We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garrett's Desert Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had stayed at this Inn about 10 years ago and it was pretty run down then but now it is worse, much worse. The bathrooms were filthy needing major updating, carpets were dirty, the window A/C barely kept the room cool. Restaurant was not open all the time. This place is a DISASTER.
Rate was 143.10 + Parking $8.00 + Gross receipt tax $11.72 + Lodgers tax $10.02 = $172.84 a night. You would be better off putting another $30 toward a better room.

YOU FOOLED ME TWICE, SHAME ON ME.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    130
    110
    55
    36
See reviews for
76
126
35
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Some friends were staying at the Loretto (across the street) at twice the price. Our rooms were nice, clean, and comfortable. It was close to everything. The bed was a little squeaky but very comfortable. We parked when we got there and didn't drive until we left town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C00KIEmonsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Even during Indian Market you can find a motel for less than $200 a night in downtown Santa Fe, really. At between $149 and $169 per night, Garrett's Desert Inn is a bargain during Indian Market (much less off season).

This downtown, spacious, motel is as well located as they come. Just a block or two from both The Plaza and Canyon Road, you won't have to worry about renting a car for your visit.

We loved the pool and the adjacent restaurant, Santa Fe Bite
For more... see my article on Examiner.com. Just Google my name and the motel name.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with afternoon shade during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed here for Indian Market in August. Great location. A little dated, but location and price make up for any inconveniences (like not-so-great AC.) The pool is a wonderful respite from the mid-day heat and fatigue from shopping. Close enough to the Plaza to go back to the room for a swim or a nap and then go back out for more shopping.The restaurant that's attached to the hotel is "The Bite." Has a wonderful breakfast and I hear it has one of the best Green Chili Cheeseburgers in town.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms on the west that get the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jvanwhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We arrived as a group, pre planned stay. Rooms were not clean. one member had hair shavings in his bathroom sink! did not feel sheets on bed had been changed or room cleaned at all. went to Walgreen's & bought Lysol to insure no bugs were taken back.
though close to downtown...just not comfortable w/lack of cleanliness. had to stay 2 days. glad to leave. picture shown of pool..not what was there. Bed lumpy....sagged in middle. cover on one bed (in double room) was....not clean.

Room Tip: find another place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdigm, Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. We do monitor these daily and share with our staff to address areas that need attention. It is difficult to coach particular room attendant when we do not have details. I am happy to say that cleanliness is usually not an issue here. We are currently undergoing some renovations to include the few room left that need new mattresses, carpeting (inside and outside). Later on this year we will replace tv's and furnishings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

The best thing about this hotel/motel is the l-word, as above. Take a step outside, turn right, and within 5 minutes you're in Santa Fe's main square. The other thing was the friendly and efficient staff at reception. The rooms are of adequate size but a bit worn, especially in the bathroom. Also, the walls are thin, and the fact that some have a (locked) connecting door didn't help. Our neighbours weren't bad, though. Good, decent, reasonably-priced room in the city centre, even if it's not luxurious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a refrigerator because not all rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank widdowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumwater
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were in town for a wedding and needed a place for one night. Garrett's was recommended and did not disappoint us. We came up via the NM Rail Runner. Round-trip fare for one adult and one senior was $13 each way. It's hard to park near the plaza for less than that. Garrett's was an easy 10-minute walk from the Santa Fe Depot, 5 minutes from the wedding location and 5 minutes from the plaza. It had comfortable rooms, inviting pool, and excellent wi-fi. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Second floor always works best for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jprtumwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#36 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Property: Garrett's Desert Inn
Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe
Garrett's Desert Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing