We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Well....the hotel was cheap by Santa Fe standards, but the cheap price also came with dusty tube TVs and greasy remotes, holes in the carpet, cracked tile, thin towels and thin sheets that never stayed in place. The 1980's merlot colored bedpreads and pillows were suspect. The thin slit in the door where planks had separated let in cigarette smoke from the outside. And the two plastic chairs outside the room were big enough for a 12-year old's butt. The A/C worked well but very noisy. The GOOD things about the hotel were the restaurant (Santa Fe Bites) and the location.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing North. The west side rooms can be quite warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Santa Fe, NM is a gorgeous and expensive city. Lucky for us Garret’s Desert Inn can help our bleeding wallets a bit.
Although the hotel has nothing to show for, both architecturally and aesthetically speaking, it competes on location with many pricier hotels in the area. Garret’s Desert Inn is perfectly located within walking distance to all the important sights in Old Santa Fe. Loreto Chapel is a mere block away from it; while San Miguel Mission and the Oldest House are just next door!
The hotel itself looks like a dated motel, but our room was clean and the beds were comfortable.
Check in and check out was a breeze and the front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming.
Biggest PROS are of course the location and the price.
Big CONS are: No breakfast included; they charge $8 per night for parking even though we are guests of the hotel. There are no elevators, something to consider if you have problems walking up stairs.
Overall this is a good place to stay if traveling to Santa Fe on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jast64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just got back from Garrett's in Santa Fe. It is extremely convenient to the plaza and shopping BUT although basically clean, the bathrooms are old and need some bleach in the grout-yes mold .... also as they are old bathrooms the quickest fix would be the arced shower rod, it's an inexpensive fix to give the tub/shower a little more room. Head of Housekeeping needs to do a walk around of ALL the rooms. the corners in the bathrooms are filthy, the sheets pop off the beds.... but the sheets are clean... no overhead lights..... pool area looks good. they provide a laptop and printer in lobby. the wifi is beyond slow -that's why you need the lobby! I would likely stay here again because this place is 1/2 the price of everything around the plaza. just don't expect too much....

Room Tip: older hotel so it might be more quiet on the 2nd floor. U shaped so there is not a bad room
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank PALsIMHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Room was Dirty. Wifi access was intermittent, made it impossible as a business hotel. Bathroom was awful, showered in ankle deep water, old hotel with no real place to "get ready" hairdryer and curling iron in sink kind of day. Filthy--I put a towel down for my suitcase.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank XSNRG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My name is Daniel. My fiance and I stayed overnight on 6/20/14 thru 6/21/14. The room had nasty, dirty stains on the bedspread, there was a pet-urine stain on the rug, the receptionist told us they were sold out, but actually had newer renovated rooms that they could have moved us to. When I told them, they said there was a computer gliche and this is why we had this room. The bed was so bad , my back still hurts today. The two chairs looked like they wee from 1970. When I phoned the GM, Robert, he hung up on me. I will never stay there again, and we filed a complaint with Better Business , and Attorney Generals office, and Santa Fe visitor's beareau.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms, not the uncleaned ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We chose this motel due to the location - walking distance of downtown Santa Fe. The room was basic and clean for the most part. It was indeed dated but the bathroom and dressing area were very retro and cute! The pool was small but all we needed for a little down time and quick dip. There is no free breakfast provided at this motel (which we knew). We paid $133.56 for two queen beds - no reservation, just walk in around 4 pm in the afternoon. Non smoking room and no issue with smoke smells. The main issue I have with this motel on the negative side is that they charge $8.00 a day for parking. I know parking is at a premium in any downtown area but it would have been nice to have free parking with our stay.

Room Tip: Top floor (have to climb stairs but no one above you)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kltbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We spent two nights at Garret's Desert Inn and it was a decent, clean, no frills place. Just like everyone has stated it's in a great location really close to the Palace of Governors and the center of town. There are good restaurants and wonderful shops and museums within a 10 minute walking distance. If you're looking for a comfortable place to bed down, this is may suit your needs. Our room was quite large, the beds were comfortable but the room/motel was 'worn'. It has a huge parking lot in the middle and there are two floors of rooms surrounding the parking lot... I really liked the reception area - kind of mid-century modern furnishings and decor (looks like they never updated it from that period of time :). There is also a small out door pool close to the reception area, but when we were there, Santa Fe wasn't really warm enough for me to go for a swim - the city's weather can be quite cool in May because of its altitude/elevation in the mountains. It's pretty basic but good value for the money in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lackrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
897 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,093 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,611 reviews
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#35 of 60 in Santa Fe
922 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2707
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range: £67 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe
Garrett's Desert Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing