We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't bet it for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
La Grange, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't bet it for the price.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

It's dated but it's walking distance to most everything people want in the heart of Santa Fe. For the price one could not get a better deal. This has become a regular standby for me. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    136
    113
    57
    39
See reviews for
80
133
37
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

If you want to stay in the heart of Santa Fe, but not spend an arm and a leg, this place is a great option. Rooms were just fine, service okay. Nothing too fancy, but totally fine. The photos looks a lot different from when I stayed there, maybe they got a welcome facelift?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sara f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We always stay at Garrett's when we come to Santa Fe. The location is perfect -- within a very short walk to the Plaza, to Canyon Road, to the Cathedral, to many restaurants, and to the spots near the railroad station. The desk staff are friendly and accommodating. The rooms we have stayed in (we usually get a suite since the rates are very reasonable) have been more than adequate. There is nothing fancy about them, but they are comfortable and perfectly fine. The beds have been comfortable, the counter space in the dressing area outside the bathroom is generous. The hot water is very hot and plentiful. Garrett's is, for is, the perfect place to stay and it helps to justify our additional spending on dinners and miscellaneous shopping!! We always recommend Garrett's Desert Inn.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John and Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I use budget hotels all the time. This however is priced above a budget hotel but is a 1-2 star and budget hotels DO NOT CHARGE FOR PARKING. Their website nor the website i purchased the hotel from listed the 8.00 a night parking fees. Pictures on the site does NOT match the room (at least mine). The room itself was CLEAN and the bathroom was Extremely clean (room had a faint smell when I walked in unsure if it was musty or smoke). However, the furniture is probably 70's and not in that great of shape. Not many outlets to utilize unfortunately. Sheets were THIN and the blanket on the bed is probably from the 50's/60's the old thick scratchy wool type that does not breathe. Towels were thin and been laundered/bleached to the point they were not soft. The only way you could sleep on the mattress was in the center and when you rolled over you could feel the wear of the mattress (springs). I requested a "quiet room" the response I received was "it's on the second floor." I had to put the heater/ac unit on FAN ONLY all night in order to muffle the noise from the highway ? or streets behind the hotel so that I could sleep. The walls are very thin and I could hear the conversation next door. The overall property needs some work. The finish on the exterior doors are flaking off, several places needed touched up paint outside and wood replaced because it is rotting. The gym is a joke. As my title reads: LOCATION is nice and the only redemption.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StJohn2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel is at such an amazing location. My family and I stayed here for several nights and although it isn't the fanciest hotel it is worth the money. The mattresses have been replaced and are extremely comfortable now! I would definitely stay here again. The only downside to the hotel is the bathroom. The bathroom is not up to date but other than that the room is fairly clean. Definitely worth the money spent because of the location!

Room Tip: Hold down toilet handle and the toilet will not be a problem. Pet friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeenViewPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This large motel complex hit the mark except for the pillows: flat, hard and uncomfortable. Easy fix: bring your own pillow. Great location for very short walk to the plaza. Fabulous low price. Clean room. Nothing fancy, but not shabby. Hot showers. Long countertop with large mirror and open closet just outside bathroom provided extra space for luggage, dressing and primping.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The5Ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I am a travel loving person on a budget and I happen to stay at the Garrett's Desert Inn for spring break march 2014. I must say that this place was very clean, comfotable beds, friendly and helpfull staff, quiet place in the hub of all there is too see in the historic district of Santa Fe. Fabulous place for a person on a budget. I highly recommend this hotel. I will definately stay there again on my next trip to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margarita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,301 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
887 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,059 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
El Rey Court
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Property: Garrett's Desert Inn
Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2707
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe
Garrett's Desert Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing