We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Santa Fe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is an uncut jewel. It is situated within walking distance to every site in old Santa Fe. It is so quiet but the best is a thunderstorm and listening to thunder and rain and watching the lightening. Such a relaxing and convenient place.

Room Tip: Any room is great who wish to explore the city and relax at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdigm, Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you had a superb stay. This great review will be shared with the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Superb location -- 2 blocks from the plaza; one street from the oldest house in Santa Fe. Bells from the cathedral on the hour! Hummingbirds drinking from flowers in the flower boxes along the second story sidewalk. Rooms are comfortable, CLEAN, and equipped with all of the essentials. Staff very courteous and helpful. For location, comfort, and ambience, why pay more? I will return!

Room Tip: Look out your bathroom window for one of the most exquisite views in town -- old Santa Fe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura79336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Yep, It's a dump, but it was just what we needed. Fabulous location, reasonable (for downtown Santa Fe), clean, safe, quiet, comfortable beds, larger rooms & easy parking. Zero charm, but charm is waiting just outside the door in downtown Santa Fe. I would stay there again. I was there with my sister, I might try to find somewhere else for a romantic trip.

Room Tip: The ground floors are good, because it is so easy to unload the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdigm, Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your response. We are pleased to see that our accommodations worked well for you (the room was clean, beds were comfortable, staff was good). We have upcoming renovations planned so this is exciting. Your title of this review was a bit harsh but we are glad you had a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

This motel was reasonable value for a room within easy walking distance of the Plaza. Rooms were a good size and had both fridge and microwave. However, the design with full length front windows with other guests walking backwards and forwards in front was a bit strange.
The room had been cleaned but the carpet was still rather stained. The bathroom was rather aged and the hot water ran out in the morning.
Our room had a locked door to the adjoining room and we got quite a lot of noise coming through from the residents.
On the plus side, it was a quick easy walk to the old town centre, with its shops, old buildings and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YorksRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here for 4nights and enjoyed our stay, rooms were clean but outdated, beds comfy and no noise from the outside. Staff were great and helpful
Wonderful location, we walked around Sante fe everyday and enjoyed it very much,
It was very pleasant and we would return for sure. will be nice to see the updates.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This property is outdated, but we had comfy beds and very pleasant staff. We had four children with us and appreciated the ground floor rooms and ease of access to downtown. I would not hesitate to recommend Garrett's Desert Inn to those looking for a decent place to stay without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Garrett's is great because the location near downtown Santa Fe is terrific, the price is very reasonable for the location, and the motor court motel design with a continuous balcony, sitting chairs in front of rooms, no-charge mini-fridges, large rooms and big room windows are pleasant and comfortable. It is not so great because they charge $8/night for parking even for guests, the attitude of front desk staff is often aloof and not personable, the appearance of the front desk itself is negative - raised up behind a high partition, the main lobby "business center" is a single pay-as-you-go computer, and most of all, the room furnishings and hotel amenities are worn and dated. Kind of like an older Motel 6. Examples are a large stain on the carpet (room 230), older not very appealing chairs and tables, small bathrooms with older fixtures, no screen in the bathroom window, small non-HD non-LCD TV, noisy room air conditioner, hot neglected "fitness" room with small TV, and exercise machines that do not all function. Garrett's has been around for a long time and is often busy - we would like them to step up and commit some of their success to updating their infrastructure and customer service, while keeping the cost reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YoYoYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdigm, Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We do take these seriously and I'd like to take this opportunity to share some information with you. We do have plans on re-configuring the front desk/reception area. It will be a lot more welcoming. I apologize if you encountered a guest service agent as being "aloof and/or impersonal". We do receive positive comments that our service was very helpful and genuine so of course I will share this with with all the staff. We do provide complimentary WiFi however if a guest does not have a smartphone, table, or laptop, we do have the lobby business center available at a fee. We do print boarding passes at no charge. Parking is at a premium in downtown Santa Fe so all hotels charge a parking fee. Ours is the most reasonable at $8/day. Other hotels charge between $16 to $24/day. We do have plans to change out all existing guest room carpeting as well as TV replacement. A lot of our return guests do like our bathrooms with specific tile and colors because they are reminiscent of the 1950's and 1960's Route 66 motor lodges. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
2.5 mi away
El Rey Court
El Rey Court
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
805 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,365 reviews
5.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Santa Fe
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#33 of 60 in Santa Fe
934 reviews
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
#35 of 60 in Santa Fe
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Fe Plaza-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2707
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range: £61 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe
Garrett's Desert Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing