We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed 25 February 2007

During our stop in Santa Fe, we had no reservations and just decided to see where we ended up. This hotel was great for us! The room was cheap, but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very well kept up, unlike a lot of hotels we've seen... very clean and newer fixtures. The location couldn't be better... Right in the middle of Santa Fe, but quiet. We are already planning on going back to see Santa Fe in the summertime, and we'll be going back to Garrett's!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank fluffycloughy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2006

We stayed at the Garrett's Desert for 4 nights and found it to be very clean. The room was a typical hotel room in size. It was the location, close to EVERYTHING, that made it such a great place to stay. Will stay there again on our next visit to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank judieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2006

This is possibly the WORST hotel in Santa Fe. Yes, it has a great location. But the truth is, Downtown Santa Fe is very small and there's not much parking, so this means that if you're going to spend the day there browsing museums and shops, pick a parking garage and park there — it's a fun town to walk around so once you're there, the location of where you sleep (unless it's at one of the high-end resorts in town) is sorta irrelevant. But, if you really love the location of Garrett's, they offer public parking in their lot for a daily rate. (I think it was about $8 - 10 per day)

As for the hotel rooms, the walls are PAPER thin. We had to request to switch rooms after our first night because we were right next to the maid's closet and were woken up at 5 a.m. Our next room (after much headache about the switch) wasn't much better. We could clearly hear the conversation of the couple next to us. And they were just regular folks on a vacation...not teens or "partiers" by any stretch.

The rooms are clean-ish. I wore my flip-flops the entire time. They smell like a hotel and I therefore suspect they are clean. The AC unit in our first room was so loud we had to make the choice between being cool and sleeping. The unit in the 2nd room was OK.

Finally, because we booked on-line and then later called to make a change to the reservation. (We actually added a day, before we knew what we would be in for!) We had to check out on our original day, and then check back in. We were told that their computer system couldn't "automatically" do this for us. (Huh???) Anyhow, that headache took about 45 painful minutes.

Hope this helps you have a good stay in Santa Fe -- it's too beautiful of a city to spend your time in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank colotravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2006

The Inn itself is not fancy by any stretch. We stayed in a very basic room with a small bathroom. However, it is steps from the sightseeing, art galleries, and best food in Santa Fe. For the price, the location cannot be beat; my friends and I found it totally sufficient, as we were out and about most of the time anyway. The maid service was efficient and thorough, the pool was clean and sun-filled (although, again, not fancy-- it's next to the parking lot), and the employees were friendly and helpful. I'd stay there again, particularly if saving a few dollars was a concern.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank cheshgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2006

This is a great motel. The room was clean and you can't beat the location. It's within easy walking distance of the plaza. The staff was friendly. Good value too. I would stay here again. We have a baby girl and they set up a crib for us with no problem.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pampita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2006

Can't beat the location. Walking distance to plaza and restaurants. Didn't need car during 4 days of our stay. Great value compared to other hotels in town. The rooms and property are nothing special and the bed was horrible!!! They charge $8 for parking. Cafe next door has free wireless internet. Best choice for budget travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Trinnypilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2006

I stayed at Garrett's in mid-April 2006. The staff was friendly, but upon arriving in our room, it smelled awful, like urine. After further review, we discovered it had not yet been cleaned. After calling the front desk on a very static-y phone, they told us to come back to the main office and we would be given another room. We had already unloaded all our bags, so after carrying the bags back to the car, we went to the office and got a new key.

The next room we stayed in (also on the second and top floor) was clean and spacious, although also had a strange odor. The rest of our stay was uneventful except for when taking a shower at the same time as the room next to us, water ran through the wall. Our second room was adequate-we had a singe, king size bed.

The location and cost is by far the best part of the hotel. The restaurant in the hotel is closed, however there is a casual deli that serves breakfast and sandwiches, although we did not eat there. The plaza is literally a 2 block walk from the hotel, and in the other direction, almost across the street, is the Pink Adobe restaurant and a bar called the Dragon(??) which has a fun atmoshphere and the strongest drinks!

I would recommend this hotel if you keep your expectations low and just need a cheap place to stay in a good location.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank msanden08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,361 reviews
El Rey Court
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
801 reviews
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#34 of 60 in Santa Fe
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
899 reviews
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
#37 of 60 in Santa Fe
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2707
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range: £62 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe
Garrett's Desert Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing