We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location--Bad Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed 30 December 2012

For the price, the location of this hotel is good. That's about all it has going for it. The room is dated, and our bathroom had all types of hair all over the place--none from us. We had reservations for 2 nights. Went to breakfast after the first night and returned to the room. They did not make our beds or do anything to the room besides laying new towels on a dingy chair near the bathroom. We immediately checked out--not worth paying $$ for only location. They need to renovate, and if they insist on charging parking fees for guests, I would suggest including it in the price of the room instead of an add-on. This place definitely has potential, but obviously doesn't have the management to get it where it should be. I gave it 2 stars solely based on location.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank purrfctprncss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We do take these seriously. I will first apologize for the lack of service your room received. Often times, we receive requests from our guests stating they only need fresh towels and the room doesn't need servicing. A room number may have been mis-communicated to our housekeeping department and thus your room was not serviced in error. On a good note, we are renovating this hotel which should be completed by June 2013. Regarding our parking fee, at least 95% of all downtown Santa Fe hotels charge for parking since it is at a premium in this area. Parking fees range from $8.00 per night (which is the amount we charge) to $16, $24 and even $32 per night. Properties that do not charge for parking have room rates over $299 per night and up. If we were to add this fee into our room rates, it would be taxed at a higher percentage due to the lodger's tax on hotel rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

We've stayed at many of the Santa Fe hotels and resorts and decided to try Garrett's for a recent one-night stay. The location can't be beat - easy walk to the plaza, shops and restaurants. The staff is very friendly, the room was clean and everything worked just fine. I agree with other reviewers that if they did a small amount of updating, it would make a huge difference. Especially the linens (including blankets that seem like they are about 40 years old) and pillows. I just had a feeling similar to when you stay on someone's fold-out couch or barely-used spare room with the old, hand-me-down linens that they just never bothered to replace. Even with the parking charge, it was significantly less expensive than a local coupon deal we had for one of the other hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZenDogAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Yes it's dated but man what a location! Walking distance to the Plaza and everything Santa Fe. We actually enjoyed the restaurant and the very accomodationg staff, great breakfast and coffee every morning while we were there. My wife and I have been coming to the Garrett's since 1991 and consider it the only place to stay when in Santa Fe...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here around Labor Day. It is very convenient to the downtown area-just a short walk. The rooms as others have mentioned are dated but clean. I very much agree about the friendliness of the staff. The pool looked very nice but I spent too much time in the Plaza to have a chance to enjoy it. I was really disappointed that there was a fee for parking. It should have been included in the cost of the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1KathrynK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Ok hotel. Could use some updating. Very convenient to downtown. Overall excellent value for what you pay. Some condition issues. Skip the restaurant on the premises. Short walk to plaza and square. Short walk to outstanding restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llmesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Most reviewers say the same old thing. Old, dated, etc. I totally agree. However, female staff member was a delight. She was so accommodating and genuine. After the ice-cold reception at La Fonda, it was refreshing to be treated like a human again.
The price is what gets this motel 3/5, otherwise it would be 1. I sympathise with the fact that current hard times are blamed for its shabbiness, but I don't think the owners are thinking of guests.
The $8 fee for parking is plain wrong. The car park was empty and we are not the first to mention that anyone can park in the parking lot without penalty. Use the money to buy towels. The towels and linen are by far the worst I have ever experienced. It is the first time I have pulled back a bed and thought, "who slept here last night". I wasn't convinced that the sheets were changed. I say this only for the condition of the sheets. I am sure they do not really multi use sheets. The Towels are well beyond normal use and grey in colour. The house staff clearly are not doing their job as one towel had a bright yellow stain and clearly visible when staff placed it on the rack. The pillows are a little scary. Another first for me.
In my opinion they should charge a little more as other hotels were around $180 while this one charged $80 or so. Get new linen, up the rate, don't charge guests for parking. Boost your profile. Santa Fe is a busy town. This motel is located close to all the action and could easily do better.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ACEPMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Booked this hotel as a last minute conference trip. Yes the hotel is somewhat dated, but it has great ambiance and certain nostalgia in the context of the City. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are basic but very clean.
You can walk to anywhere in the City from this hotel. Being Santa Fe it is a reasonable choice as many Hotels are over priced.

Room Tip: There is no elevator you might want to stay on the ground floor if it is difficult for you to carry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedidoctx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
896 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,092 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,611 reviews
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#35 of 60 in Santa Fe
922 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2707
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range: £66 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe
Garrett's Desert Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing