looked very clean. Please please put some money in your mattresses and I will return and will tell my friends.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room that has recently (in the past year) had the mattress(s) replaced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyofliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
2.5 mi away
El Rey Court
El Rey Court
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
805 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,365 reviews
5.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Santa Fe
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#33 of 60 in Santa Fe
934 reviews
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
#35 of 60 in Santa Fe
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Fe Plaza-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2707
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range: £60 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe
Garrett's Desert Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing